We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Chenderoh Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chenderoh Guesthouse
Ranked #67 of 112 Fort William B&B and Inns
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I can only confirm what others have said about this lovely B & B. However I think that the beautifully kept front and back gardens are worthy of a mention in their own right. We were lucky to go at a time when the rhododendrons were in bloom in all their magnificence. We stayed in room 2 that had a spectacular view of the loch from a large bay window.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    11
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
18
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alderney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I'd like to be able to give a constructive review of Chenderoh, but to be totally honest, despite booking well in advance & driving nearly 9 hours to get there with Australian relatives who had travelled for days to get to us before the journey, we never actually stayed there. Unfortunately the owner had double booked us with a couple of cyclists who only booked a couple of days before & who we met & told us so.
8pm on a Bank Holiday Saturday is not the ideal time to be told 'that's the way it is', especially having phoned & double checked the previous night. To be completely fair, the owner did try ringing around & found us two doubles elsewhere, but when the first one turned out to be a spare room in a friends Council flat you can imagine that we chose to sort ourselves out.
After an hour of trying, it was obvious that there was no suitable accommodation, so faced with a night in the car we asked about the nearest Travelodge. They had no room, but did spend time & give us some numbers further afield, something we hadn't considered in our panic. Another half an hour phoning round from the seafood restaurant on the pier & a final half hour journey saw us tucked up just short of midnight.
Back to Chenderoh, what we did see was a pretty grubby looking place where the toliet we used whilst waiting was used & with paper left in the bowl. The Grandchildren were arguing & flouncing around & the resident dog, once over his bout of sniffing & growling, proceeded to cock his leg on the entrance patio.
I really like to find the positive in every negative & in this case we received a lot of help from other businesses within Fort William who were as disgusted as we were, particularly Travelodge, the fantastic seafood restaurant on the pier & Gary at Lochailort who came up trumps & stopped up for us.
We were passing through, but did spend something like £400 in & around the town, something that it desperately needs people to do. Do visit Fort William & beyond, but take care with Chenderoh

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

3 nights at Chenderoh and will return - the room I had was spotless, fresh and well presented. Everything was there for the traveller, tea, coffee, biscuits, TV and free wifi. There were other guests staying there during my stay but I never heard them at all, the house is on the main road into Fort William from Glen Coe and is quite busy but again I didn't hear a thing. The house has an exceptional view out to the front, over the loch to the mountains beyond, the morning sun hits them beautifully. The breakfasts were top class, just ask and you will receive. Oh and just before I finish a word about Pat the boss. Lovely friendly helpful lady. I was in Fort William to see a friend, he heard from me how good the breakfasts were and asked Pat if he could just call in to breakfast with me, no trouble for Pat. A table laid for us both and a minimal charge for my friend, thanks Pat!
in conclusion don't delay book today.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m1ddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swaffham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

first class rooms and a great variety of food for breakfast.this was my third visit to chenderoh guest house and i have no heitation in recommending it to anyone .the owner;s were most welcoming the views from the front were lovely over looking the loch the garden;s were beatiful.pat & charlie were so helpful & kind.the town is only a short walk away as are the trains and buses.ihope to visit again quite soon

Room Tip: room 3 is quieter as its at the back but very little traffic at front so little or no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romantically
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Spur of the moment we and our 3yrs old decided to spend the night somewhere, Fort William always draws us hence this review. Room was a good size with a double and a single, view was of the beautiful garden. At breakfast time Pat was great with my daughter who immediately felt at home running about in her nightie and playing with the dog. Charlie came in from an early morning fishing trip and the daily helper ( forgot name sorry) arrived, every one was so chilled out and friendly you could have sat in there company all day and had a good blether.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davepaton314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

we spent 2 nights at chenderoh - hosts very welcoming & couldnt be more helpful - we pre-booked and were not disappointed at all - great position overlooking the loch with easy access into town centre & plenty on site parking - needed to chill out & thats what we did - thanks again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We spent two nights at the Chenderoh Guest House in Fort William. We arrived in town in late afternoon without a reservation so we took the first adequate B&B we could find.

The location is on the main street coming into town with a good view of the Loch right across the road. The accommodations were adequate but not remarkable. The room was small but neat and clean. There was some mold in the shower and the extra blanket was tossed on the floor of the closet.

The Internet connection was though a "g" series wireless router that disconnected frequently - a common problem that we have experienced with other B&B's.

The breakfast was good except for the sausage links which the house dog refused. We left well fed.

The price was 100 pounds for two people for two nights with breakfast (50 pounds per night).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ancient_Mountaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.2 mi away
Alltonside Guest House
Alltonside Guest House
#61 of 112 in Fort William
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stronchreggan View Guest House
Stronchreggan View Guest House
#29 of 112 in Fort William
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillview Guesthouse
Hillview Guesthouse
#22 of 112 in Fort William
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Morvich B&B
Morvich B&B
#12 of 112 in Fort William
230 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#18 of 112 in Fort William
163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buccleuch Guest House
Buccleuch Guest House
#11 of 112 in Fort William
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chenderoh Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chenderoh Guesthouse

Property: Chenderoh Guesthouse
Address: Chenderoh Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Also Known As:
Chenderoh Guesthouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing