We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good for large groups”
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We stayed here as part of a large group. - not good.
The tables seated 8 to 10 people and not all the group were eating. Our table had 2 empty places and we sat there fro about 30 minures while the other tables were eating and orders being taken. We stop a member of staff to take our order, who rudely told us we had to wait until the table was full before the order would be taken! I think we would still be wating now!
The management of the waiting staff was non-existing, everyone was running around like headless chickens! The main course came out before the starters and then there was a mix up with the amount of certain dishes!
All in all the meal was a disaster from our point of view as we couldn't enjoy it because we continually asking for one thing or another!
The rooms were ok but tired looking.
The plus side of the hotel is that is a good location if travelling by train as it a 10 minute walk from the railway station and to say it in the centre of the town it was very quiet at night with not much traffic noise.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

875 - 881 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night to break a long journey on a cold March day. The hotel was warm and welcoming, the only quibble was a window which rattled in the fierce wind which continued all night. The food was excellent especially the breakfast which had a large choice of hot and cold food. The service was excellent with all the staff eager to make our stay perfect. The hotel is centrally placed with a large car park. The station and the shops are a short walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We visited in March 2011 as part a ski group for a couple of nights. Sadly on this trip, due to a recent thaw we had just missed good conditions on Nevis Range and to get some skiing ended up travelling to Glencoe which is about 45 minutes away by coach.

We have stayed at the hotel a few times before in standard rooms and have yet to experience the refurbished ones which are available for a £25 per night supplement - there are 40 of the 93 rooms which fall into this category. For clarity the review of the room here relates to their standard type.

What was noticeable immediately on this trip was that the infamous carpet wall-tiled lift had been “madeover” and had lost this feature - we should have guessed they would never have been able to replace the single tile that had been missing for some time - the tiles having been discontinued in 1973.

Our next experience was not so pleasant - as we opened the door to our room I thought at first that the previous guest had forgotten to flush the toilet. A brave venture into the bathroom confirmed that this was not the issue however thankfully after we had left the window open for a few hours, whilst we went for dinner, the air cleared. We’ve no idea if this was a temporary fault with drains but fortunately it was not an ongoing problem.

Our room this time was set as a double and therefore had space for a small table and chairs - previously we have had three beds - so this was a bit more conventional. The bed was comfortable and the room a pleasant temperature - when we closed the window. There was plenty of storage space for our needs and tea/coffee making facilities. The television controls were not easy to follow at first (two remotes) but we eventually worked it out - a note in the room guest book would have been useful.

The ensuite had a shower over the bath but between difficulties with the showerhead (which frequently fell out) and the slightly uneasy feeling of standing in a bath which flexed a little too much for comfort (it almost doubled as a trampoline) we limited our time there.

Notwithstanding the above issues the room was probably value for money.

Breakfast was very good - the choice of hot food from the buffet included many favourites and these were frequently replenished. The porridge wasn’t so good - almost in a liquid format both mornings. The staff, who were all pleasant, provided lots of tea, coffee and toast and kept the tables clear.

We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food and service were good - and the wine choice was reasonable too. The lounge bar is comfortable and although during our visit it was fairly busy the service was friendly and efficient. There was a wedding function on the Saturday and we could hear the music on the second floor when we went to bed however after a tiring day dodging rocks on the ski slopes it didn’t keep us awake too long. A few in our group lasted a bit better and kept the bar busy into the early hours.

Overall I’d say the hotel offers good value - the “Club Rooms” may be worth the extra cost for accommodation. I'd recommend if you're looking for an inexpensive place near the town centre.

Room Tip: Hairdriers are provided in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Travelled with wife and son.We loved the roomand the fire in the reception lounge. Where we played cards with friends.Oo the saturday night we aye in the hotel and enjoyed the food. Bar was a bit pricey.Staff very friendly.Close to shops and train station.Breakfast was good. The nearby sister hotel offered a leisure centre with swimming pool free for us to use but didnt have time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knockando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We were a party of 11 who travelled for Ireland to climb Ben Nevis and booked into the Alexendra Hotel for three night. We were very impressed by how nice, friendly and efficient the staff were. The hotel itself is really comfortable, with very good breakfast to start your day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnG_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Stayed here with friends (1 twin and 1 single) on completion of the West Highland Way. Excellent location, right in the town centre and across the road from the rail station. We were very impressed with the quality of the hotel and rooms. Nice big lounges with roaring fires and nice bar. Large, clean and well maintained rooms with tea and coffe facilities and free water. The staff were very attentive and friendly, providing advice on where to eat and providing us with storage for our bags when we departed the next day. Breakfast was also excellent and lots to chose from. Staff will provide alternatives if not on the buffet (kippers, poached eggs etc). There are free leisure facilities at sister hotel but we did not use them. I frequently stay at high graded hotels on business - in my opinion this hotel matched them and if I had been on business I would have been very happy. Stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulCathyTheLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel.
Ist the negative.. We upgraded to the Club room. When we arrived after a 6 hour car journey, we were told our room wasn't ready as they hadn't put any of the upgrade in. After 40 minutes we were told that our room was ready. We went up to our room and yes you had 2 big white dressing gowns, slippers and gift bag of mini toiletries with a sewing kit and shaving set . Then there was the basket of fruit which looked like it came out of another room and was very sparce , grapes that should have been thrown a day or 2 ago. 2 oranges and apples and banana's. The savoury snacks was 2 packets of walkers crisps and 2 packets of bobby nuts. The shortbread was just what you would have complimentry with your tea and coffee .. The bottle of still and sparkling water is what you would expect any way. The wine was red and white and and you had a bottle of each containing 185ml's. Not even a large glass of wine. The next night they replaced the water, wine, crisps and added kiwi fruit and a pear to the fruit bowl.. Still no flowers or a paper. That cost £50.00.
Now for the good bits. This hotel is in a perfect location both lovely views from both the front and side of the hotel. The room which I am glad to say was actually too warm and needed to have the window open throughout the night. The room was a fair size and the bed comfortable. The bathroom ok too with a really powerful shower and lovely and hot. We were on the 1st floor right next to the noisy lift which staff seemed to use during the night. Breakfast in the morning was lovely and highly recommended. The sauasges and scrambled eggs were yummie.. There was a very good selection and something for everyone.
My only complaint is the Club upgrade. Maybe for one night just for the dressing gowns and toiletries. Learnt a lesson and wont do it again here ..

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbie7563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
620 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
739 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: £56 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing