We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next time again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashburn House De Luxe Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Margarethen, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Next time again”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

A beautiful countryhouse and garden in a walking distance to the center of the village. Situated close to the mainstreet, separating the property from the loch, but no traffic at night. Very nice room with beautiful furniture and view over the loch. Tiny bathroom, but clean. Complimetary English Teatime in the intergarden from our very friendly hosts. Excellent breakfast in a beautiful breakfast room at the window overlooking the loch.

Room Tip: Take the room overlooking the loch, the street in front will be qiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    46
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
218
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was picked for a very special birthday present and it did not let us down, although a Loch view would have been the icing on the cake. Wonderful breakfast with homemade scones. Lovely hot drinks and shortbread on arrival. Perfect place to explore the area, hope to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is one of several B&Bs and small hotels on the south end of Fort William. The owner-operators were attentive and helpful in all ways. Lovely, tastefully decorated room, newer ensuite bathroom. Dining room looks out on the loch, and breakfast was excellent with many good choices. Price was a bit high but consistent with the better places in Ft. William (lodging in the town was completely sold out when we were there).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoLongNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was a great start to a weeks trip walking the Great Glen: Fort William to Inverness - so I'll be reviewing other accommodation along the route sourced from the Great Glen website. There are no shortage of B&Bs in Fort William and after searching around I settled on Ashburn House as I wanted something more than 'basic', so after searching extensively, this was chosen as my first base as it were, as I spent a couple of days pottering around the area before starting the walk. The owners Christine and William were kind, friendly and very helpful, allowing me to leave my car there (as well as the car keys as the thought of losing them whilst trekking over the moors didn't bear contemplating!)- without any fuss or charge and collect it after I'd returned from Inverness. This was a great help as I knew it would be safe. My room didn't have a view of the loch as it was at the back of the house, but was a clean and very comfortable double on the ground floor. The bathroom/sink was a tad on the small size but as I was travelling alone, it was more than adequate for me and even if I was there with the lovely Fiona, she would have not have been worried by it! In addition, as I wasn't in for much of the time, I had nothing whatsoever to complain about! The breakfasts were freshly cooked and I enjoyed my salmon and scrambled eggs whilst gazing out at the lovely view out over Loch Linnhe. Staying alone, it is always interesting to observe the interactions of other guests with the owners. Questions were answered with enthusiasm and with positive, patient and constructive responses. I would therefore concur with other reviews on this front. it was a 10 minute walk into Fort William and all in all this was an excellent beginning to walking the Great Glen. I would recommend Ashburn House unreservedly and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesandFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed for three nights at Ashburn and enjoyed every minute of it. We had a great room overlooking Loch Linnhe ( room number 1) and managed to see the Loch in sunshine, cloud and mist and rain!
Our room was spotless as was the rest of the guest house and had all we needed for a good stay. There were even binoculars hanging behind the door for our use, a nice touch. The room is on the main road, but there is so little traffic that you barely notice it, so don't let that put you off.
Our hosts were very nice and made you feel at home straight away, especially with the welcoming pot of tea and shortbread biscuits in the residents lounge when we arrived. Breakfast was served in the breakfast room which overlooks the Loch and makes a great way to start the day, especially if the sun is shining.
Overall a very nice time at Ashburn and one to repeat if in the area again.

Room Tip: Room number one had a bay window and gives three excellent views of Loch Linnhe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We came to Ashburn House on the second night of our long weekend away. Sadly due to late booking (on our part), there was not availability for the following evening of our stay at Ashburn House. Almost immediately, our host William came to our rescue and contacted a local guest house on our behalf to see if they could help. This resulted in us finding accommodation that evening which certainly put our minds at rest and made out stay even more restful. The room we stayed in was beautiful with a stunning view of Loch Linnhe. We had a great nights sleep and enjoyed the location immensely. Despite being next to a road, we could not complain at all about any noise disrupting our stay. The food was excellent, and thanks to a recommendation from our host, we also thoroughly enjoyed an evening meal at a local restaurant. We would recommend this guest house to anyone wishing to visit Fort William and wish our hosts the very best success for the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 and loved the view that we had from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Overlooking the loch this lovely warm in all ways house offers very high quality B&B experience
Quality fixtures and fittings, comfortable large rooms and some nice extra touches made for a very enjoyable stay. The owners are friendly, knowledgeable and efficient.
Best of all (well very,very good :-)) are Christine's welcoming tea and homemade shortbread and breakfast scones to die for !
If in Fort Willima stay there !

Room Tip: Try to get a loch view - worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.3 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
538 reviews
3.5 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,011 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
523 reviews
1.4 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 111 in Fort William
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburn House De Luxe Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburn House De Luxe Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ashburn House De Luxe Bed and Breakfast
Address: And ASHBURN Lane Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashburn House is an impressive Victorian villa (1877) located by the shore of Loch Linnhe, and is a 10 minute walk to Fort William town centre. We are open all year round and provide bed and breakfast. Our accommodation comprises of 5 Double en-suite rooms and 1 Single en-suite room. If you are looking for excellent accommodation in Fort William with a friendly, personal service, look no further... we look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you to our Highland Guest House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashburn House De Luxe Bed And Breakfast Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing