We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashburn House De Luxe Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed recently for 2 nights at this excellent bed&breakfast. Our double room was very clean and comfortable, and it had everything you need, with an spacious and spotless bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and well assorted, served in a lovely dining-room with great views to Loch Linnhe. We received a very friendly and warm welcome from Christine and William.The location is perfect, just a 10 minutes walk to town. Thanks a lot for such a nice and unforgetable stay! We'll recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

Very good breakfast with a beautifull view over the Loch. Very friendly and helpfull owners. The hotel is located close to the city center.The hotelrooms are nice and quite. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay and a good value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaAnGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

On a recent hillwalking trip with my brother, I booked two single rooms at Ashburn House. Although £50 each for a single room was was a bit more than we wanted to pay for B&B, the reviews on TripAdvisor were so good that I thought we would treat ourselves. We were really disappointed! The single rooms could in no way be described as 'deluxe' and in our opinion were not good value. My brother's room was not much bigger than a railway compartment. The single bed was saggy and the bathroom was so small that he could not sit on the toilet without turning his knees sideways. My room was not much bigger, and also had a very saggy and uncomfortable bed. My bathroom was very cramped with a miniature washbasin squeezed into the corner. We could honestly not see what made either of these rooms 'deluxe'. There were lots of unnecessary 'frilly' bits - swag curtains above the bed, gold taps etc., but generally the standard of finish in both rooms looked to me like bad DIY - uneven shelves, poorly fitted wardrobes, bodged skirting boards in the bathrooms, artex on the walls, badly finished tiling in the bathroom etc. etc.. The breakfast, which reviewers had raved about, was also disappointing to us. You could not help yourself to juice and cereals, instead you had to order each item separately. My cooked breakfast included dried up sausages that appeared to have been cooked the day before and heated up in the microwave. For vegetarians there were limited options - ie: no mushrooms with the cooked breakfast, no vegetarian sausage etc.. These points may all seem pedantic and ordinarily would not have bothered us at all, however we felt the advertising for Ashburn House was really deceptive. Although we had a warm welcome from the owner and the location was very good, in our opinion this was certainly not luxury and the price very high for such tiny and mediocre single rooms. Clearly the double rooms are much nicer and better value, judging from the reviews! I would not recommend this B&B to singletons.

Room Tip: If you are travelling alone, avoid room 7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMcScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Beautiful view of the lake, spacious lovely clean room. Lovely cup of tea on arrival, which I thought was a nice touch. Lots of choice for breakfast. Not far to walk to town for dinner. Friendly and kind owners. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We could not have asked for more from Ashburn House. Terrific breakfasts, really friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable beds and a spacious room looking over the lake. We were welcomed with cups of tea and shortbread in the sunroom, much needed after a long drive. Christine has the knack of giving her guests plenty of privacy and independence should they want it, yet is incredibly helpful and a wonderful host. We would love to come back.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake. Room number one was nice and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This guest house, 10mn walk from the town center, is owned by a kind couple !
Our room was huge, clean, and lovely decorated : we felt at home ! Plus the view on the lake is amazing. 
At breakfast (scottish or continental), the choice is large and it was delicious. 

The only and tiny little issue we noticed was the noise from the road, but with earplugs we slept like babies in a very comfortable bed ! 

We would definitely recommended that house for a stay at Fort William : the price is low compared to the quality of the stay, and no hotel during our two weeks gave us that much of a pleasure  . If we could, we would go back !!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cammilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Really loved our stay at Ashburn House; a lovely welcome with a cup of tea and short bread, comfortable bed and room with a beautiful view over Lock Linnhe, a tempting choice for breakfast (with delicious homemade scones) in a pretty breakfast room over-looking the Loch, helpful and friendly service. Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.3 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#5 of 111 in Fort William
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buccleuch Guest House
Buccleuch Guest House
#11 of 111 in Fort William
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 111 in Fort William
509 reviews
3.8 mi away
Torlundy House B&B
Torlundy House B&B
#1 of 5 in Torlundy
288 reviews
2.5 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#4 of 111 in Fort William
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburn House De Luxe Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburn House De Luxe Bed and Breakfast

Address: And ASHBURN Lane Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: £50 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashburn House is an impressive Victorian villa (1877) located by the shore of Loch Linnhe, and is a 10 minute walk to Fort William town centre. We are open all year round and provide bed and breakfast. Our accommodation comprises of 5 Double en-suite rooms and 1 Single en-suite room. If you are looking for excellent accommodation in Fort William with a friendly, personal service, look no further... we look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you to our Highland Guest House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashburn House De Luxe Bed And Breakfast Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing