We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of Nevis Bank Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nevis Bank Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

On the main road a few minutes from the centre ,we found our suite too noisy in the early morning and up to 9/10 pm.
The suite had been recently updated and decorated and was functional and clean, however we were warned to close the bathroom door when running hot water as the steam could set the fire alarm off! Why not sort this problem out? as the mirror in the bathroom could not be used as it took ages for the condensation to clear. The area above the bath had no lighting so was in shadow compared to the rest of the room. Bed was comfortable.
Would have expected a room safe as in other hotels of same grade.
Too much money for basic accomodation and the Scottish breakfast plate was greasy, overcooked and tasted as if it had been cooked for a while, not freshly to order.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Berjan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
There are newer reviews for Nevis Bank Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

We came to Fort William over a weekend to hike Ben Nevis. It is a very clean and friendly hotel, in addition a nice breakfast was included. There is very little character to it, which probably speaks to a particular type of clientele. This hotel doesn't appear to be targeted at the more adventurous outdoors-type tourist. There were several things lacking given the cost per night. One was the very little tea selection on the tea tray in the room (two bags of Tetley in a double-double), meaning we had to go to the bar to ask for some extra teas. This is not a huge deal, except when tired from hiking and one wants a nice cuppa before a nap. Second, there are no laundry facilities or services. We went hiking and it was very rainy. We had no way of properly drying clothes, bags, etc., without turning the heat on full.

Room Tip: If there are rooms not facing the main road (Belford), get those for a quieter experience.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nephthys9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Reception and restuarant staff went out of there way to make your stay a memorable one.
Rooms were acceptable and very clean.
Situated near to all the amenities.
Restuarant food was 5 stars with a 5 star price.
Overall a pleasant stay and would recommend the Hotel to others.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Les F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Booked this hotel on the premise it was one of the better hotels in Fort William, sadly it fell well short of expectations. Firstly, the hotel is clean and has clearly undergone a significant refurbishment as the public areas are of high quality. Room 1 was a disappointment, for the price paid is was surprisingly downmarket, bed was uncomfortable, a TV similar in size to that found in budget hotels, cheap toilet paper, dimly lit and the bathroom backs on to a kitchen store and laundry.
First night, had to go searching for the night porter bare footed through the restaurant and bar to report the fact that there was a mechanical droning noise causing real irritation. Immediate assumption from the porter was to close our bathroom window as he noticed it being open, he thought the noise was coming from the laundry, so that would be ok then?? I pointed out the noise was coming through the corridor wall adjacent to the room, turns out an extraction fan was jammed on in another toilet. Problem solved as the porter disconnected said fan.
I read a number of comments on here ref the breakfast and now understand why customers have made such remarks. The variety on the breakfast buffet can only be described as low budget and certainly not what you expect from a 4 star boutique hotel. As for the quality of the food, value range bread for toast, bacon which both my wife and myself felt tasted sour as if out of date, tar like tea, empty fruit juice jugs, a soggy bowl of something that looked like fruit salad and no sunflower spread alternative to butter. Service was ok and staff courteous. Overall, at £138 per room per night it was not a good experience for a hotel positioned as 4 star yet clearly lacking in the high quality standard expected of this rating.
Yes, clearly there has been a lot of investment in fabric and this needs to be recouped but not to the detriment of the quality of customer experience and value for money. I would not recommend this hotel at the rates being charged.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike2411959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here one night on a trip through the highlands. The Nevis Bank Inn is a modern hotel, quiet, and the rooms are nicely furnished. Dinner in the restaurant was very good as was the breakfast the next morning. Staff are friendly and gracious. Overall, a great choice in Fort William.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DRBSFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at the Nevis bank, for 2 nights in May for a friends 40th birthday. We were there to climb Ben Nevis. Was a perfect location as only 2 miles down the road from the base. Hotel was really lovely, clean comfortable and very friendly. All of the staff were extremely helpful especially David who made sure we had everything we needed to make sure our stay was as good as could be. Rooms were really clean and comfortable we had the double, double rooms which were nice and spacious and bathrooms were all modern and clean. We ate in the restaurant (brown's) both nights food was lovely and all freshly prepared and waiting staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairelou_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Can't fault the hotel at all. Beds were comfy and rooms were nice and clean. Breakfast was lovely and they were happy for you to choose what you wanted off the menu. We also ate in browns restaurant and the food was lovely. The staff were all really helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalietb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
600 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
718 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
984 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
554 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nevis Bank Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevis Bank Inn

Address: Belford Road, Fort William PH33 6BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort William
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: £86 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nevis Bank Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unpack, unwind & enjoy!We offer modern comfortable accommodation. Our bedrooms have been designed with you in mind and you will find everything required for a relaxing stay.Rooms are stylishly decorated using walnut wood furniture & luxury fabrics. * Single rooms have double beds * Double rooms have king-size or super king beds * Twin rooms and rooms for guests with mobility difficulties are also available. * Suites have super king beds and lounges with double sofa beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nevis Bank Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevis Bank Hotel Fort William
Nevis Bank Fort William
Nevis Bank Inn Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing