We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most I spoke to were returning visitors.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I needed a single room and I knew that this hotel had a good rate on them. The hotel is clean but dated. My room was at the back so no view but there was no noise or coming and going during the night. Everybody I spoke to had been before and basically you pay for what you get. Breakfast is similar to most hotels and dinner is "food". You are paying normal bed and breakfast rates so dinner is a bonus.
I arrived by train and took the hourly no 44 bus up to the hotel. The stop is just outside the train station next to Morrisons.
It would be a wonderful walk to and from the hotel if it were not for the consant traffic.
Cross the road first thing in the morning, take a deep breath and enjoy the wonderful view and "soft" air and ignore the traffic noise.

Room Tip: Front rooms have the most wonderful view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McdonaldsLinlithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

I totally agree with you about taking a deep breath and enjoying the view, we are ideally situated facing the most beautiful scenery. I am pleased you found your stay to be of good value and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
There are newer reviews for Bay Caledonian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Bay Caledonian Hotel has a lot of pluses, the view from the front, over the loch and mountains is breathtaking, and the food served throughout our stay was of a consistantly high standard. What lets the hotel down, is the fact that it is still stuck in a time warp. Wi-fi is available but only in the reception. The bedrooms are all dated and in need of re decoration, and the television in the room is basically a portable. On Sunday evening, despite having 2 coach loads of people staying, they had no live entertainment, just a radio playing very quietly. This meant that everyone either visited the hotel down the road, or retired early for the evening.
The restaurant staff provided excellenct, efficient service, but not one of them were from Scotland or indeed the u.k.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front on first floor or above, to enjoy the views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your review, I agree with you that the view from our hotel is breathtaking. Some areas are a little dated but we do try to maintain a clean, comfortable service. Thank you for the kind comments on our staff, they will really appreciate this. Regarding the Sunday night entertainment unfortunately some people want and it some don’t.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was a good hotel, we only stayed the one night. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a good breakfast included. The bedroom was clean and comfortable. The decor was a little out dated. This hotel has a wonderful view of the Loch, absolutely breathtaking.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel_Traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review, I shall pass all your comments onto our staff who will be pleased to have provided you with a pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a Shearings tour. This was the worst of the 3 hotels we stayed at on the tour and the only one (Bay Hotel) owned by Shearings. The only saving grace was that we had a ground floor room with nice views over the loch. The hotel decor was very shabby and badly in need of refurbishment. Our room was dim and very basic with a very old cathode ray TV offering 4 channels. Although the pillows had clean cases they did not have pillow protectors
and when we inspected the pillows two were badly stained -- I hate to think with what !
So we took them back to reception where we were told that all of their pillows are old. Nevertheless they did change them for new ones.
The bathroom did not have any shower gel or shampoo just a small tablet of soap. I've since read on another review that toiletries are freely available from reception. But why not provide them in the bathrooms as standard -- unless Shearings are really that hard up ?
The food was OK but nothing special. One evening the chef's signature dish was lasagne -- I kid you not. But the waiting staff were friendly, polite and efficient.
My tip to Shearings is to call in the Hotel Inspector -- Alex Polizzi -- to give you some ideas and sort out the pillows !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corinium27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We have noted all your points and will address them as necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed for two nights. The excellent view of the loch made up for the uncomfortable beds and rather tatty decor. Staff in the dining room were very efficient and the food was acceptable. Large dining room and bar area. This hotel has the great advantage of being by the loch outside the main town of Fort William in a smart area where you can go for a stroll after dinner.

Room Tip: Stay at the front of the hotel for the view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Thank you also for your kind comments on our staff, they really do a good job. While we do have a refurbishment programme in progress we do strive to offer a comfortable service, if you visit us again please do not hesitate to approach us at reception and we will do our utmost to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The good points about this hotel are its location on the shores of Loch Linnhe and the very friendly staff. Everything else is pretty awful, from the very tatty decor to the uncomfortable beds and catering which is only just better than school dinners. Avoid unless, like us, you can't find anything else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Thank you for the nice comments on our staff. Our decor may be dated but we do try to offer a comfortable service. We cannot improve a guests experience if they do not let us know these issues. I’m afraid I can’t agree with your comment on the food, we get very many great comments on our food but obviously people’s tastes vary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We spent 4 nights on a Shearings coach holiday and loved every minute of it.The front of the hotel looks directly onto the loch and the local bus to Fort William town stops outside the hotel and is 10 minutes away.
The room was adequate but in need of refurbishment,clean and well positioned overlooking the loch.
The staff were of mixed nationalities and were friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed the food on half board, a wonderful full breakfast and a three course dinner which was varied and plentiful.
Very good hotel for a short stay in the Highlands

Room Tip: front rooms are better as the rear have no appreciable view
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. All our staff will be delighted with your comments on your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.3 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,042 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
575 reviews
4.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
982 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#6 of 21 in Fort William
864 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Caledonian Hotel

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: £79 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Caledonian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly opposite Loch Linnhe, you can admire the fantastic views of the beautiful surrounding wooded hills and mountains from this hotel. Along with the dining room and pleasant lounge area, all front facing rooms offer super views of the breathtaking Loch Linnhe. The comfortable lounge and ballroom host entertainment most nights, often with a distinct Scottish flavour which is perfect for unwinding after a day’s sightseeing or exploring. A number of rooms have been recently refurbished to increase the capacity at this popular hotel and there is a convenient lift that serves all floors. At nine miles long and over a mile wide and with Ben Nevis towering above, Loch Linnhe is one of Scotland’s natural treasures. The hotel is also just two miles south of the town centre of Fort William, known as the outdoor capital of Britain, and here you can explore the many small and interesting shops and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Fort William
Caledonian Hotel Fort William
Fort William Caledonian Hotel
Bay Caledonian Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing