We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crolinnhe - 5 Star rating - Great / Friendly Service - Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crolinnhe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crolinnhe
Ranked #1 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Klein-Winternheim, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crolinnhe - 5 Star rating - Great / Friendly Service - Wonderful”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Mrs. Edwards and her assistant were very friendly, the food was great and the rooms unbelievable. We have stayed in 5 star hotels that didn’t have accommodations with this much space or furnishings. Simply wonderful. If we ever get back to Fort William we will definitely stay at the Crolinnhe again. Thank you Mrs Edwards.

Room Tip: All rooms are away from noise but still within walking distance (5 minutes) of the town center. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
289
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our family stayed in August 2013 in Crolinnhe gusthouse.
Accommodation was perfect. A beautiful place with large rooms and stunning beauty.
Our room turned loch view of it memorable.
Sophie concern to all our requests and we had a wonderful hostess courteous and professional.
Please note we arrived after an exhausting day trip wet and tired and charming Sophie got us coffee pot tea and biscuits .

Wonderful place is highly recommended! We look forward to the future.
shepsels familly

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galila b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This B&B is located off the main busy road (where most B&B's are located) with beautiful views overlooking the loch. The rooms are updated and very well appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was pristine. We woke early to hike Ben Nevis and Sophie woke up with us at the crack of dawn and had a marvelous Scottish breakfast prepared. The night before, we went to dinner in town and ended the evening sitting out on the patio looking out at the loch. It was such a nice experience. Sophie's attention to detail and exceptional catering to her guests is not found often and we were thrilled to have found such a gem of a place in Fort William. I will do my best to get back there just to stay again. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Views of the loch are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otto-Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This B&B is everything I wished for and more. The house, bedrooms and public areas are spotless and tastefully decorated giving a warm and comforting atmosphere. Sophie is the perfect host paying so much attention to detail in everything she offers including the lovely toiletries in the bathroom made by the Highland Soap company, which can be purchased in the town of Fort William (well worth a visit). The breakfast menu was excellent with good quality food and although some people have commented on the timing 8-8.30 being a little rigid, it certainly suited us and made the dining area a place of communication rather than isolation.
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone travelling to Fort William and only wish that more B&B 's could follow suit. Well done Sophie and thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nevis suite overlooking the garden.this room was perfect for our needs with lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manlius
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have travelled pretty extensively and stayed in many fine places but Crolinnhe is by far the best. I am shocked that it is only #3 on this list! We rank it number one, for amenities, food and attention to detail. Everything is spotless and Sophie is absolutely charming. We stayed for five nights in the Linnhe suite and were more than comfortable. Every detail is well thought out, the room itself is beautiful and the bathroom absolutely amazing. Aside from the beauty, it is an outstanding shower!
We travelled North as far as Nairn and South to Oban, as well as taking the train on the Jacobite Trail to Mallaig. It is an easy trip to Skye from there, as well, although we weren't able to fit that in. We found the location to be perfect for our kind of day tripping and, while we aren't hikers, we did love driving around Ben Nevis and taking many,many photos. The scenic value of this area and the drive up from Edinburgh, where we entered the country, is breathtaking.
Sophies' kitchen starts each day with a lovely breakfast from 8-8:30 and we enjoyed the full Scottish breakfast, the delicious kippers, and also lighter fare on other mornings, all served with a smile. I would have liked a later breakfast as this was vacation but the food was well worth getting up for!
We would love to return to Scotland and definitely will return to Crolinnhe House!

Room Tip: All the rooms are sunny, well decorated, have great views and are beautifully decorated but, for my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAGeddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is a wonderful guest house and the best place we stayed in. The location is perfect, with lovely views. The rooms are stunningly decorated and I just want to take the drawing room home with me. Sophie is an amazing hostess and the food is great. Highly recommended if you want to tour Fort William and surroundings. Highly recommended. Thanks Sophie, Johann & Theresa Diedericks

Room Tip: The rooms in the front of the house have lovely views of the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Crolinnhe guest house is the best place where we stayed at the occasion of our 10 days trip in Scotland.
The decoration is so lovely and full of taste (colors, furniture, dishes: an exceptional attention is paid to every detail! this is quite rare in this business and so all the more appreciable) the owner is nice, smiling and available. The breakfast is a bit early but it is worth waking up for it! I am already looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank titchac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
3.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
532 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#9 of 21 in Fort William
469 reviews
0.8 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 120 in Fort William
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crolinnhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crolinnhe

Property: Crolinnhe
Address: Grange Road, Fort William PH33 6JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5 star Bed & Breakfast in Fort William, in the Highlands of Scotland, is set within extensive private grounds. This Victorian villa enjoys uninterrupted views over Loch linnhe. Crolinnhe offers luxury bed and breakfast facilities with a warm and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crolinnhe Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing