We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value,great food”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 10 January 2011

we booked at the last minute for newyear the hotel is inthe town centre it was great value for money and the food was really nice the service from all the staff we met was friendly and were always willing to help
the food served in the pakora bar was lovely and service was good without being over the top
would go back
fort william itself was really quiet at new year but it suited us

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbi186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2011

a good location and friendly helpful staff are about the only good things i can say about this hotel. checked in with my husband and was given the tiniest double room i have ever seen in my entire life! there was enough room for a double bed in the corner and that was about it! the room was no more than 8ft square. that aside the staff were friendly and obliging and the hotel was very central. breakfast unfortunately was another story! having gone to breakfast at about 9am the dining room was empty, got served straight away and asked for the imperial breakfast. this consisted of 1 sausage (burnt), 2 bits of fatty bacon, 1 egg, 1 hash brown, half tomato (so dried up it couldnt be cut) and beans that looked liked theyd been lying for hours in heat, all congealed and totally inedible. i wanted to complain but hubby insisted we didnt make a fuss. if your on a budget and dont mind indegestion this hotels for you, otherwise shop around

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rivercityfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Decided on this hotel solely based on its central location in Fort William and the discounted rate on offer. In the past I have found Best Wetern hotels to be a somewhat hit and miss affair but the Imperial Hotel has gone some way to changing my mind. Our room was bright, clean and modern with a view of the sea which both my partner and I enjoyed.
I tend to find myself in Fort William every few months and having stayed in most of the other hotels in the town I can safely say I will be returning to the Imperial Hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllOverThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Had two nights at the Best Western with mate, stopping in a twin room. Room very clean and smart with good heating. Bathroom good size and well equiped. Good nights sleep apart from the seagulls early morning!
Breakfast is an extra £7.95 (ish) and isn't worth that. Got served luke warm food of poor quality. Not a hint of any 'scottish breakfast' ingedients which was dissapointing.
So stay at this hoel on a room only basis and get your breakfast at Morrisons or a cafe in the town.
I would stay here again for deffo.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njd47559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

One night stay en route to the NW of Scotland, the recently refurbished hotel is presented very nicely and spotlessly clean. Downside is the thin walls, I could hear every bump and grind of the neighbouring rooms and the adjacent corridor with its continually opening and closing door, plus the toilet fans running in the next room during the night. Staff friendly and welcoming and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil2558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

My wife and I did a driving vacation of Scotland in October, so we stayed at a number of different hotels during our trip and I can say, without a moment's hesitation, the Best Western at Fort William was hands down the best one we stayed at. Very clean, spacious rooms. Nice bathrooms. a Wonderful breakfast. Excellent location. But best of all, absolutely wonderful staff. Always friendly, always helpful. This hotel and it's people are true gems! We stayed at a 5 Star Mariotte the following week, but longed to be back at this hotel. Thank you Best Western Fort William, you helped make a holiday unforgettable. a Three Star Hotel with the heart, soul and service of a Five Star Hotel. You will definitely be seeing us again. Thank You !

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdloots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

had a lovely weekend at this hotel. upgraded without asking, lovely surprise.
very nice location in centre of town. highly recommended

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank elginphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
1 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,073 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
2.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Fraser Square, Fort William PH33 6DW, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Imperial Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: £51 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort William
Fort William Best Western
Imperial Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing