We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location with old-fashioned charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location with old-fashioned charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel and we were even more delighted the second time around. The location is perfect for the railway station as well as the town's many restaurants and other attractions. Our room was well-appointed and very comfortable with a sparkling en-suite and, best of all, fabulous views over Loch Linnhe. The reception and dining room staff were friendly and very helpful. At first glance the breakfast area might seem big and, at times, busy, but the breakfast buffet and cooked-to-order offerings rank with the major global hotel chains in their quality and presentation. Fort William is a great place to visit and I can't think of a more warm, inviting and comfortable hotel in which to stay. Gracious accommodation surrounded by beautiful scenery. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front offer fabulous views to the loch and surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesseClinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    391
    207
    84
    46
See reviews for
177
409
81
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Like I wrote, the hotel is nice, lovely entrance, and the breakfast was superb. The staff is friendly and helpful but the rooms are old and the bathroom is also old. They still have separate taps for hot and cold water, one too hot and the other too cold... and they still use blankets on the beds instead of duvet covers... But everything was clean and It is well located. Nevertheless I think it was a bit too expensive for a room/bathroom that haven't been updated for probably over 20 years!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were happy and well-looked after at this hotel. An old building with its own charm, our room was nonetheless of high amenity. Food, accommodation and staff were of a high standard and we would not hesitate to return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Genista530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Polite smart staff. Excellent food served in restaurants. Top floor room with good views which was quiet considering the hotel was busy.would use again and recommend to anyone. only bad thing was the decorating which was tired and old, but they can't paint every year !! Room was well equipped though and the bed was really comfy. Slept great after climbing The Ben,

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andywortley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thanks for the kind and understanding words Andy, we do have a refurbishment program where we refurbish portions of the hotel every year, and painting sections at a time is very much part of the program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

A very good hotel. On arrival we were checked in quickly by a friendly and professional receptionist.
Location - excellent location at the end of the Main street close to everything.
Room - we asked for a triple and got a triple. Very clean and exactly what was expected. Only negative was the bathroom had no window and the fan did not appear to work. Making for a very hot shower!
Breakfast - buffet style, plenty of it and a very good quality.
Staff - excellent.
Public areas - slightly dark and in need of a makeover.

Overall, a good hotel in an excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerMK215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. The extractor fan is a centralized system that services the whole hotel thus keeping it a silent system and is on a time switch to turn on during key operational times. We are also addressing the public areas as part of our upgrading program, thanks once again for the feed back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

the hotel was fine except they decided to paint something in the corrider very hot weather and the smell of wet paint..........the experience regarding my meal was unreal ordered salmon but sea bass was brought instead.....and I was told I had ordered that.....then told they were out of salmon......and then told they had one left....( mines no doubt ) got my salmon..this did not surprise me as we had booked the table and arrived to find the staff unhelpful and had to clear stuff away before we could sit down

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faretara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We do not usually do any painting on a hot summers day for the very reason you have said, however there was an unavoidable situation that needed an immediate paint job that day of your visit, so I must apologies to you for the inconvenience. With regard to the service you received in our restaurant I can only ask you to please accept my apologies for the experience, and also to thank you for the feedback, because through such responses as yours we can make sure this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on a DBB package costing £169 per person. We had been spoiled by a similar package at the Nethy Bridge hotel prior to this, so although it was still good value, it didn't have the same appeal as Nethy Bridge. (They are part of the same group) Things were not quite so personal and we didn't see a manager ( that was visible as such anyway) not that the staff were not pleasant, they were, but some of there conversation was a bit like call centre information handlers, rather than individual guests! Food was good, but sometimes staff struggled to keep up an efficient service when the dining room was full.
The price included a very enjoyable trip on Loch Linhe, worth £15 per person. Rooms were a good size and clean, as was the bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask about level access if you need it as, even though there was a lift, there was still a few steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for posting your experience with Tripadvisor. It is a good point that you have brought up regarding the visibility of the managers on duty, I will be addressing this with our management team. Admittedly with Robert at Nethybridge Hotel, it is a hard act to follow, but we shall do our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#12 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Property: Alexandra Hotel
Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing