We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B in Scotland?”
Review of The Grange

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grange
Ranked #8 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best B & B in Scotland?”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This would have to be the best B & B in Scotland. Nothing tizzy, everything tasteful, indeed modern, comfortable chic. An open fire in the spacious lounge, our upstairs room large, with views over the loch, our bathroom cavernous, with heated floors. A bedroom that invited us to stay indoors just that little bit longer. Our hostess provided the best breakfasts of our 6 week travels about the UK. Helpful yet unobtrusive, she provided fine recommendations for local dining. This was our final two night stay in Scotland before we flew out of Glasgow. We were gad we had stayed at the Grange.

Room Tip: The corner upstairs rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
295
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Beautiful house with a beautiful view over the Loch. A real treat to stay here. It is definitely not cheap but the Price seems to match the other B&B´s in this area and we thought it was worth it! The rooms are just lovely, each in their own way, but we liked the smallest one the most, because it was cosy and had lovely earth colors that was very soothing. On the website you can´t see which bathroom goes with which room, but all of the rooms have lovely bathrooms. The house is in walking distance of the town center so you can walk to the restaurants in the evening, no need to drive. The owner is sweet and lovely and very helpful.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms to choose from. All 3 are lovely rooms, but if you want small and cosy with a soot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria_Mazanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Before our honeymoon began this was a places could not wait to stay. Everything I dreamed of was here. Joan was fabulous! She met us late the night of our check in with a lovely welcome. She was absolutely the best!

Her home is beautiful! Our room was suburb and our bathroom even better! The breakfast was a true Scottish delight and wonderful! We recommend this stay to anyone. My new husband and I were so sad when it was time to leave. She gifted us with the sweetest just married sign. If ever in Fort William, stay here!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

What a wonderful retreat, beautiful setting and mid-point to our holiday decompression. Thank you for your terrific welcome, Joan. Your breakfasts were fantastic. We so appreciated your allowing us to have our "Scottie fix" by meeting Shamus. We send good thoughts his way. Everything that I read about you and The Grange was so right.

Room Tip: An hour from Eilean Donan Castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The owner, Joan, is a wonderful hostess; and very helpful. The room was fantastic and the B&B is comparable to a hotel! We highly recommended The Grange! We had to leave early the next morning so that we could catch an early ferry to the Isle of Skye. Joan was so gracious, and served us an early breakfast. She also recommended an excellent restaurant for our lovely dinner. Thank you, Joan!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Grange, and it is just superb. The tea on arrival was very welcome on a chill day! Everything in the house is at sach a high standard, beautiful silver ornaments and cutlery. It all felt very luxurious,

The bedroom was beautiful, the furnishings are so elegant, everything has so much thought into it. The bathroom was just a delight. The room had lovely windows over the loch.

Joan was very helpful and gave us some good tips on dinner reservations and where to head out to each day.

We really enjoyed our stay here, it was just lovely.

Joan also gave us a 'just married' wooden sign as we left which stayed on our bags for the rest of our trip!!

Thank you Joan, I would highly recommend The Grange.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

To call this a B&B doesn't really begin to do justice to this spectacularly beautiful boutique hotel. The grounds are exquisite, with a view over the water that is breathtaking Our room was huge and exceptionally beautiful - all in elegant beige. The breakfast was beautiful to look at and delicious. And Joan, our innkeeper, was delightful. I've stayed many, many places all over the world and this has to be one of the loveliest ever - including many that were way more pricey,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SadiehNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
539 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
527 reviews
3.7 mi away
Torlundy House B&B
Torlundy House B&B
#1 of 5 in Torlundy
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange

Property: The Grange
Address: The Grange Grange Road, Fort William PH33 6JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange offers you exceptional luxury accommodation while you take time to experience and explore the Highlands of Scotland.Our B&B is graded at the highest standard by Visit Scotland and holds other awards for the quaility of the accommodation and the welcome and attention provided by your hosts.The Grange 5 star luxury bed and breakfast accommodation is at the west end of Fort William and is set in its own grounds overlooking Loch Linnhe offering exceptional B&B in a lovingly restored Victorian town house with a friendly atmosphere. All bedrooms are designed and dressed to a very high standard with private facilities and views over Loch Linnhe and you will find a thoughful selection of finishing touches to enhance your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grange Hotel Fort William
The Grange Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing