We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A splendid work in progress”
Review of Nevis Bank Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nevis Bank Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I write this from my very comfortable room in the inn. The new owner is still renovating the hotel and some of the corridors are a bit of a work site. The completed rooms are bright, impeccably clean, and have all mod cons, including free wireless. The first room I was given was next to the work area and very, very noisy. When I mentioned this, 2 of the staff move me to a quieter (and upgraded) room, without any fuss. To be very fair, normally, guests in this tourist area would not spend a lot of time in their rooms during the day, but I needed to get some work done. Service could not be better or more helpful both in the hotel and in the restaurant and bar. Food is good (if rather overly plentiful..). The bar has an interesting selection of wine by the glass.
In summary, a few teething issues while the inn's renovation is in progress, but the owners' helpfulness and the high quality of service more than make up for the hiccups.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquelineB228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
There are newer reviews for Nevis Bank Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

A great find. Clean, well appointed, friendly helpful staff. A breath of fresh air in Fort William

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Very surprised at the quality of the rebuild of this hotel.
It is obvious that this is a rebuild and not just renovation, everything is new.
Very good fitout of bathroom, excellent shower.
Feather duvets on the bed are a nice touch.
Only had had lunch in the restaurant, but very well done food for lunch.
Free WiFi is always nice to find.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waiheke_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed at the Nevis Bank Inn a couple of weeks back for a weekend of hill walking with friends. We had heard about the renovation of the hotel (which apparently had a historically bad reputation) and hence booked, hoping to be wowed by the turnaround - and we were delighted to find it lived up to what we had heard!

The hotel itself has been refurbished in a sleek, modern and tasteful fashion. The rooms are surprisingly large (with plenty of space for all that walking gear), well decorated, with huge, comfortable beds and very well equipped bathrooms (with great showers and a bath to soak away those aches and pains after a day on the Ben)!

A real selling point to the new hotel, however, is the restaurant and bar. We ate there on the Saturday evening, when it was doing a roaring trade, and all had a delicious meal. The food is locally sourced and the chef is doing a sterling job! Worthy of particular note are the scallops with haggis mash, and the lamb shank. There is a very tasty and well priced wine list to complement your food, or to enjoy in the lounge area of the bar.

Front of house and waiting staff were without fail friendly and helpful, adding to the enjoyment of our stay.

We'll definitely be back next time we fancy climbing Ben Nevis or enjoying all that the local area has to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosganiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Now called the Nevis Bank Inn, we stayed at the hotel just 2 weeks after it had opened and were very impressed indeed. Having seen the hotel (although not stayed) before the new proprietors took it on, I was slightly dubious as to what we'd find. However, I was pleasantly surprised, and despite being a new venture, everything was already running like a well-oiled machine!

We were greeted with a big smile and shown to a lovely room. Our double room was spacious and well appointed, with a spotlessly clean "luxurious feel" bathroom.

We ate breakfast both days and dinner one evening at the hotel bistro - Browns - and only wish we'd eaten there on our first night too. Derek and Bernadine have found excellent staff both front of house and in the kitchen. Delicious food and a fantastic wine menu - I can thoroughly recommend the Californian Zinfandel.

The Nevis Bank Inn is perfectly situated at the end of the West Highland Way and is very convenient if you're planning on climbing Ben Nevis.

If you'd heard bad things about the old Nevis Bank Hotel, dismiss them and go and see for yourselves what a fantastic transformation the new owners have achieved.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Manolo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: non la stanza 2 sopra le cucine
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sersoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,041 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
980 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
550 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nevis Bank Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevis Bank Inn

Address: Belford Road, Fort William PH33 6BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort William
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: £85 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nevis Bank Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unpack, unwind & enjoy!We offer modern comfortable accommodation. Our bedrooms have been designed with you in mind and you will find everything required for a relaxing stay.Rooms are stylishly decorated using walnut wood furniture & luxury fabrics. * Single rooms have double beds * Double rooms have king-size or super king beds * Twin rooms and rooms for guests with mobility difficulties are also available. * Suites have super king beds and lounges with double sofa beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nevis Bank Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevis Bank Hotel Fort William
Nevis Bank Fort William
Nevis Bank Inn Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing