We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Halifax Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2007

This hotel and friendly staff provide such comfortable lodging for travelers - we felt very much at home. Our room on the top floor was large, clean and comfortable. The meals in the dining room delicious and well served. But it seems to be the general welcoming attitude of the staff that makes this hotel buzz.
Angela at the reception desk seems to have endless energy and patience.

  • Liked — The warm and friendly atmosphere
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryGrace2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    384
    198
    83
    45
See reviews for
172
400
79
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2007

My wife and I spent Saturday night in the Alexandra as part of a weekend Steam Railway package and we were absolutely delighted and rather relieved as I had read some of the more negative reviews posted here.
Our room number 232 was spotlessly clean and decorated to a high standard. The bathroom was gleaming clean with very new-looking fitments and the power-shower was very refreshing. Complimentary spring water and biscuits were provided, as were tea and coffee making facilities. The room was a little on the small side but my wife and I are seasoned travellers and with a little simple organisation, this needn't be a problem, for example - one can be showering while the other dresses and makes the coffee. The bed felt firm yet comfortable and again had a 'new' feel to it. A good view presented itself from the north-facing front window which could be easily opened and provide cooling air. Live music was being played in the lounge bar next to reception yet our room was well-insulated from noise.
The staff we encountered, from reception to waiting staff, were friendly and efficient . For example, when we sat down for breakfast the coffee jug's contents were a little cool but a quick word with a waitress produced a hot replacement immediately.
Finally, I can honestly say that the quality and service provided was at least equal to, or better than, many 4 or even 5 star hotels we have visited. I thoroughly recommend this hotel, without question, and would certainly stay here again. It can't be long before it gains another well-earned star!

Ron & Margaret Brooks
Central Scotland

  • Liked — The cleanliness of the room, the decor and location over the road from the Railway Station.
  • Disliked — There was nothing that I disliked, although a hairdryer would have been handy.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverSurferScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2007

It was very dissapointing! We were told we had been given a superior suite and for the money we were paying we thought it would be as described - superiour..
We got to the room and it was anything but. It had a poky en-suite bathroom, the room wasn't very big and the bed took up most of the room. Hardly what i would call superior.
Over head there was quite a bit of banging and crashing.
We went for a meal in the resturant and although the food was ok it was nothing special, the drinks order was wrong two out of three times and they seemed very short staffed.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank hebridianprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2007

I booked our hotel through Priceline UK and then contacted the hotel for an upgrade to a refurbished room for £10 more. The location was perfect for us as we were arriving and departing by train. (The train station is right across the street.) We had a wonderful meal in the dining room for lunch and they stored our luggage until it was time for check-in. The room was very comfortable and the location was ideal. We were right on the main street of Fort William so we were able to walk and shop around during our brief time in town. Dinner at Crannog's (within walking distance) was the best meal of our entire trip!

  • Liked — Location in town and dining room.
  • Disliked — Fort William itself is not the most charming place.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2007

I took my mother to stay in the Alexandra Hotel Fort William and was so pleased with everything I will be going back again..

We had a lovely comfortable twin bedded room, the bathroom was modern and both the bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean.

We had breakfast and dinner there and the food and service were first class.

From the friendly helpful welcoming receptionist to the room maid and restaurant all staff were just perfect.

I will go back and I do recommend the hotel

  • Liked — the location, the comfort and friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing it was all good
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank maggiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trafford england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2007

I booked into this hotel for one night, unfortunately due to unforseen circumstances i was delayed in getting to the hotel.. i phoned up to let them know i was going to be late which was no problem to them, but they also were concerned at if i was able to get something to eat and would have plated something to oneside for me, Now thats going the extra mile..
It was the first time i had travelled on my own but i never felt alone with the friendly staff... Also a thankyou should go to 2 gentlemen from the crofters arms as well who made me very welcome(as a female walking into a pub on own in a strange place can be quite daunting !!!!) But seeing Rusty doing a demo of the bagpipes with a stool just for me was very special and very funny........
I have a bad back and have problems with comfort and beds, but after a hard driving and sightseeing even the bed is friendly comfy and 2 pillows which is a rare thing these days.. THIS HOTEL GOES AN EXTRA MILE FOR YOU WITH PERSONAL TOUCHS JUST LIKE HOME FROM HOME.. SO MUCH SO I STAYED AN EXTRA NIGHT !!!!!!
SIMONE MCDERMOTT JAN 2007 2ND AND 3RD

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Not Enough Time To Spend There
  • Tips/Secrets — Try It...
  • Stayed January 2006, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidneys-harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2006

Having read some of the reviews I was a bit worried what I would find when I arrived at this hotel. Traveling on business we needed to book something at the last minute and we got a very good price from this hotel.
From the minute we arrived we realised that we had made a good choice. The staff at the were friendly and the hotel looked warm and inviting after a long drive.
This is an old hotel and the rooms have seen better days but they are clean, the food is good, both breakfast and evening meal. The hotel has plenty parking spaces and is centrally situated.
I think some of the previous reviewers just like to find something to complain about. " Creaky floors" and "noisy coach parties" can happen in any class of hotel. This is a three star hotel and charges three star prices if you want a 5 star hotel you will have to pay for it.

Anyway my wife and I have no hesitation recommending this hotel and we will use them again.

  • Liked — Ffriendly helpfull staff
  • Disliked — Not much
  • Tips/Secrets — Book direct with the hotel as some internet sites can charge you a premium of over 50%
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Droggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#14 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#12 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Property: Alexandra Hotel
Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Traditional Nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming staff team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing