We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel andwonderful service”
Review of Nevis Bank Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nevis Bank Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent hotel andwonderful service”
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I stayed with my family celebrating my Birthday last week-end. The hotel is beautifully fiited out, both bedrooms and public rooms. The meal in the restaurant was excellent and all of the staff were very friendly and efficient. I would definately reccommend this hotel

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank aliceh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    189
    37
    13
    5
See reviews for
75
288
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights, 12th,13th and 14th of July 2010, we were in Fort William as part of the Brave `HART` challenge run by The John Hartson Foundation where John Hartson himself was walking Ben Nevis for his testicular cancer charity....we had a twin room that was simply excellent, free wifi within the hotel, superb breakfast and also Browns restaurant offer superb food in the evenings, apart from all this that you would expect from a hotel the key factor that made our stay one of the most pleasant stay i have had in years was the hospitality we received......i would like to take the opportunity to say a personal thank you to the owner Bernadine and all of the staff especially Colin the night porter for putting up with us late into the night,they simply could not do enough for us whilst we were there, if you are in Fort William for business or pleasure please treat yourself and stay at this hotel.....quite simply a superb hotel that although a little work is still being carried out on 1 side of the hotel rooms you can except that the room and service you will receive will be second to none......an excellent Scottish welcome.

A big thank you to you all from The John Hartson Foundation.

Steve

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoopsthereitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWPORT GWENT
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2010

On reading the reviews I was a bit doubtful about booking this hotel but I must say I was glad I did. There is still work on going but the room we had was immaculate and well stocked. Free wifi as well. We stayed for 2 nights and ate in the restaurant on both nights, good choices on the menu. Breakfast was also good. Staff were friendly and helpful and we were made to feel welcome, staff took interest in what we had planned for the day and asked how we had enjoyed our day next day at breakfast.

Would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I write this from my very comfortable room in the inn. The new owner is still renovating the hotel and some of the corridors are a bit of a work site. The completed rooms are bright, impeccably clean, and have all mod cons, including free wireless. The first room I was given was next to the work area and very, very noisy. When I mentioned this, 2 of the staff move me to a quieter (and upgraded) room, without any fuss. To be very fair, normally, guests in this tourist area would not spend a lot of time in their rooms during the day, but I needed to get some work done. Service could not be better or more helpful both in the hotel and in the restaurant and bar. Food is good (if rather overly plentiful..). The bar has an interesting selection of wine by the glass.
In summary, a few teething issues while the inn's renovation is in progress, but the owners' helpfulness and the high quality of service more than make up for the hiccups.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineB228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2010

A great find. Clean, well appointed, friendly helpful staff. A breath of fresh air in Fort William

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Very surprised at the quality of the rebuild of this hotel.
It is obvious that this is a rebuild and not just renovation, everything is new.
Very good fitout of bathroom, excellent shower.
Feather duvets on the bed are a nice touch.
Only had had lunch in the restaurant, but very well done food for lunch.
Free WiFi is always nice to find.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waiheke_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed at the Nevis Bank Inn a couple of weeks back for a weekend of hill walking with friends. We had heard about the renovation of the hotel (which apparently had a historically bad reputation) and hence booked, hoping to be wowed by the turnaround - and we were delighted to find it lived up to what we had heard!

The hotel itself has been refurbished in a sleek, modern and tasteful fashion. The rooms are surprisingly large (with plenty of space for all that walking gear), well decorated, with huge, comfortable beds and very well equipped bathrooms (with great showers and a bath to soak away those aches and pains after a day on the Ben)!

A real selling point to the new hotel, however, is the restaurant and bar. We ate there on the Saturday evening, when it was doing a roaring trade, and all had a delicious meal. The food is locally sourced and the chef is doing a sterling job! Worthy of particular note are the scallops with haggis mash, and the lamb shank. There is a very tasty and well priced wine list to complement your food, or to enjoy in the lounge area of the bar.

Front of house and waiting staff were without fail friendly and helpful, adding to the enjoyment of our stay.

We'll definitely be back next time we fancy climbing Ben Nevis or enjoying all that the local area has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosganiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
992 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
522 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
796 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nevis Bank Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevis Bank Inn

Property: Nevis Bank Inn
Address: Belford Road, Fort William PH33 6BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort William
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nevis Bank Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unpack, unwind & enjoy!We offer modern comfortable accommodation. Our bedrooms have been designed with you in mind and you will find everything required for a relaxing stay.Rooms are stylishly decorated using walnut wood furniture & luxury fabrics. * Single rooms have double beds * Double rooms have king-size or super king beds * Twin rooms and rooms for guests with mobility difficulties are also available. * Suites have super king beds and lounges with double sofa beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nevis Bank Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevis Bank Hotel Fort William
Nevis Bank Fort William
Nevis Bank Inn Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing