We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Chenderoh Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chenderoh Guesthouse
Ranked #71 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our second return visit from Canada within seven months to the CHENDEROH GUEST HOUSE was a lovely experience. Our room on the top floor was utterly charming (with full facilities) and the best mattress one only hopes for.Pat & Charlie's HIGHLAND HOSPITALITY was first rate.We highly recommend THE CHENDEROH GUEST HOUSE for good food, and a welcoming stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

I must say that this is one of the best B&Bs that we have stayed in I would recommend to any one the room was very bright bathroom was a pleasent change from the rest of the places we stayed during our trip and as for the breakfast this was outstanding perfect for a day on the hill the lady owner is very welcoming and happy to help with anything look farward to returning here soon

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is the second time we've stayed here. The first time we visited it was winter and everywhere was covered in snow, and it was nice to see what the place looked like in the summer.
We found Chenderoh Guest House to have nice clean rooms, with coffee/tea making facilities and a lovely breakfast each morning and overall a very friendly service.
The proprieters are very knowledgeable about the area and were always happy to suggest places that we could visit.
We would recommend visits to nearby Inverlochy Castle, Neptunes Staircase, and Fort William town centre, all within walking distance, and free!, and of course a cable car ride up Ben Nevis is a must!
We also loved the 'Treasures Of The Earth' collection of rare rocks and minerals not far way.
You also have a good base from here to see lots of other wonderful scenery around Scotland.
Loch Ness (about 45 minutes away)
Silversands near Mallaig is also a spectacular place to visit with its clean white sands and dunes, unspoilt by tourism.
All in all we loved our visit and we hope to stay here again soon.
All rooms clean and decorated to a high standard.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank george23423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in October 2013. We were greeted by a lady who was looking after the b&b for the owner. She seemed to have taken our room as only 2 of the 5 rooms were booked but we were put up on the second floor in rather a dingy room with sloping ceilings. Our first impression of the room was that it wasn't very clean, and neither was the bathroom. The shower was very poor (water pressure and cleanliness). We had to ask for bath towels as none were in the room. There was no explanation of keys, breakfast etc until we asked. Breakfast itself was greasy and not very nice. We stayed in 6 different b&b's/guesthouses during our trip to scotland and this was definitely the worst. Avoid.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrica M, Owner at Chenderoh Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

In reply to your nasty comments about my Guest House Chenderoh. There is not one bit of truth in this review. You just seem to be going round finding fault with Guest Houses in Scotland, as you did the same with a Guest House in Invermoriston. They contacted me to tell me the bad feedback you gave them. They challenged you and with much discussion you said you would delete this, but you wanted to remain anonymous? I wonder why? Is it because your a trainee lawyer?Did it slip your mind that you filled in a booking form at mine with all your details, which I have kept.I phoned you and got it slammed down also my cousin tried. She was the one that supposedly done the Greasy Breakfast . My feeling is you come across as a very changeable person when you can delete for one and not the other with your exaggerated comments beware Scottish Landladies and as for your partner he made no eye contact at all to either Guest House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I recently visited Fort William Scotland. We stayed at the guest house Chenderoh and would highly recommend it to anybody. Very clean- towels - were changed every day and the breakfasts were to die for. Pat, the landlady/host, was very welcoming and nothing was a trouble to her,it was very homely. We will certainly go back there again, thank Pat for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Try for room 2 this one overlooks the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freelander6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Myself and friend have just spent 5 days in Fort William, spending time exploring the beautiful countryside. Whilst there we had the privilege to stay at Chenderoh Guesthouse. It is approx half a mile from the town centre and overlooks the Loch. The views are stunning. We had a lovely stay and were made very welcome by the owner Pat. Such a funny and wonderful woman who brightened each breakfast for us. Would recommend staying here to all visitors to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I'm speaking on behalf of myself and my dad, we are both building/civil engineering contractors from central Scotland.

With the current economic climate of late, we have had to look a bit further a field for work, which has unsettled us and left us far from the ones we love.

Since October of last year we have been working within Fort William.

For the first two months we moved from accommodation to accommodation, never able to settle, and although each place was lovely, there was always something missing, continually leaving us pining for home.

With our complaints and explanations of the dreaded journey north every weekend, my mum decided to see what else she could do..... She done good!!!

We were booked into Chenderoh which was near the current job.

For the first few days Pat & Charlie let us come and go as we pleased, we worked 12 hour shifts which was pretty miserable in the notorious fort William November weather, by the third day Pat & Charlie insisted we came in to the kitchen for some lovely hot homemade soup before we went up stairs, by the forth day we still had our home made soup plus a delicious packed lunch which saw us throughout the day, on top of this our room was meticulous with bed linen and pillows you just don't want to leave.... It's been 8 months now and 5 jobs later and gladly we are still here.

The only thing we miss these days....is Chenderoh when were home.

James & Jim.

Adept home improvements.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.8 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
750 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
6.9 mi away
Ardarroch Cottage B&B
Ardarroch Cottage B&B
#1 of 1 in Kinlocheil
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
633 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
623 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
#10 of 33 in Fort William
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chenderoh Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chenderoh Guesthouse

Address: Chenderoh Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Also Known As:
Chenderoh Guesthouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing