We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A busy hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
England
Level Contributor
252 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“A busy hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed here as private guests, well aware that there would be coach parties - there were 3 that week, so the hotel was very busy. we had a ground floor room on the front with a beautiful view of the Loch. Our room was very comfortable, but looked rather cramped - probably due to the large furniture. The beds were very comfortable, and the room and bathroom were very clean. Breakfast and dinner were included and there was a good choice on the menu and the food was very hot and well cooked. Breakfast started very early because the tours were departing for their daytrips, but we came in later and each morning the hot food was brought before we had finished our cereal. Dinner was also served early and it seemed again we were expected to eat quickly and go, so the staff could get ready for breakfast. On one occasion, we were in the middle of eating our main course and she brought both the pudding and the coffee. The coffee was cold by the time I was ready to drink it. On the following evenings, we took our coffee into the lounge so we could drink it leisurely. There was entertainment each evening and 2 were very good, one poor - many of us left, and I did not like the language used by the other entertainer. Overall, this was a good stay, but I would have preferred a slower pace.

Room Tip: Early morning the coaches rev their engines. They are parked at both back and front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm pleased you found most of your stay enjoyable. We have spoken with our dining room staff and they have taken your comments on board and will slow it down a little bit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    223
    111
    49
    25
See reviews for
52
307
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We have just returned from a Shearings’ 5 day holiday here. The hotel was clean and all the staff friendly and helpful. Our room on the 4th floor was comfortable and well decorated. Be warned though the floorboards on the 4th floor creak badly, so if you sleep lightly ask for a different floor. We did and without fuss we were given a new room on the ground floor. However the ground floor room was much smaller and the decor was tired, so we stayed put and I bought ear plugs! The food was good, with lots of choice, although the service was a bit slow at times, staff genuinely try their best to please. The scenery around the hotel is breath takingly beautiful. The entertainment was really good (except for an Elvis style singer one night).

Room Tip: 4th floor has noisy floor boards, ground floor rooms appear to be smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pkearsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thanks for your great review, I'm so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Sorry about the squeaky floorboards, we will get them sorted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

had a 3-night stay here and it was all, and more than I had hoped for. Perfect location. Very spacious and comfortable twin-room (as a single) overlooking the back of the hotel - nice woodland. The Manager came onboard our coach on arrival to explain the check-inprocedure and also saw us on our way at the end of our trip with his good wishes. The dining room is very well laid out and choice of meals and service very good indeed. All in all a hotel worth a visit and I certainly will be back soon and for a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: a room overlooking the loch would be great but dont be disappointed with a view over the small car p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Your review is so pleasing to read. Our staff strive to offer good service and it is so nice when it is acknowledged. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Caledonian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

My husband and myself have just returned from a 5 day coach trip with Shearings to this hotel and I must say we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our bedroom which looked out over the back car park was fine, although a bit like a travel lodge hotel. The beds were very comfy, nice clean bed linen and towels and loads of hot water. The only small complaint was we could have done with another small arm chair - there was only one in the room and the floor going into the bathroom creaked terribly, tried all ways of walking on it so it didn't creak so much but it was impossible. I really felt for whoever was in the room below us.

The food was really good, always hot and a good variety and the staff really helpful, especially Roland, who was a charming young man. The entertainment was very good and for the price we paid it was a bargain. Would not hesitate to go back again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room overlooking the loch, worth the extra money, the view is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AliceCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
I am pleased you had such a pleasant stay with us at the Caledonian. I will pass your comments onto all, especially Roland. Sorry about the creaky floorboards. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Used this hotel whilst on a shearings coach holiday,great hotel,great staff,great food,in fact absolutely faultless for value for money.Wil use again in the future

Room Tip: Ask for a loch facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
What a great review, thank you very much for comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Just come back from a 5 night stay at this hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Food was generally good with lots of choice, particularly for breakfast although combinations of vegetables with the specified meat for dinner were slightly unusual. Room was adequate and clean but the bed was rock hard (as is usual with most hotels these days) I believe that the upgraded rooms had more comfortable beds (only found this out when we were there). Wished we had paid extra. Also I think it would have been worth paying the extra for the view at the front which was stunning. Had room at the back with a view of the rear car park which despite our room being on the 1st floor was above window height so fairly dark. Entertainment was good but would have appreciated a room or area where we could hold conversation without talking over the noise - also because open plan the phone ringing in reception area must have disturbed the entertainer. This hotel is a good couple of miles from Fort William with the bus stop being a good 500m away - a long way for the elderly to walk. However, shared taxi with others which made the cost cheaper - about £6 between four people for one way! Don't forget to pack the midge repellant spray if you want to walk by the loch in the evening (which is beautiful). They are plentiful! Will go again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for upgrade if you are fussy with regard to comfortable bed and worth paying for upgrade f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lizzie60_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
What a great review. Thanks for the comments on the staff, the food and the entertainment. Sorry about the hard bed but some mattresses are more firm than others; we do have toppers we can put on to help this though. For the next couple of months midge repellent will be required as there are quite a lot of them about. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

i have just come back from this hotel on a 5 day trip with shearings.Food excellent entertainment good rooms good.The only down side was that they do not have a lounge area which is what is needed,because when i was there you could hear people talking loudly while the artists were on which i thought was really bad.They could do with having maybe a mini bus shuttle service to take guests into the city that would generate money into the hotel Other than that i enjoyed my break in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank b6687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed the majority of your stay. Due to our open plan bar and lounge area it is a little awkward when some people want to talk and others want to listen to the entertainment. Your idea of a shuttle bus is a good one and we will look into this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.2 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
4.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Caledonian Hotel

Property: Bay Caledonian Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Caledonian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly opposite Loch Linnhe, you can admire the fantastic views of the beautiful surrounding wooded hills and mountains from this hotel. Along with the dining room and pleasant lounge area, all front facing rooms offer super views of the breathtaking Loch Linnhe. The comfortable lounge and ballroom host entertainment most nights, often with a distinct Scottish flavour which is perfect for unwinding after a day’s sightseeing or exploring. A number of rooms have been recently refurbished to increase the capacity at this popular hotel and there is a convenient lift that serves all floors. At nine miles long and over a mile wide and with Ben Nevis towering above, Loch Linnhe is one of Scotland’s natural treasures. The hotel is also just two miles south of the town centre of Fort William, known as the outdoor capital of Britain, and here you can explore the many small and interesting shops and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Fort William
Caledonian Hotel Fort William
Fort William Caledonian Hotel
Bay Caledonian Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing