We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very nice”

Chenderoh Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chenderoh Guesthouse
Ranked #66 of 112 Fort William B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not very nice”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in October 2013. We were greeted by a lady who was looking after the b&b for the owner. She seemed to have taken our room as only 2 of the 5 rooms were booked but we were put up on the second floor in rather a dingy room with sloping ceilings. Our first impression of the room was that it wasn't very clean, and neither was the bathroom. The shower was very poor (water pressure and cleanliness). We had to ask for bath towels as none were in the room. There was no explanation of keys, breakfast etc until we asked. Breakfast itself was greasy and not very nice. We stayed in 6 different b&b's/guesthouses during our trip to scotland and this was definitely the worst. Avoid.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrica M, Owner at Chenderoh Guesthouse, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
In reply to your nasty comments about my Guest House Chenderoh. There is not one bit of truth in this review. You just seem to be going round finding fault with Guest Houses in Scotland, as you did the same with a Guest House in Invermoriston. They contacted me to tell me the bad feedback you gave them. They challenged you and with much discussion you said you would delete this, but you wanted to remain anonymous? I wonder why? Is it because your a trainee lawyer?Did it slip your mind that you filled in a booking form at mine with all your details, which I have kept.I phoned you and got it slammed down also my cousin tried. She was the one that supposedly done the Greasy Breakfast . My feeling is you come across as a very changeable person when you can delete for one and not the other with your exaggerated comments beware Scottish Landladies and as for your partner he made no eye contact at all to either Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    11
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
18
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I recently visited Fort William Scotland. We stayed at the guest house Chenderoh and would highly recommend it to anybody. Very clean- towels - were changed every day and the breakfasts were to die for. Pat, the landlady/host, was very welcoming and nothing was a trouble to her,it was very homely. We will certainly go back there again, thank Pat for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Try for room 2 this one overlooks the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freelander6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Myself and friend have just spent 5 days in Fort William, spending time exploring the beautiful countryside. Whilst there we had the privilege to stay at Chenderoh Guesthouse. It is approx half a mile from the town centre and overlooks the Loch. The views are stunning. We had a lovely stay and were made very welcome by the owner Pat. Such a funny and wonderful woman who brightened each breakfast for us. Would recommend staying here to all visitors to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I'm speaking on behalf of myself and my dad, we are both building/civil engineering contractors from central Scotland.

With the current economic climate of late, we have had to look a bit further a field for work, which has unsettled us and left us far from the ones we love.

Since October of last year we have been working within Fort William.

For the first two months we moved from accommodation to accommodation, never able to settle, and although each place was lovely, there was always something missing, continually leaving us pining for home.

With our complaints and explanations of the dreaded journey north every weekend, my mum decided to see what else she could do..... She done good!!!

We were booked into Chenderoh which was near the current job.

For the first few days Pat & Charlie let us come and go as we pleased, we worked 12 hour shifts which was pretty miserable in the notorious fort William November weather, by the third day Pat & Charlie insisted we came in to the kitchen for some lovely hot homemade soup before we went up stairs, by the forth day we still had our home made soup plus a delicious packed lunch which saw us throughout the day, on top of this our room was meticulous with bed linen and pillows you just don't want to leave.... It's been 8 months now and 5 jobs later and gladly we are still here.

The only thing we miss these days....is Chenderoh when were home.

James & Jim.

Adept home improvements.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechelt, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at Pat's Chenderoh Guest House.
A most friendly welcome awaits you.
Breakfast has a large choice and the cooked portion served with a friendly warm personality.
Pat makes one feel almost part of the family.
Fabulous rooms - view - hospitality - delightful.
Kathleen G

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I was amazed to read the review from Lorraine S from Newton. Are we talking about the same Chenderoh on Achintore road at Fort William.? I can only surmise that this was a GENUINE error on the landlady Pats part. She has had an unfortunate year with family illnesses and her own hospitalisation, but the service at Chenderoh never alters. A really warm welcome, all needs catered for, a real Highland Breakfast hearty and so much choice. I am sure she would have been mortified to have made a double booking, As for the Toilet not being flushed ! Lorramine mentioned children being present , mystery solved ! The toilet and rooms are immaculate, we have stayed several times and have absolutely no cause for complaint, its a pity revues like this one are written without actually exeriencing the hospitality , unfortunate circumstances, shame they missed out on a lovely stay. breathtaking views, a real flavour of being almost part of the family. Well done Chenderoh, shame poor old Pat slipped up. Bet she regrets it too.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have breathtaking views over loch Linnie, and are spacious enough to accomadate a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juney1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We spent three nights at the Chenderoh Guest House in Fort William. Hosts Pat & Charlie were very welcoming & couldn’t be more helpful - we pre-booked and were not disappointed at all - great position overlooking the loch with easy access into town centre about 10 minutes walk & plenty on site parking, We had exceptional view out to the front from room 2, over looking loch linnhe to the mountains beyond, the morning sun hits them beautifully,finally a well presented scottish breakfast was served every morning thanks to Pat.
We would not hesitate to book again.
James & Rita.
Glenrothes, Fife.

Room Tip: Room 2 for fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmydeesxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.2 mi away
Alltonside Guest House
Alltonside Guest House
#63 of 112 in Fort William
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillview Guesthouse
Hillview Guesthouse
#21 of 112 in Fort William
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stronchreggan View Guest House
Stronchreggan View Guest House
#30 of 112 in Fort William
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Morvich B&B
Morvich B&B
#11 of 112 in Fort William
230 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#18 of 112 in Fort William
162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buccleuch Guest House
Buccleuch Guest House
#12 of 112 in Fort William
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chenderoh Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chenderoh Guesthouse

Property: Chenderoh Guesthouse
Address: Chenderoh Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Also Known As:
Chenderoh Guesthouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing