We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in Town”
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Right in Town”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

An old looking hotel right in town. Stayed only for a night. Unless you are on a business trip, I would suggest to go for the numerous bed and breakfast options at Fort William. Neverthless a basic hotel with clean rooms and toilet. The hotel has rooms which can accommodate 4 adults and since we were a group of friends on a road trip, it was very convenient. Parking is free.

Room Tip: I will recommend to stay on top floors not for the view but for less noise from streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nizamsaleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking time out to post a review, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    404
    214
    86
    48
See reviews for
181
421
83
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed for two nights this time.This is the 3rd time we have stayed and once again no complaints on a very enjoyable and comfortable stay in this hotel.We always ask for a front facing room and have always been accommodated, Very friendly staff and the food is very good.Three course dinner always varied and very well cooked and the buffet breakfast is awesome. Just what you need before going out on the hills.WE WILL RETURN !!!.

Room Tip: I have not been in any of the rooms to the rear of the hotel but i looked at room tips before i book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
We pride ourselves in the quality of food and customer service, so thank you for your feedback, our staff team appreciate it, we look forward to your RETURN.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with Statesman Rail .
Our first allocated room on the 2nd floor had dog hairs on the duvet and the room and bathroom were very tired. Reception staff were very helpful and moved us to a refurbished room on the 1st floor. Comfy beds and plenty of hot water.
It seems to be THE hotel for coach and train parties as the place was full, and the staff say it's like that all the time. Perhaps the owners should invest in a new bigger lift as the one they have is like a matchbox and only takes 4 persons without luggage at any time. However, the breakfasts were very good with quality ingredients and choice and the staff were very friendly and efficient. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catandc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the points you have raised and will be addressing them though our ongoing refurbishment program. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and quality of the breakfast, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The room & bathroom were both really clean, but the room was tired, the wallpaper was beginning to come off, and the table the kettle was on had chipped formica, needs some work. Friends stayed in a different room on separate floor, they're room was renovated (or just much better condition) so maybe renovation is on going. Breakfast was fine, ample choice of cooked or continental

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hebrideslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
We have a very dedicated housekeeping team, so your comment about clean rooms is greatly appreciated, thank you. With regard to renovations, you are right, we are upgrading our rooms during our continuous refurbishment program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and have had a pleasant experience. The food has been first class with an excellent choice available, both breakfast and dinner. The staff have been very friendly and helpful. The accommodation is a bit dated but very clean and well kept. The communal areas would benefit from extra heating. It is handy for the railway station and the town centre. Overall a good place to stay in Fort William.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bfmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your kind words, Our staff team in all areas of the hotel, take pride in their work, so your recognition of them is greatly appreciated, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight as part of a package with statesman rail. Hotel is convenient for the rail station via an underpass. Room clean & comfortable, bathroom toiletries provided if desired, towels & bathroom worn but plenty of hot water. Breakfast was adequate, however the dining room was packed with tables, some guests bringing luggage in with them made for a tight squeeze negotiating our way to the breakfast buffet !! However would stay overnight again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you and all of our Statesman rail guests for their good nature and friendliness. Thank you for taking time out to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed en-route to Inverness. We booked a superior room with sea view. The room was nice, good en-suite with plenty of toiletries and the bed was comfortable enough. We dined in the hotel bar/restaurant a good pint, very nice meal, good service and a reasonable price. The breakfast was excellent, buffet style, but fresh with plenty of choice. The hotel is a short walk from the town centre. This was a pleasant stay in a very nice hotel, would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you, Bill, for your kind words, it is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
560 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
707 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Property: Alexandra Hotel
Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing