We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bank Street Lodge(Fort William)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Fort William)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ossian's Hotel(Fort William)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Highland Hotel(Fort William)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Nevis Bank Inn(Fort William)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The West End Hotel(Fort William)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lime Tree(Fort William)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cruachan Hotel(Fort William)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,131)
Filter reviews
1,131 results
Traveller rating
265
459
251
100
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
459
251
100
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfood stopsmall liftbuffet stylerailway stationstornoway black puddingbit datedcentral locationhigh streetreception stafflovely hotelhotel restaurantsuperior roomnight porterreception areatown centrethe jacobite steam traincouple of nights
Filter
Updating list...
631 - 636 of 1,131 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Not a very friendly place, and the rest its a very pretty average hotel. Didnt like it. The recepcionist was not in a very good mood and had awful manners in the check in. But its in a very central location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

I am so very sorry that you did not have pleasant experience here at the Alexandra Hotel. I have reiterated with my staff that whatever their mood, they should always treat our guests as they would themselves like to be treated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for one night, there were three of us in two rooms. The best thing about this place was the location. It's an easy walk to the main pedestrian street with shops and restaurants.
The rooms that we had were well appointed, with tea, coffee, cookies, ironing board and unit for ironing slacks, blow dryer etc. It looked as if the rooms had been recently updated. The bathrooms were clean and fresh feeling, both had windows. We did have to ask to have the trash removed, not a big deal and wouldn't have even bothered except that what was in the trash was pretty nasty. Check in and out was easy and the people working the front desk were friendly and helpful. There is wi-fi in available in the lobby and common rooms on the first floor. This was spotty, but workable for the little that we needed to do with it.
There is a restaurant/bar as well as the formal dining room, which is where breakfast was served. The evening that we were there, there was entertainment which consisted of a guy with an accordion singing songs and telling stories. What little we heard sounded like fun. We weren't sure if this was part of the bus tour(s?) staying there, but it was open and we would have felt comfortable joining in if we had wanted.
Breakfast was fine, lots of choices of hot and cold items. This is where my only real complaint comes in and it is admittedly minor, but still worth sharing.When we arrived at the buffet, we were directed to a table right by the door. It was packed with lots of people coming and going and this table was right in the entrance. We asked if we could have a different table and were directed to a table so close to the buffet that we were constantly in someone's way, either a server or patron. There was lots of moving of chairs in and out of the way and watching the servers, who were great, by the way, trying to navigate in and out of the tables. Staff trying to get to the buffet table to replenish had a tough time as it was pretty tight. There were what appeared to be multiple bus tours staying and evidently departing at the same time which, I think might have made it especially busy at this breakfast. I have NO problem with bus tours, but at this hotel, breakfast might have been handled differently in terms of logistics with the tours in mind.
The hotel itself is an old one with lots of charm, including slanted floors and out of plumb doors. We think those things add to the character of a place and it didn't bother us in the least. The parking behind the building was convenient and free, which we liked.
I would mention that the placement of the rooms makes a big difference. One of our rooms faced the parking lot and trash bins in the back, not much of a reason to open the curtains here. The other room looked into an ally and side of a church next door, again no real reason to open the curtains. Rooms on the front of the building would have a much nicer view, I would assume, perhaps even of the water and mountains. Ask for one of these.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the building.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudmille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking time out to write a detailed report of your stay with us, it gives me great insight with feedback such as yours as to where we need to focus our attention. I will certainly be looking into our breakfast service operation. Thanks again for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed two nights here with 3 friends - using two very comfortable twin bedded rooms. The location is ideal, in the heart of the town and close to the railway station.
The staff were friendly and helpful and we chose to eat there both nights - a very good restaurant indeed. The entertainment on Thursday evening was also extremely good - a very versatile singer.
We arrived by train from Glasgow and also took a trip on the train to Mallaig - both highly recommended and the latter surely one of the most scenic train trips in the world. You can take the ordinary diesel train or the Jacobite steam train but you need to book ahead for that.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words, and we hope that you had a good holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I travelled from Canada to Walk the West Highland Way. Our Accommodation was booked through a Scottish Travel Company. We had paid a premium price to upgrade our accommodation in Fort William to celebrate the end of our hike. We booked two nights at the Alexandra Hotel. Believe me, there are much better places to stay in Fort William.

After hiking 10 hrs in the pouring rain we arrived at the Hotel reception around 07:00 pm. We did not find the staff working reception to be overly friendly or helpful. They did not have a stamp for our West Highland Way Passport. When my wife asked if they had a nice room for us we were given a small room on the second floor facing an enclosed courtyard with a terrible view of the walls of the hotel. The room was very warm even though the radiator was off, we were grateful to have a window to open. The room was clean, bed small for two people. The bathroom was modern and nice toiletries. There was coffee, tea and cookies in the room which was appreciated. The television was smaller than most computer screens, albeit, it was replaced on our second day to a nicer and much larger LG television. We believe that staying two nights and having booked this Hotel last November and paying a premium price to our Tour Company we should have had a nicer room with a view.

Wifi is free. I found the signal to be strong and dependable, albeit, it is only available in the ground floor level. There are large rooms adjacent to the reception and bar that are comfortable and a nice place to relax and chat with friends. The furniture is worn and could be replaced. I also found the carpet in the hallways were tired looking. The elevator is very small with a low ceiling which we avoided, taking the stairs most often.

We were not informed upon check-in of the use of the leisure club at a sister hotel the Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club. As guests of the Alexandra Hotel you are invited to use their indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and leisure facility There is no shuttle service to this hotel which is a good walk about a mile away.

We had breakfast and one dinner at the hotel. The food was good the service ok. The location of the hotel is excellent. It is across from the train station and in the main area of town with an abundance of stores and restaurants / pubs etc. nearby as well as the finish of the West Highland Way. We did visit the nearby West Highland Museum which has free entrance and was excellent. St. Mary's Catholic Church is also nearby and has Daily Mass. We did enjoy a nice dinner at the nearby Ben Nevis Bar and sat in the dining room on the second level which had a beautiful view of the waterfront.

I would not recommend this hotel nor stay here again as it certainly did not meet our expectations. I would however highly recommend the nearby MacLean Guest House, Belford Road. My wife and I stopped and spoke with the owners Brandi and Mark MacLean formerly from Canada. They are lovely friendly people who know what travellers needs are. Brandi showed us around her Guest House and it was spacious, nicely decorated, large size beds, modern and spotlessly clean. Check-out the highly rated comments on Trip Advisor. We were disappointed that our Tour Company that also does business with the MacLean Guest House did not book us here, it would have been a nice ending to our West Highland Way adventure.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank RickyLeeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking time out to post a detailed report of your stay with us, and I sincerely apologise that we did not live up to your expectations. I have however made note of all your comments and will address them with our staff and management teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Decor is like something out of a Agatha Christie novel, half expected to "bump" into Hercule Peroit in the main revolving door. I read a lot of negative comments, but i really enjoyed staying here and will do again. We stayed for three Nights and enjoyed a very good meal on our first evening in the restaurant, were we found the staff very attentive and polite. after the meal we sat and listened to a duo on guitar and accordion whilst enjoying a couple of drinks. The hotel is very well situated in the Town (staggering distance) for access to bars and restaurants. Breakfast, I like my food and this was some thing memorable, presented buffet style. With all the hot food in big heated Silver "Thingies" everything imaginable, even Haggis and white pudding (salivating just thinking about it)
Our room was spacious, although dated (complements the overall feel) and over looked the church next door. we enjoyed our stay so much we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your kind words, our staff team in all areas of the hotel, take pride in their work, so your recognition of them is greatly appreciated, Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews