We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hogmanay Bash”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hogmanay Bash”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Having just returned from the Alexandra Hotel Hogmanay Bash-And with things still fresh in my mind.It is with great delight that our stay at the hotel was First Class.The hotel has a great location in Fort William,with all amenities close at hand.All you need is in the hotel,good bar,nice dinning area,good room,nice and warm in hotel,lots of hot watter/very good shower.The meals were Great.All meals.The staff..First Class.The Cleaning Staff..First Class.The whole Package from Strathmore Travel was wonderful.The entertainment that was put on for us,second to none.The optional trips put on,were great Iam told,we were having such a good time in and around the hotel,we missed them out.The nice touch of greeting us into the New Year with Champagne,and again on New Years day.A late breakfast time,or Brunch all great touches.Thanks again..We shall return

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamson000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    391
    207
    84
    46
See reviews for
177
409
81
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Just back from a 4 night stay at the Alexandra. The hotel's best points are the tasty food and the friendly and attentive staff, our favourite was Alan. The celeidh band who entertained us into the new year were fantastic and the singer Paula, who played a selection of tunes on the 1st, was also very good.
It was also nice to have the use of the leisure facilities at the sister hotel about a mile away. Beautiful local scenery so all in all a very pleasant wee stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

The alexandra hotel is a bit retro, which we like to think of as a taste of traditional highland living!

Our room was very serviceable, with comfy beds and a great shower. Everything was clean and it was fairly spacious. We paid extra for the 'club' room and had a good selection of fruit, snacks and wine, and a robe and slippers each and fancier toiletries, all of which made the stay seem little more special.

Staff were very friendly, and the hotel is well situated at the end of the high street with seemingly ample free parking.

There is wifi in the public areas downstairs, but not in the rooms. The bar is again a little dated but perfectly acceptable and the bar staff were friendly.

We will definitely look at this hotel next time we come to Fort William. :)

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor, lower may be better if you're impatient and not keen on stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellemmek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Having read such mixed reviews of this hotel , I have to write my own review. On arrival at the hotel I found reception staff very welcoming, room was clean and warm with plenty of tea etc facilities and selection of toiletries sufficient. Evening meal I had in the small restuarant and enjoyed it thoroughly.Breakfast in the morning was buffet style and an excellent selection , cold meats, fruit juices, grapefruit etc and full Scottish breakfast selection( with eggs as you liked them) as well as kippers.
Downfall is ,the foreign waiting staff are not as friendly and some seem to have a "language barrier " or maybe downright rude !!
Recommend this hotel --- Yes.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catterick
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

We went on a weekend stay at the Alexandra in November and the staff were really helpful and as we had our Westie with us it was nice to find a pet friendly hotel. We spent the first night in the hotel bar and we were looked after by a very friendly bar staff. In the morning we had Breakfast and the food was excellent and almost worth the trip on it's own.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jock3464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

The shower at this hotel was amazing. I spent 2 nights sleeping in the mountains after having my card blocked (thanks Barclays, it wasn't stolen, but appreciate the effort!), so when I jumped into the shower it felt like I was being hosed down by the virgin Mary. (If you have weak skin, be careful, this sucker will tear it off your back)

Apart from one staff member, all the staff here seemed a bit backward, almost like they hadn't slept for many many days, and were roaming around like zombies.
The wifi is apparently 'up and down', when in reality, it was just down, so the router probably just needed resetting. Again, the backward nature of the staff meant the concept of resetting a router was far beyond their mental capacity.

It had a really good atmosphere downstairs, with people at the bar, groups of people sitting around playing cards etc Shame the front entrance is the smoking area.

In summary, really nice room, nice bar and good location. Unwelcoming staff and poor value food.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cumbria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Great holiday with our tour operator Dave New, the staff was very helpful in putting a bath handle for the shower it did not have one,nice clean kettlte not rust marks in the last 2 Western hotels we stayed in, the food was too presenting same vegetables not change in them, the entertainment was superb great artists, we stayed 6 days went out touring the Highlands every day got back to hotel had time to get ready for the evening meal then the entertainment.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view ours was in between 2 blocks there was no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madaboutnorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#12 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Property: Alexandra Hotel
Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing