We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely place : )”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Morvich B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Morvich B&B
Ranked #10 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“lovely place : )”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Had a lovely stay over at the Morvich...Heather was sooooo lovely and couldn`t do enough for us...we felt very welcome...the room and breakfast were a very high standard and we will definately try to book again to breakup the drive on our visits to skye again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
157
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

What an amazing place! A total find!!
We stopped at the Morvich on the way back down from Skye and it was beyond expectations!! Heather greeted us at the door and brought us tea and the most amazing after eight brownie when we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble. The room had an amazing view of the loch and the comfiest bed with lots of lovely little touches, like DVDs in the hall to keep us entertained. Heather was genuinely interested in making it the best stay for us and had great recommendations for places to visit and eat. John made the most amazing breakfasts and cakes!!! They had lots of choices for breakfast and even had home made banana bread in the morning to round off the experience!

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, Owner at Morvich B&B, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hi Caroline S, thanks for the lovely review. Glad you enjoyed the brownies, they were a first attempt at a new recipe and we could easily have eaten them all ourselves! p.s. John cooks breakfast, but I haven't managed to get him to do the baking. Yet. Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Heather was very hospitable and genuinely interested in ensuring that we had a lovely stay. John was kind enough to pick us up from the station and more than willing to give us a lift when we left.

The breakfast was lovely, there was plenty of choice to cover any person's preferences or requirements and it was all freshly cooked and prepared. Heather made us a lovely hot / cold breakfast to take with us as we were getting an early train to Mallaig and did offer packed lunches if we needed them.

The bedroom and bathroom were immaculate and the linen, towels and toiletries were exceptional quality. The room is beautifully decorated and you have tea and coffee and very nice biscuits.

Tips for other travellers
The walk from Morvich to the bottom of the high street in Fort William is much better when walking along the path by the Loch.

There is a nice walk with views over Fort William which leaves from the end of town past the railway station & leisure centre and goes up to Cow Hill and you can chose to walk back down a slightly longer route to arrive at the bottom of the high street. It takes a few hours and its not too strenuous.

Definitely suggest getting the train from Fort William to go to Mallaig as you go over the Glenfinnian Viaduct (filmed in the Harry Potter movies) and the views are lovely. Maillaig is a lovely picturesque fishing village with three pubs and some restaurants. There isn't a lot to do in Mallaig itself but there are a couple of walks from Maillaig and there is a free museum near the station which is very interesting. Top tip - stick your hand out the train window (the top ones open slightly) to clean it & then when you press your camera against it to take photos they come out splendid!

In Fort William itself there are a few bars and restaurants (we went in January so it was very quiet). There is a Weatherspoons with real ales and decently priced beer and food and The Tavern which is a bistro/pub which does 1 for 2 meals on Thursday, Friday and Saturday but not sure if this was a limited promotion. The meals we had there were lovely. The Grog and Gruel has a good menu (Fajitas, steaks, etc) for both bar and restaurant food and is probably the bar with the nicest ambience. The Ben Nevis does bar meals, again nice enough main courses, but possibly not (in my opinion) as nice as The Tavern or the Grog and Gruel. Generally speaking, main courses cost approx £10 in the latter three venues.

If you are buying postcards for overseas ask for tourist / postcard stamps as they are great pictures.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HnS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, Owner at Morvich B&B, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thanks HnS_11 for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your packed breakfast picnic on the train. We provide a full cooked breakfast with plenty of choices in the breakfast room between 8.00 and 9.00, but we do offer alternatives for those who need to be out earlier. Guests can take out hot savoury breakfast croissants with fresh tea or coffee from 7.00 onwards if they let us know the night before. Or we can provide a chilled breakfast bag with sandwiches, yogurt and juice. Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was a great location, right across from the lake with beautiful views from our bedroom window. The room was very large with a large bathroom and the bed was super comfy. It is a short walk into the city centre which was nice for our evening meals. The highlight of the weekend was the breakfast. Heather is a great cook and we looked forward to seeing the 'extras' that she made every morning, homemade apple sauce, banana bread and brownies. We even replicated one breakfast since returning home, pan fried smoked salmon served on a breakfast muffin with a fried egg!

This place raises the standards for what you should expect from B&Bs. We would recommend this B&B to all of our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AinEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was the 1st stop on 2nd week of a 3 week stay in Scotland. The Morvich B&B is worth a stop. Just a short walk to Ft William. Heather and her husband have a very nice house and breakfast room, the food was really good. We really like the bed, Heather informed us that they had just replaced all the beds, after some of the beds we had experienced this was a great welcome night rest. Thanks Heather

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

What a lovely couple in a truly beautiful part of the world. I stayed only one night as I was travelling through from the Isle of Mull to the Isle of Skye, but could easily have stayed longer if I had the time. Heather's cooking at breakfast is great and we even exchanged recipes. The room was spacious, beautifully appointed and really comfortable and the view in the morning is spectacular. Thanks for a lovely, albeit short, stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyRevived
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Heather and John make you feel very comfortable in their beautiful house and satisfy every wish (from picking up your luggage to helping with trips). The room was very nice and clean and has an amazing view over the Loch. Breakfast is prepared freshly and individually. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.9 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.0 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morvich B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morvich B&B

Property: Morvich B&B
Address: Morvich Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Morvich B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morvich is an award winning 4-star gold B&B and member of Scotland's Best B&Bs. The B&B overlooks Loch Linnhe. All bedrooms overlook the loch and are king en-suite; we provide bright modern bedrooms with quality branded 5' beds and delicious breakfasts. Breakfast served 8.00 to 9.00, but hot savoury croissants are available to take away for early risers. Check-in 16.00 to 20.00 hrs. Free Wi-Fi and off-street parking. Minimum age 18 years. Bedrooms are for occupation by couples only (partners). We are a pet and smoke free home; please leave tobacco products in your car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morvich B&B Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing