We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome in Fort William”
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights as part of a Treyn Holidays tour. Ideally located near the railway station and shops. The rooms are clean, if a little dated. The Reception staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. The main attraction is the food - breakfasts were delicious and with plenty of choices. Evening meals consisted of three courses, with 3 choices for starters and dessert, with four choices (including 1 vegetarian) for mains. Evening entertainment was also provided in the Hotel bar, with musicians on 3 nights and a quiz night on the other. If in the area I would be very happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel, but there is no real passing traffic so would expect the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

746 - 752 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2013

The restaurant in this hotel, which is in the centre of Fort William, is open to non- resident guests. There is a car park near by. It is a typical old fashioned hotel restaurant. The food is well presented and plenty of it. The atmosphere is good the furnishings are a bit dated but the service on the day we went in, Feburary 2013 was excellent, food was served within 15 mins and by genuinely friendly scottish male who catered for needs of the customer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

we stayed here as our base for the statesman rail winter highland trip, and cannot praise the hotel and statesman rail too highly, this was our third break with statesman and the standard they offer is just perfect. we have already booked our next trip with in confidence that will be just as good!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayden14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed overnight at this hotel as part of our trip on the Statesman Rail's Winter West Highland Tour. The Alexandra Hotel coped well with a 'train load of passengers' descending on them all at once! The hotel was excellent with attentive staff who gave a good service. We upgraded our room to a Clubroom for £25 which was worth all the 'extras' that we got. The Scottish breakfast was well cooked and presented. My husband especially liked the way they had prepared the haggis! The next time we go to Fort William we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: There is only one small lift so try and get a room as near to the exits as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The hotel is within walking distance of shops and sites. The breakfast buffet was good quality and variety. The bathroom had been recently remodeled and was clean. The room was clean but could use a bit of updating- peeling wallpaper / lumpy bed. The room was very quiet. Housekeeping / reception / restaurant server - all very friendly.

Room Tip: I stayed in a 2nd floor room which was off the street but opened up to a courtyard - Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Feels like coming home. Stayed many times and will be back. Food great as always, the gentleman who had a bad experience surprised me very much, as this has never happened to us, in years of staying here. The furnishings are comfortable rather than 'grand', but that is part of it's charm. The staff are mainly some of the most helpful and pleasant we have ever met. Any special dietary requirements were catered for willingly. Entertainment at night was varied and very enjoyable. There were a few families there during our stay, two of whom go several times a year, so It would not be fair to give the impression that children are not welcomed. Very happy for the price we paid. Weather was great too!

Room Tip: upgrade if you are staying for a few days and want a spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stayed here for the weekend because of location near the Belford Hospital. We were delighted with our choice.. Location perfect for access to shops, hospital, station and bus station. The hotel was clean, warm and welcoming. The meals we had were nicely cooked and presented- both breakfast and dinner. We even popped back for a light lunch. We found all the staff polite and welcoming. Restaurant and bar staff very attentive. Well done The Alex and all for a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anno5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.9 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,032 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
616 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: £54 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing