We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and good attention to detail”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashburn House De Luxe Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Renfrewshire
2 reviews
“Very comfortable and good attention to detail”
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Easy to find with good parking and excellent breakfasts

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    46
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
218
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

My husband and I stayed at Ashburn House for 3 nights at the end of December (my parents were also due to stay however due to illness they had to cancel a couple of days prior to our departure). The hotel was easy to find and had ample car parking facilities. We were greeted by Christine on our arrival who provided tea and cakes in the conservatory (this was much appreciated after a 6 hour drive). It was an easy 10-15 minutes stroll into Fort William. Our room (no 1) was superb, warm, comfortable and well appointed with an amazing view of Loch Linhe. Breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed different dishes each morning. Christine and Willie were wonderful hosts and made every effort to ensure our stay was enjoyable. They enquired about my mum (who was ill) and made us feel like they were actually interested in us as individuals. We booked two restaurants prior to our arrival and Christine and Willie were helpful and knowledgeable about the local area providing recommendations. The Loch Leven Seafood Cafe is a must for all seafood fans!!!!! We enjoyed several walks and overall we had a fantastic stay. We plan on doing the WHW in 2009 and will be booking Ashburn House for a treat on our last night.

  • Liked — Personal service, fantastic views and excellent breakfast
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2008

Wonderfull B&B would definately recomend this place . The owners are very freindly and the breakfast is suberb

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lonelystarAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2008

Fort William does not have the best accommodation as a whole so one often has to look hard to get looked after. Stop looking and book the Ashburn House B and B.

I would guess that most people want a good nights sleep, be made welcome, have a great breakfast and stay in a beautiful place that is clean and has nice facilities. If that sounds like you then stay at the Ashburn.

After being shown your room its time for tea and shortbread in the lounge overlooking the Loch; lovely. The room is spacious with a lovely bed and we slept very well. The bathroom is spacious with a great shower. Breakfast is amazing. The fruit platter is huge and the scones are brilliant. We struggled to eat all that was ordered but we were greedy and did it because it was all so good! The only place I would, and have recommended in Fort William.

  • Liked — Breakfast and the welcome
  • Disliked — Was full so could only book one night!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heartbeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chippysmate
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

This accommodation deserves its high ratings, all staff were so helpful and friendly, long may it continue
Highly recommend the breakfast and flexible times of serving, the home made scones were to die for!!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brierdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2007

Although this sounded a really good B & B, the photo on the information sheet we got didn't look fantastic, but what a pleasant surprise we got when we arrived, it is probably one of the best B & B's we have ever stayed in, the propery is obviously Christine & Willie Macdonalds pride and joy and so it should be. The bedrooms are beautiful and very inkeeping with the victorian accommodation and spotlessly clean with modern ensuite facilities, there is a conservatory which we were offered tea and shortbread in on our arrival and this room was packed with useful information about the area and menu's of where to eat.
The breakfasts were fantastic not only the 'run of the mill' full scottish breakfast which was fab, but smoked fish, fantastic variety of soft fruits with yoghurt, and also somemore unusual breakfast dishes, all were delicious. Definately would recommend and will certainly stay there if in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tellithowitis33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2007

Whilst in the UK on holiday from Australia, we wanted to get up to the West Coast of Scotland and go on the Jacobite (Harry Potter) steam train. Of course accommodation was a necessity and after much searching on the internet came across Ashburn House in Fort William.
A great choice! Superb hospitable hosts (especially Christine who made us very welcome). Great breakfasts - you must try the creamy porridge, scones cooked in the Aga cooker, kippers and they have an interesting range of less well-known Highland dishes too (can't remember their names though). Bedrooms were a bit on the small side but had nice touches.
There's a lovely conservatory (warm and inviting) with nice views of Loch Linhe and plenty of books to browse through. Can thoroughly recommend to anyone heading up to Fort William. They have private off-road parking too.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank Timbolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.3 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
539 reviews
3.5 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
527 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
526 reviews
1.4 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 111 in Fort William
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburn House De Luxe Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburn House De Luxe Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ashburn House De Luxe Bed and Breakfast
Address: And ASHBURN Lane Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashburn House is an impressive Victorian villa (1877) located by the shore of Loch Linnhe, and is a 10 minute walk to Fort William town centre. We are open all year round and provide bed and breakfast. Our accommodation comprises of 5 Double en-suite rooms and 1 Single en-suite room. If you are looking for excellent accommodation in Fort William with a friendly, personal service, look no further... we look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you to our Highland Guest House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashburn House De Luxe Bed And Breakfast Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing