We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexandra Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Nevis Bank Inn(Fort William)
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cruachan Hotel(Fort William)
US$316
US$300
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$876
US$821
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clan Macduff Hotel(Fort William)
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Croit Anna Hotel(Fort William)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highland Hotel(Fort William)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The West End Hotel(Fort William)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Factor's House(Fort William)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,117)
Filter reviews
1,117 results
Traveller rating
260
452
249
100
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
452
249
100
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfood stopsmall liftbuffet stylerailway stationstornoway black puddingbit datedcentral locationhigh streetreception stafflovely hotelhotel restaurantsuperior roomnight porterreception areatown centrethe jacobite steam traincouple of nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
855 - 860 of 1,117 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2012

stayed at the alexandra with 7 friends for 3 nights and enjoyed it immensly, the staff were first class,the rooms were kept very clean yes there may be only 5 tv channels but we wer,nt there to watch tv the meals were excellent and plentifull,the bar and other public rooms are kept to a very high standard and again the staff were great and helpful even sorting out are wet walking gear.
this hotel may not have flat screen tv,s in every room,fridges and state of the art showers but for the money it is spot on and we will definatly use it again on are next trip to scotland, its just a pity they couldn,t organise the weather

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernie4787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Arrived on the spur of the moment and were able to book into this hotel. The staff were first rate, the room was very spacious and the bathroom was first class. The view was perfect but the room was cold. We did not have an evening meal in the hotel but we ate a superb breakfast in the dining room in the morning.
This hotel could definitely use double glazing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed as part of a group in May 2012. The hotel rooms, while spacious and clean, felt tired and in need of refurbishment. The television had 5 analogue channels, with a further three showing a Sky TV help screen. When I enquirer at reception regarding this, the lady was positively unhelpful. The beds were comfortable, but the shower was of the old fashioned hot & cold tap "temperature balancing act" and was almost thrown out of its holder at very low pressure.

On a positive note, the breakfast is of a buffet style with cheery happy friendly staff who cheerily assisted where required...

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevorAmpleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This hotel is well situated for the local amenities. Although does not have it's own swimming pool you canuse the facilities of the sister hotel which includes swimming pool & gym

Hotel is spotless, food fantastic and nothing too much bother for any staff member.
Hospitality tray replenished every day with quality ingredients, fruit teas as well as normal tea, bottled sparkling & still water, coffee, shortbread.

We will use this hotel again and have in fact recommended it to others.

Room Tip: request room at front of hotel
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinetam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I go to this hotel at least twice a year. Great value for money. I always upgrade as some of the rooms to the back of the hotel are very dated. I was once put in one of those rooms and complained and the staff moved me the next day. I always use the spa facilities at their sister hotel as they are fab. The location of the Alexandra is perfect for me as we love going to the local Ben Nevis Bar which is only a 5 minute walk. Have had many a good Scottish knees up in the Alexandra lounge as well. I always book dinner, bed and breakfast as the food at the Alexandra is very good. Only had a couple of hitch ups. I have had the wrong meal delivered and was charged twice for my meal however it was sorted. Great Hotel and I will continue going there every year.

Room Tip: I always ask for an upgraded room preferably to the front of the Hotel so you have a view of the beautiful Loch Linnhe.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews