We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cafe beag” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Beag - CLOSED

Cafe Beag
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Beag Tea Room & Deli provides a warm and friendly welcome for visitors to Glen Nevis. We serve tasty lunchtime food and snacks as well as tea, coffee and cakes throughout the day. Our home baking and Italian espresso is sure to revive even the most weary traveller!
Fort william
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cafe beag”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Haven't been back here since the last tenants finished last year. The staff were welcoming and we had a table right away. It was comfortable and clean. We all had soup which was really tasty accompanied by a lovely warm and crusty roll plus a dish of butter. I shared some cheese and ham sandwiches which had plenty on it plus the ham was not the plastic type but fresh and tasty. I though the price was fair and quality great. Will surely be back and recommend this restaurant to visitors to the area encluding walkers climbers etc. also found a lot of local people using this place. Keep up the good work. Sandra cameron

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    14
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A welcome stop after coming down the Ben”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Very tidy and friendly cafe close to the start of the Ben Nevis trail. The service was fast and the soup of the day (tomato) was fresh and delicious. I will definitely be back on my next trip up. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bentleycoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warfield, Berks, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb place to start and finish a climb up the Ben”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I cannot recommend this cafe/restaurant highly enough. The couple running it are the most friendly, kind and helpful people you could ever hope to meet. They opened the cafe early just for us (we wanted a full breakfast at 0800), the food was brilliant, and they joined us for a lovely chat, and let us leave our car in their car park (sshh, don't tell everyone). Then when we got down they gave my son a certificate to prove he had climbed the Ben, gave us £10 towards his charity fundraising effort and furnished us with a fantastic afternoon tea! These guys put their heart and soul into looking after everyone who visits them, so if you are looking for somewhere to eat in the Fort William area i recommend taking the 5 minutes to drive down Glen Nevis to this place, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyHancox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cafe Beag review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had a lovely meal here on our way to Skye and a welcome break on our way home too. The staff were very friendly, the food was lovely and they even noticed when our daughter dropped her ice cream and rushed out to replace it for her. So pleased to see this lovely place re opened. A fantastic location too in the Great Glen below Ben Nevis. Can't wait to go back.
Paul Condrey

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic late lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

What a lovely late lunch we had this afternoon. I had the home made lasagne and my husband had steak pie , both were delicious, and plenty of it. We have visited this lovely wee cafe a lot over the last three months, and every time it is cosistently good. The staff are always nice and friendly, and chat to customers, whether tourists or locals, just another nice touch. Good luck to this wee gem.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank loobyloo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Beag also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing