We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May 2014”
Review of Croit Anna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Croit Anna Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed at the Croit Anna out of necessity rather than choice being unable to book into my usual hotel in walking distance of Fort William town centre. The hotel is the the farthest away from the town on the A82 to the south which should be borne in mind if staying here, a car is a necessity to visit the town .

I found the hotel clean and comfortable if appearing a little tired and in need of updating.
( Who else puts sheets AND blankets on a bed still ? ) . The restaurant however does need some attention to detail. On more than one morning glasses for the fruit juice were not properly clean and the staff while pleasant did appear less than enthusiastic.

For food I can only comment on breakfast, and this is one area that needs looking at - Breakfast is obviously pre-prepared and kept warm for catering for coach parties on fixed dining times - the result is a quickly delivered meal, edible but much at the opposite end of the spectrum to master chef; In a full breakfast sausages and black pudding in particular were over hard and beans - well you had to look hard to find them.

The room was well cleaned and tidied daily but here again some attention to detail is needed. If I stayed on three separate nights the shower gel provided would be new each night, so why not for three consecutive nights ?. And attention to detail - the bathroom extractor fan would benefit from having the accumulated dust extracted from it.

Was it a bad experience - well no, just lacking a little fine detail at the edges and it was a good deal. But you do come away with the feeling that the hotel is happy to survive on repeat business from tour operators that it doesn't have to work hard for .

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view of Loch Linnhe - ask if you specifically want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have just come back from a coach holiday with alfa travel where we stayed at the Croit Anna. The hotel itself is not the best we have stayed at but the price we payed we were pleased with the standard.

Negatives; The food can be a bit hit and miss and the standard of entertainment is pretty dire.

Positives; Our room was clean and warm with a sofa and a balcony. The one thing about this hotel is it's staff, they are excellent and nothing is too much trouble.

A special mention has to go to Tony the waiter, I told him that I was going to put him on tripadvisor if he kept getting my order wrong. He really is one of the nicest people you could wish to meet and treats everyone young and old with the same jovial manner, top bloke.

Room Tip: If you need a triple room ask for 103 it is enormous with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hels08WestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This place was very cheap and I was pleasantly surprised at the decent standard. The corridors were a bit run down however room was nice and clean nice big bathroom. Very friendly staff. Only other criticism is that I arrived at the same time as a coach party so had to wait quite a while to check in. Would definitely recommend if travelling on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scotislander123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

It very well kept and tide the staff was very friendly. the meal where good. It was 3 mils out of fort William the bussed run just outside the hotel. it had good view over loch. I would stay there if I go back to fort William.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Spent the weekend here for an reunion. Staff were superb,especially Jason behind the bar. Rooms were clean and comfortable and had obviously been refurbished . I recommend room 6' super walk in shower,beautiful view of the Loch. Ground floor ,so would suit disabled. Breakfast was good,full table service. Evening meals were a bit hit and miss,mostly over cooked and not much choice of veg. Rear rooms are built back into the hill,not much in the way of a view. Worth paying extra for front view rooms. For the price excellent hotel

Room Tip: Room 6,large room,walk in shower and view of the lochs n hills from the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrisrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Went on an organised trip to this hotel - what can I say? Well the staff bent - not just over backwards - but every way possible to help with any query our group had. . The Food I ate was wonderful and plentiful, so no going hungry for me. My room was immaculately clean on my arrival and when I was about the Hotel in the Mornings I did not see a member of housekeeping - they must have secret passageways as the room was tended without me even seeing them ( well done Housekeeping). The Bar Staff were always smiling and very polite - even when strange drinks were ordered ( well done Jason). I would strongly recommend this Hotel to anybody visiting Fort William - I just wish I could have stayed an extra night - WELL DONE CROIT ANNA xxxxx

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tanya h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Spent a week at croit Anna firstly as part of alpha coach trip and then weekend was a reunion of ex army ladies it is clean comfortable and the staff are attentive and friendly throughout your stay it is also clean and comfortable with plenty of views over loch linnie if you get a room at the front . Breakfast was great every day plenty of choices and hot on arrival . I thoroughly enjoyed my stay it isn't 5 star but then you are paying very little money for your stay . It's a great place to access this lovely area and I will certainly be returning in the future

Room Tip: Front facing room overlook the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brownleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.3 mi away
Bay Caledonian Hotel
Bay Caledonian Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
595 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,014 reviews
2.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#6 of 21 in Fort William
889 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
3.0 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croit Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croit Anna Hotel

Address: Achintore Road | Drimarben, Fort William PH33 6RR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: £30 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Croit Anna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Croit Anna Hotel - Fort William [3 Alpha & AA Three Star] Situated on the shores of Loche Linnhe, three miles from the centre of Fort William, with spectacular views across the loch from all of the public rooms and most of the bedrooms, the Croit Anna offers a comfortable and friendly base in which to relax. 92 bedrooms with central heating and/or individual electric heating, bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. There is a panoramic lounge, two bars, terrace and entertainment most evenings. No lift but ground floor rooms available on request. Extensive car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Croit Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croit Anna Fort William
Anna Croit Hotel
Hotel Croit Anna
Croit Anna Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing