We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where was the promised a la carte menu”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Where was the promised a la carte menu”
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We booked 5 nights dbb weeks in advance. Asked to pay full amount on arrival. Hotel's own brochure advertises 'fine a la carte menu'. We discovered hotel caters on a regular basis for coach parties and every evening we shared the dining room and their limited menu with them. 2 choices of starter (on of which was soup), main couse - 1 meat dish, 1 fish dish, 1 veggie option. Pudding was ice cream or another dish. Not our idea of fine a la carte menu.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ledwidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prash23, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2010
Dear Mr. Ledwidge,
Thank You for submitting your concern regarding your recent stay at Best Western Imperial Hotel. We do apologies for not exceeding your expectations and hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better.
Further to your comments, we would like to express our concern on the matter raised by you. You said that we asked you to pay on arrival, but it was our company policy to take the payment for booked accommodation on arrival, and that opens an account for the guests to invest in restaurant and bar, which they settles on departure.
You booked on dinner bed and breakfast at our hotel for five nights and you got a best deal, which we had offered to you in one of our best room with best view which consists of Jacuzzi and 4 poster bed, and if it’s about the menu we always offer all our DBB guests a three course special Table- de- hote menu which is the special menu prepared by our chef daily for all the guest, not only for the coach party, and while your stay you had everyday varied different choices to choose from which was far more extended from the normal Ala-Carte Menu. As far as I remember when your wife one day express her concern regarding the choice of starters which she didn’t like then I specially requested her that if she wants something else apart from the menu, and when she suggested us something we take her suggestions and given her choice, we are always open for suggestions and I personally all the time talk to you that everything is ok, and you never expressed anything during your stay and you were yourself quite happy with the service and the types of foods served to you daily.
You also said the hotel caters for coaches on regular basis, we not only cater for coaches but for all types of travellers whoever wishes to stay with us and if its about dining along with the coach, we specially requested you to book a table half or one hour before or after the coach timings but you always wanted to dine along with them, and there’s nothing we can do in these situation but we tried our best service and given you the best food to you.

At no point we think that we have cheated you and we had provided you with everything up to the standard which you had paid for and even tried to best for you.
Once again we like to express our apology to you for not exceeding your expectations, and hope that this will not deter you from using Best Western Imperial Hotel in Future.

Kindest Regards
Prashant Kumar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    209
    188
    86
    76
See reviews for
72
348
51
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

On our arrival we knew what to expect as we had read a lot of reviews beforehand. We were part of a party of 46 so the hotel was full as a result which meant no possibility of a room change. We were given room 26 which had been highlighted in a previous review as being 'smelly' some time before. When I opened the door the smell hit you despite 3 different room fresheners near the bathroom. I opened the window to it's full extent - about 3 inches - to let the smell out which I recognised as untreated damp. The next morning we went out and when we returned later in the afternoon the window was open about 2 feet which could only have been done with someone with a screwdriver which must have been a member of staff. My guess is, is that whoever services this room usually opens the window wider to relieve the smell but on this occasion had forgotten to close it. Therefore the Hotel knew about this 'smell' problem and had done nothing about it. Incidentally, while we were out it had been raining which also got in the room through the open window. Apart from this we found the staff cheerful and the food adequate for what we had paid for as part of a holiday 'package'.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suttle182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2010

This was a superb wee hotel in the centre of Fort William, I was recommended this hotel from a friend that normally stops here. The rooms are very nice and fresh always clean. The hotel itself has everything that you need and you will really enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leoncapella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prash23, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2010
Dear Sir,

Let me start by thanking you for such a nice review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we are thankful for your appreciation about the service you recieved at our hotel during your stay.I hope to see you again in future.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 01397 702040.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great days ahead!

Sincerely,
Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We chose this hotel because we had really enjoyed our stay in the Best Western in Inverness and thought that the quality of this hotel would be the same but we would never stay in this hotel again and would not recommend it to anyone. The only members of staff who were pleasant and helpful were the evening and morning receptionists. We (sadly) decided to eat in and then had to watch the barman being rude to many of the customers just trying to get something to eat. The staff in the dining room at breakfast were rude, completely unhelpful and found it a chore to set the tables and refill the coffee pots. We knew the hotel had hosted a big function with many guests staying overnight but surely that is what hotels do and we weren't impressed to have their poor service blamed on other guests. The fact that the furniture in our room was poorly maintained and the shower screen required a muscle man to move it so that water didn't go all over the floor just added to our poor opinion of this hotel. The management of this hotel needs to do a lot of work to get more decent staff who realise that dealing with hotel guests is part of the job.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMCS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

scotland
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2010

after bookin into room 26, we could smell sumthing disgustin in the bathroom, afta mention this 2 reception, there answer and cure was airfreshner spray, wen that failed we asked 2 bmoved, but was told no rooms, but we newthat the ad 2 have sparerooms ( 4 emergancys) so we got moved 2 a nuther room, ha, bad lightin next 2 busy rd and pub and the extractor in the bathroom didnt work, apart from that it was a waste of money. NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reeken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

I stayed for 1 day and really enjoyed its ambience, efficient and courteous staff, excellent location with its own parking. Most ideal place to stay in Fort Williams. I recommend it to everybody.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rajesh1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We checked into the Imperial Room (no. 19) and the room was nice and clean. However, despite the warm summer of 2010 they had the room heating on and the manager was very reluctant to turn it off. In fact we got a lot of different explanations but no solutions.

Their policy was that rooms must be 25-28 degrees (celsius that is) during summer otherwise Mediterranean people would complain and they had NEVER had any complaints about the issue before.

So unless you like to spend your night in a bad sauna - go somewhere else. Could be okay during winter as the last option before driving to Inverness. The manager is quite sensitive to being criticized. Do NOT expect to get helped.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revisius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,026 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
491 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Fraser Square, Fort William PH33 6DW, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Imperial Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort William
Fort William Best Western
Imperial Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing