We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and Cheerful”

Brewers Fayre Loch Iall
Ranked #31 of 67 Restaurants in Fort William
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shetland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We ate here twice on a trip to Fort William. The first to their Sunday Carvery and the second to a Tuesday night 'All you can eat Pie night'.

The restaurant is very big (probably seats a couple of hundred!) but there are plenty of staff to cover the well spaced out restaurant.

You order your food at the bar with your table number. The Carvery had a very good selection of food, and the childrens menu was varied. The deserts were typical 'chain restaurant' but good.

There is a childrens play area which is fenced in from the parking area. We were seated at the windows adjacent to this as were several other parents. Our four year old thought it was great.

The Pie night was very good, it was a servery set up again and you could chose any fillings and pie top you wished and have as many visits to the servery as you wish.

This place is cheap and cheerful and good for a family on a budget.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    87
    70
    36
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Brewers Fayre Loch Iall Fort William offers fantastic value for money. Breakfast buffet for £8.25 offers everything you could possibly want from fresh fruit salad to muffins, crumpets, full ‘Scottish’, endless coffees (including espresso, cappuccinos and so on) AND kids under 16 (yes 16) eat free!
Amazing.
Dinners are what you’d expect from this type of place, grills, chicken, fish & chips etc but there’s a themed buffet each weekday evening at about £6.50 and a carvery for less than £10 on Sunday. Not the greatest quality but for the price, again, amazing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BasilMav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We had two meals here the last week in June while we was staying in area.Simple pub food but good value and filling. We had chicken buffet on the saturday which was tasty £9.99 each,eat as much as you can, plus salad from salad bar. the other meal was chinese buffet £6.99 for my husband I had chicken meal from menu all was good,friendly staff.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor Food, Poor Service.”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Being local, i have eaten here on many occasions over the years but after my last visit here i was completely dissatisfied and will not be returning in any hurry.

We went out for a family meal as a party of 6 and had booked a table for between 8.15pm and 8.30pm. Granted, arriving at 8.40pm we were a little late but when we apologised to the waitress for this we were shocked at her sarcastic reply of: "Yes, only by an hour!" Ignoring this we were lead to the newer area of the restaurant where she said we could have either of two tables, we replied 'Which ever was easier for her' to which she responded abruptly: 'Just choose, i have to remove the soup spoons.' Shocked by this we quickly seated ourselves to have a look at the menu.

This particular night it was chinese buffet which myself and another member of the party wanted. As it was quite late in the evening and so before ordering we asked the member of staff at the buffet how long it would remain open for. He assured us that it would stay open as long as we continued eating; happy with this we ordered two combo starters to share, two buffet specials and four other meals from the regular menu. The starters came out in good time and although nothing special they were ok. After some time these were cleared and i wanted to wait until the others in the party had their meals before going to the buffet - this was a mistake. A couple of minutes later one of our party returned from the bathroom to inform us that the buffet was being cleared away before i had the chance to go up. At this i went up and managed to get one plateful of what was left before the rest was quickly swept away. The food wasn't great at all and all tasted much the same, definately not worth the money! The other meals were ok, although nothing spectacular and there are plenty other places in town where you can get a nicer meal for the same price. One plus side is that other than the waitress who served us the staff are very friendly. This waitress, however, was rude and completely unwelcoming.

I didn't expect a five star meal or service from Loch Iall but for such a previously nice place with good atmosphere it has really gone downhill and there is definately now much room for improvement!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fortf1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Smelly toilets!”
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Went in here this afternoon (Sun) and you could smell the toilets as soon as you entered. Not my idea of a suitable eating atmosphere. Signs in toilets state that the toilets are checked regularly. Maybe they are, but they obviously don't take any cleaning tools with them! Don't just check them, scrub them. The place stinks. If needs be get a plumber in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brewers Fayre Loch Iall also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Brewers Fayre Loch Iall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing