We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Beag - CLOSED

Cafe Beag
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Beag Tea Room & Deli provides a warm and friendly welcome for visitors to Glen Nevis. We serve tasty lunchtime food and snacks as well as tea, coffee and cakes throughout the day. Our home baking and Italian espresso is sure to revive even the most weary traveller!
New Baltimore, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stopped at this cafe on our way through the Ben Nevis region. It was clean and the staff was friendly. I was able to get a vegetarian meal which can be a challenge in rural areas. It was quaint and comfortable for a casual bite to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    14
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Great food, excellent service and free wifi. Really nice surroundings and nice views. Eaten here over 5 times now - each time exceptional.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Glad we popped in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Went here after walking in Glen Nevis and it fitted the bill perfectly. Friendly service, tasty food, cosy cafe in a gorgeous location. Plenty of parking.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chobhamlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Cafe Beag, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi there, just a quick note to say thank you for your review of Cafe Beag. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit (both to the Cafe and the Glen). Hope to see you up here again soon.
Happy TripAdvising!
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“homely little cafe in Glen Nevis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

friendly little cafe on Glen Nevis road, with views over Ben Nevis itself if the weather permits.
Greeted by a very friendly girl. Soup was out of this world, (pea and ham).Sandwiches were a meal and a half.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Cafe Beag, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Michael,

Thank you very much for your positive review of our Cafe. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit - the pea and ham soup is a particular favourite of mine too! Hopefully see you again should your travels bring you back up to Scotland.

Happy TripAdvising!

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stopped here for tea and a scone during a jaw-dropping bike ride up Glen Nevis. Delicious and welcoming.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank paulinlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Beag also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing