We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major management problems.”
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Major management problems.”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Nice hotel, situated right at the top of the main street in fort William. Great food and friendly staff. Unfortunately, it was very obvious that the staff were over worked and undermanned. Too many guests in relation to the amount of staff to serve them. We arrived during a function night and it would appear that the waiting staffddint even expect the function. If you're coming here, make sure there isn't a function on at t same time! That's if the management even know about it themselves!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotarian1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldepman, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, and please let me apologise for the poor experience that you had with us. As you would be aware December is the time for functions and we are particularly proud of the quality of our functions in the quality of food, customer service and entertainment. I can assure you that as a management team we are very much aware of all functions in both of our restaurants and maintain a high standard. I have, however, looked into the details of your complaint and have already taken corrective action, it is through feedback such as yours that enables us to stay on top of our high standards, so thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    416
    225
    93
    51
See reviews for
184
437
85
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Staff very attentive. rooms basic but clean. some parts showing its age although some refurbishment is being carried out. would go back again. our room was very warm considering it was November.Breakfast was excellent buffet style with tea/coffee & toast served at the table. All staff were very attentive from the receptionist to the night porter to the waitress/waiters. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank formby1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your comments and your recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dufftown, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is an old fashioned hotel. That is why I like it. I stay here on business so comfort adn friendliness are really important.

The rooms are clean and spacious with everything you expect.

There is plenty of safe off road parking with easy access to the hotel.

Staff are friendly and helpful and happy to offer advice on the local area.

The food is wholesome and well cooked. I don't normally eat much but really fancied fish and chips (a treat for me). The fish was the best cooked fish I have ever had. The batter was light and crispy. The fish was moist. Perfect.

This hotel really is a good place to stay if you want simple old fashioned comfort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauljohnson303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again on one of your business trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papillion, Nebraska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Rooms dated; the floor in ours slanted enough to make you want to be careful walking to the bathroom. Loud neighbors and hard beds. No on site amenities-we were told to go across town if we wanted a swim or a spa soak. Breakfast was the best thing about the stay.
Travelers from the US-This will run you $200.00 + per night. I recommend a B&B if you can find one-after 5 different hotels and 3 B&B stay-Scottish hotels are just not worth the effort.
It was a Bank Holiday when we stayed at the Alexandra so I will give it an 'average' rating.

Room Tip: no onsite pool or fitness center. Excellent breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we have taken note of your comments. The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years, and being an old hotel, we do have an ongoing refurbishment program which will be addressing the issues you have raised
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maybole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Having stayed at other Strathmore hotels, this hotel did not disappoint. Staff very friendly in reception and also bar/restaurant. Best breakfast in a long time, replenished regularly with high quality produce

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are particularly proud of our breakfast and food in general, Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Expected a typical coach hotel and was very surprised with the standard of the room. Nicely decorated and the bathroom was spotless with a powerful shower and good sized bath. Public area's are a wee bit tired but this looks like a work in progress. Great location close to the Main Street, railway station and end of the West Highland Way. Breakfast was adequate staff were friendly, polite and genuinely seemed interested that you were enjoying your stay. We stayed for 2 nights and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSwift14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your comments, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The hotel was a lovely highland hotel yes it could do with a bit of an update but the staff were very welcoming and friendly. We stayed here on a dinner bed and breakfast rate and we could not complain about the food. The breakfast was very nice and they had a wide chose of things to choose.

The rooms were clean and fresh and the bottle of champagne in the room was a nice touch. Would go back.

Room Tip: You can use the swimming pool in there sister hotel just outside of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday-Lady25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
583 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
954 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Property: Alexandra Hotel
Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing