We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable; good breakfast”
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Highlights: comfortable en suite room, view of the mountains from the room, good breakfast, with porridge and kippers(on request) as well as a full range of the usual range. Fine bacon and sausages from butcher in the area. Relaxed eating area serving good food during the day and evening as well as a more formal restaurant. The set 3-course meal with coffee is quite good value. Use of leisure facilities at the sister hotel, the Ben Nevis which has a great swimming pool which I really appreciated having access to as my husband was working in Fort William for 5 days, 9-6 and I didn't want to be inside reading all day. It took me almost 20 minutes to walk to the Ben Nevis Hotel from the Alexandra but most people could do it in less, probably, and there are also plenty buses going that way. Pleasant staff at both hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just back from a three-day break and couldn't fault anything about the hotel and its staff. We were made to feel so welcome and the staff couldn't be more helpful............and pleasant. Will most definitely go back. The location is just perfect. The entertainment provided was excellent and made the stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your kind words, we are particularly proud of our staff team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Had a couple of nights here. It turned out to be a pretty pleasant stay. The hotel was really well placed for both the high street in fort William (all of fort Williams shops are I'm walking distance) and the Ben Nevis area. Glen Coe is also in easy driving distance. The room was nicely decorated and very comfortable, though the en suit bathroom could do with a re-fit. There was free and reliable wi fi in the common areas downstairs which was very handy. The breakfast was by far the best of my whole Scottish trip with loads to chose from and the cooked breakfast buffet was really delicious.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for taking time out to post a review, we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We spent last Saturday night at the Alexandra and had a wonderful time. The hotel is so well situated in Fort William and will certainly suit all tastes. The reception staff in particular have to be commended. The buffet breakfast was excellent and there was plenty of choice. Although we weren't dining in the hotel, we have had meals in the past and the food is great. We would recommend the Alexandra as a good base.

Room Tip: Try to book a room at the front of the hotel with views of the town and the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine644369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking time out to post a review of your stay with us, we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just came back from Fort William after a stay in Skye just to top off the long trip from Edinburgh, this hotel has a good location and it is central for the train station which is just over the road. The food and the drinks were fine and the staff were very good always looking out for your needs if required and we will definitely be back as they have some really good deals on if you go to their web site for all the offers and once again pass onto your staff a very big thank you from cliff & Anne King.

Room Tip: You can also use its sister hotel which is Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club if you wish which is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audicak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your kind words, I have passed on your thanks to the staff team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Very pleasant hotel, close to all amenities in Fort William. Our room was situated on the 1st floor, was clean and comfortable as was our bathroom.
The staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. The service and the food in the restaurant was very good and plentiful
We would recommend the hotel and would certainly return

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPLBatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you very much for your words of appreciation, we look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very conveniently situated near to the railway station (we travelled as part of a group). Public areas are quite pleasant and well kept, staff are helpful. Our bedroom on the second floor was a good size but the bathroom was dated and tired looking, certainly would benefit from an upgrade. Some of the corridor carpet was looking worn in places and the general décor in this area of the hotel could also benefit from a more stylish approach. The food was what one would expect in this type of hotel, catering for a large party. Health and safety considerations (fire safety etc.) appeared to be up to standard, clear signage and alarm systems.
In summary I would say that this hotel was a perfectly adequate 3 star establishment and staying there was certainly not an unpleasant however, with upgrades as detailed earlier it has the potential to become better.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Recorder44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. As the Alexandra Hotel is a large hotel we do have a refurbishment program where some rooms are upgraded continuously year on year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.9 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,032 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
616 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: £53 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing