We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAIRLY GOOD”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
London UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“FAIRLY GOOD”
Reviewed 23 June 2009

Hotel is located adjecent to a busy main road and some rooms may face onto noisy buildings on the other side of the building. Worth asking for the quieter side of the building. The hotel is a few minutes from the railway station, with the main shops close by.
Room -stayed in a spacious, clean room with a great bathroom and tea making facilities. Hotel has free wi-fi. Generally a cosy, clean hotel. Service was fine had a long talk with the manager and seemed nice enough chap.

Stayed here as part of a journey through Scotland, the fantastic Crannog Restaurant is a few moinutes walk and well worth a visit.

Room rate was a bit on the high side but had a good night sleep and a breakfast was good, Not a destination hotel more of a very high end stop over hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    205
    180
    83
    73
See reviews for
69
340
48
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

This was the second time we've stayed here. No complaints, staff so friendly, nice clean rooms, excellent breakfast. . The location is right next to the town centre , one minute walk . You may get cheaper in Fort William than the £68 we paid for the night here , however i doubt if you could better this place.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BangkokRaymy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2009

stayed for 3 nights whilst exploring the Highlands. The staff at the hotel were brilliant and very friendly. The hotel is clean and has everything you need. Try the bar food it's not your normal frozen pies and chips etc.,. Under new management and I wish them every success. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireJarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Stayed as part of my cycle tour of the UK and this hotel was a real highlight of the trip. The welcome was extremely friendly, room was great (looks like it had been recently redone as had most of the hotel) and the food was extremely good.
Quite quirky as the hotel has an Indian restaurant built in alongside traditional cuisine, sounds odd but it was very good, both in taste and value. So the awesome experience of Haggis Pakora for a starter followed by a lasagne.... real fusion cuisine ;) So good that when I came back through Fort William a few weeks later I had to go back to try some of the more traditional Indian food on the main menu which was very good again.
Hotel is very well positioned, right on Loch Linnhe and just off the main street, so close enough to fall out of the hotel and onto the main street but far enough away to make sure noise isn't a problem.
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7raveller
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

We arrived at this hotel feeling very weary, having completed the West Highland Way. We were paying for our accommodation out of our own pockets, having secured a high level of donations for various charities in advance. Two of our party of four had been forced to drop out, leaving myself and my friend to face the extremely rude manager, George Telford, who told us that we were liable to pay for both twin rooms, but would only be given the key for one.
We were frankly amazed by the bizarre rule (which was at no time explained to us at the cancellation stage) stipulating that we were liable to pay the full sum for the room, but the hotel would then be free to let it out to other holiday makers, effectively allowing them to make double the profit on it.
Naturally we were aware that a late cancellation may well make a refund impossible, but we expected to receive access to the room. Instead we were told that we had to pay up, and that the room would be let out to an unrelated party.
The attitude of the hotel manager, Mr George Telford was simply appalling. His response to us was rude, his manner brusque and he was wholly unsympathetic to our situation. At times it felt as if we had turned up in an episode of Fawlty Towers- he strove to make us feel as uncomfortable as possible, because we had the temerity to ask for the room we had paid for. One of the reception staff was understanding, showing some understanding and contrition, while the other was firmly of the "Telford school" of customer service.
The fact that such a poor level of care came at the end of a walk along which such a fine spirit had been shown in every single preceding hostelry, makes the taste left in the mouth all the more bitter.
The "twin room" was in fact barely large enough to accommodate the beds, much less any room to do anything but sleep on- I can only hope that the other room we paid for was rather more comfortable than the one in which we were ensconced.
To anybody planning on a stay in this hotel I would say- don't. You will loose!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 7raveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geotelford42, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2009
I would like to thank you for your feedback and sorry that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. Your mother called to cancel one of your rooms which I and the receptionist told you on your arrival, a 24 hour cancelation policy is not only the Imperial but 99% of hotels around the world which anybody would understand, unfortunately you were angry due to the fact you cancelled your credit card after the payment was taken for your cancelation. simple case of bad timing. As far as your room was concerned you stayed in one of our new refurbished ones which from the day we opened them compliments have been flowing in and I thank you for yours
I hope this will not stop you from using Best western again.
George Telford Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Luton, Befordshire
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2009

I was at the Imperial Hotel last weekend with my wife, it was fantastic the service was fab, the meals were scrumpcious we tried local restraunts too but the quality didn't match the Imperial so we decided to eat from the hotel all weekend. I think they must have done some kinda of refurb because i was there two years ago and it looks totally different. Well impressed with the room as it had everything we needed jaccuzi, flat screen TV, wifi and generally, spacious modern and clean. Me and the wife travel to Fort William every year (or sometimes twice). I know where i'll be staying from now on.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_and_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottm
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

First room small dingy dirty, lamp missing and light fitting hanging out of bulkhead, damp on wall and smelt damp, view of alley way with bins in. Second room bit bigger no damp, toilet - dirty bits of ?? left in pan yellow mark on seat and black hair under seat. Sticky coffee on dressing table and badly stained cushions on seats. Graffiti scratched on table. Noise from Sorting Office across road, dirty floor in dining room. Receptionist did not have very good command of English. Took deposit at booking time and asked for payment as soon as we arrived. Recommend it - not in a million years.
Have complained to Best Western.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DandGNottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geotelford42, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2009
Dear Guest
I was sorry to receive your negative feedback on your stay at the Imperial Hotel and would like to deal with this matter personally, I would be obliged if you can send me the date of your stay along with room number and the name the room was booked under and I will endeavor to get to the bottom of this matter, please write to me at george@sgehotels.com. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
992 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
465 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
917 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Fraser Square, Fort William PH33 6DW, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Imperial Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort William
Fort William Best Western
Imperial Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing