We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value for money”
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Very well located across from station in centre of town and with beautiful old building. Staff are superb, friendly, chatty and keen to help. We got a great deal on dinner bed and breakfast and it was a great stop for the last day of the West Highland Way. Dinner was excellent as was breakfast and there was a live band in the bar for entertainment. Almost wished we had stayed another night. Old lift but it worked so no trekking of bags and did I say how great the staff were? Thanks for making our last night of the Way that much better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JnReid3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
There are newer reviews for Alexandra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here in early March for 4 days on a wine and treasure break.
This meant we had a glass of wine each night with dinner and tickets for Treasures of the Earth exhibition.
The girls at reception were pleasant and cheerful and this really summed up the attitude of all the staff at the hotel.
We had a large spacious en suite twin room looking out over the Loch.
The menu at Dinner had 3 starters, 4 mains and 4 deserts -which changed each night - all excellent in quality and served on hot plates with an accompaniment of fresh vegetables.

We could not understand why this hotel is only rated 3 star -the food was so good.

It has another big bonus - only 3 minutes walk from Railway and bus stations for services to Inverness or Glasgow and on " the road to the Isles"

We went by train to Mallaig and then on the ferry for a trip round the small Isles of Rum and Eigg for a day out. Breathtaking scenery all the way on both train and boat. Refreshments available on the ferry

Room Tip: Book and arrive early - some people got their changed free because they were not happy with the view
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddienicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed for just one night in this hotel which was a delight. The hotel is part of a chain (Strathmore Hotels) but yet has enough character to make it feel like an independent hotel. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, the room large and clean with a lovely bathroom. My only comment about the room was that it was very warm. There was no hairdryer in the room which was surprising but a quick request to reception and this was sorted out with no problems. We ate in the Food Stop restaurant which was very good with lots of choice and good quality meal at a reasonable price. The breakfast buffet in the hotel was excellent with local produce and plenty of it. Excellent value for money, central location and would recommend to anyone staying in Fort William.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 974San
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Just back from an overnight in Fort William. Pre booked Alexandra Hotel before hand so wasn't sure what to expect, Was pleasantly surprised by this 3star hotel. Room we had was quite large with great views towards Loch Linhe and the surrounding hills. Our friend had a single room with a double bed but more than adequate. Hotel was spotlessly clean and staff were lovely and friendly. We decided to eat in the bar and the food was lovely , although service was a little slow but I think this was down to the kitchen rather than the waiting staff. Breakfast was lovely the next morning with loads of choice. The hotel is right in the town centre. Loads of free parking as well.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front of the hotel they seem to be bigger.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I can honestly say this is the worst hotel my husband and I have ever stayed in. Reception great breakfast great.

Room disgusting a throw back to the seventies. Bathroom awful I don't think it has been updated since the seventies. Bedding - bedspread needing throwing on a bonfire I dread to think when it was last washed. Scatchy thin orange blanket. Headboard was so old it still had a radio (not working) in it. Single glazed windows in Scotland!, what a joy waking up in a damp room due to the condensation. Carpets threadbare not only in the bedroom but also in the corridors and dining room.

If I have left you in any doubt DON'T book it - we stayed overnight in the Premier Inn just over the road a week earlier it costs roughly the same and you don't feel the need to wipe your feet clean as you leave!!

Also whomever covered the beautiful leaded glass window on the stairs to the right of reception by fixing obscure glass to it should be ashamed of themselves.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gem235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The Alexandra Hotel is a classic Victorian building located about 100m from the Ft William railway station, handy to the High Street, Nevis Ranges Skifields, & Glen Nevis.

Chris & his team turn on a truly Highland hospitality.

Room Tip: Although this classic hotel is unable to accommodate leisure activities, free access is provided clo...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We had dinner at the hotel while staying in a b&b which recommended the restaurant and we were not disappointed.nice decor. Friendly staff and lovely food.If ever in fort William again then definitely would eat here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkhan1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
575 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
717 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: £75 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing