We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed on a recent weekend visit with some Friends. The hotel is situated right in the centre of FT William and offers a great location to get out and explore. Adequate parking is also available despite its town centre location. The hotel was slightly old fashioned in its décor and appearance but perhaps added to the charm of the place. The reception staff were helpful and offer a warm welcome. The rooms are basic yet adequate and the restaurant offered good hearty Scottish food at a reasonable price. The breakfast buffet was excellent and very fresh. Perhaps slightly on the expensive side for the duration of the stay, however overall a good experience in a nice, clean and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mansionman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking time out to write a review. We are in the process of upgrading the décor through our refurbishment program, but as you mentioned we will still keep the old world charm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
There are newer reviews for Alexandra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

i went there tuesday the 15 th of july 2014 and went into bar.although staff were going about i waited five minutes to be served and ordered two drinks and enquired as to wether they just did bar snacks or meals as well.blonde haired bar assistant said just snacks then said oh no we have a full menu i said great next thing she had forgot my kind of bear and i had to remind her and she said is that all i said no iordered a smirnoff ice and she went to get it and gave my change and walked away so i took drinks to table thinking the full meal menu would soon be coming to my table.foolish thought as she went away and did other things instead and i waited on menu for a while then made up mind she was not coming back with the menu drank my drink and left to go find somewhere else to eat.not even a goodbye from staff.i put our glasses on bar and left as i was not as ignorant as she was and i know i will never return to this hotel.they need to supply full menu in bar as well if available and not just walk away from someone who enquired for meals.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

I do most sincerely apologise for the extremely bad service that you received from our bar staff, and believe me I will make sure that this sort of thing does not happen again. I do, however, thank you very much for brining your experience to my attention, as through feedback such as yours will only help us improve our service to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Only used the restaurant. The food was ok (wife's chicken was tasteless) however the service was so slow it was unreal. It wasn't particularly busy so there was no excuse. We waited ages for our plates to be cleared then ages again for the desert menu. Wouldn't dine here again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Firstly please let me apologise for your experience in the restaurant, I do agree with you in that there is no excuse, and I have already dealt with the issue of your waiting for service, it will not happen again, I am just sorry that it has been your experience. It is through such feedback such as yours that I can take action of where we let our guests down, and for this I thank you for your taking time out to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed at Alexandra Hotel for a weekend climbing Ben Nevis. Lovely old building, friendly staff and comfortable room. It was also immaculately clean with attention to detail. It's your standard kind of hotel but does what it does very well and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you Stephen, for your kind comments, we appreciate the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My tea was served cold at breakfast, and no one apologised!. Good hot showers, rooms dated. For me this hotel did not offer as good value for money as the 2 star stayed at the following night, that included a sea view.

Room Tip: Inside rooms have no view, face on to windows directly opposite.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Vivienogden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights, reception staff friendly and helpful. Room was ok, a bit tired looking but had everything I needed. Dinner was fine, reasonable choice. Breakfast was really good, help yourself buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TeamleaderScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A discount card at our guest house tipped us off about the restaurant at the Alexandra Hotel. The hotel car park was full, but we found a space at the public car park opposite without any problem.

The restaurant had a slightly dated feel to it, but that actually worked in its favour. We were sat at a booth and had our drinks served promptly while we perused the ample menu. A water jug was brought as a matter of course.

Our meals were delicious: a creamy chicken and haggis dish and three meaty lamb chops. And a moreish cheesecake as afters. The service was excellent, like an old-fashioned tearoom and even without the discount it was excellent value for money and a very welcome change to the faceless chains.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
576 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
717 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: £75 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing