We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Have Been So Much Better”
Review of Croit Anna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Croit Anna Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed 7 nights at the Croit Anna with Alfa Travel. It was our first experience with Alfa and we were unsure what to expect. We are used to Shearings and have actually stayed at their hotel, The Caledonian, just up the road. Overall it was an enjoyable stay at the Croit Anna but it could have been so much better.
The location on the edge of Loch Linnhe affords some magnificent views and our Loch view room allowed us to take full advantage. The 2 ¼ mile walk into Fort William kept us fit and we only had to resort to a taxi (£6) once because of the rain; although the hourly bus service is cheaper at £2 it is not very reliable. The hotel was quite a friendly place and our room (40) was quiet, comfortable and pleasant enough. The luggage handlers deserve special praise for their speed and efficiency.
Although we had an enjoyable week and the food was generally very good there were a few culinary lows particularly the cremated Yorkshire pudding and the tough, inedible roast beef which was served to us on the first day. Vegetables tended to be good the exception being the parsnips which had to have the black bits cut out of them and the green chewy leek leaves. Being served one day with milk that was ‘on the turn’ at breakfast and then again at tea was a bit disconcerting. Starters and puddings were very good and the Lasagne served as a Chef’s special was outstanding.
The service in the restaurant was overall good if at times annoying it was initially a matter of collaring someone or catching someone’s eye but it improved when we were assigned our own waitress. The most annoying aspect of the service was at breakfast when only fruit juice was self service. I do not know of another hotel where you have to wait to be served with cereal and then as a consequence always having to ask for more milk. On the last day with only 45 minutes allowed for breakfast before the coach was leaving it took 30 minutes to serve cereal, tea and toast

Room Tip: A Loch View is well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drjohn030151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed last week with an Alpha tour. I had a single room which was clean but basic.The breakfast was OK but small portions. The evening meals are obviouslycosted out as cheaply as possible again with very small portions . The food was not very good. The hotel is very dated and in need of redecorating especially along the corridors.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I was due to stay at this hotel with a party of Three Peaks Challengers. There was an issue with the reservation which, in all fairness, was in no way down to the hotel but the way in which it was handled was appalling, the young man could barely avert his gaze from the wonders of his computer, while the lady with black hair had made an art form of disinterested rudeness. The party had called ahead to enquire about food, and it took several attempts to get through, only to be told that 'your sort' wouldn't like the food in the restaurant as it is 'coach' food (perhaps Alfa Tours customers could enlighten further?). As the hotel is over two miles out of town, no advice could be offered as to where 'our sort' might be able to eat. The Guide asked for a weather update, which every other Fort William hotel is happy to provide, and was told 'rain'. From my short experience of abrupt apathy and the rather dated decor, I am glad I did have to make other arrangements (after a ten hour drive). If you want legendary Highland hospitality keep driving past this sitcom hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
6  Thank 101SteveE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeronicaGorman, Guest Relations Manager at Croit Anna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

I am sorry that you found the service to be so poor. However, I understand that when you phoned to book a table for dinner you were told that the dining room would not be open at the time you required as it closes at 8pm. It was explained to you that our main business is coach tours and we offer a table d’hote menu not a’la carte. The guide was given a printed weather report which stated “Rain” and other details such as visibility. The fact that the company you work for had booked you into a twin room sharing with the guide, was not the hotel’s fault. They could not offer you a single room as there were none available and your company would not pay for a double room for sole use. Hence you decided not to stay. However, the rest of the group did stay and enjoyed themselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed here for 1 night during my tour of western highlands. Fort William is the place which is frequented by tourists who are on excursion to Ben Nevis or who want to further explore the highlands up north.
The booking done through booking.com was good. The hotel is located somewhat outside Fort William town (2 miles). The check in was smooth with a very sweet, polite and helpful lady at the front desk.
But all my excitement went for a toss when I saw the hotel interiors and the room. The room was small..tiny infact. The rooms overlook a mountain on one side and loch linhe on other. If your room overlooks the loch, you have view to die for but if its the mountain then its very creepy.
The lobbey was looking haunted maybe because the hotel was not full when I went there. But if its not even half full on a saturday in high season then I cannot even think of going there during weekdays in winters. All the lights were working and so much of waste of electricity for so few people was bit odd. Extra heater was provided on request by lady at the reception.
Breakfast was good and again service was excellent, the staff is really good.
The hotel though looks like it have seen better days. It needs a uplift urgently. The staff is really nice, views are nice for front view rooms and so on but only thing needs is upliftment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siddhesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our stay at the hotel in May went very smoothly, thanks to the friendly and accommodating staff. We were in Fort William to hike up Ben Nevis for Great Ormond St. Hospital, and Clare went out of her way to help us. Also special thanks to Dave as well. We would wholeheartedly recommend the hotel to all.
Many thanks to everyone at Croit Anna!

Room Tip: Loch View rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

from start to finnish our stay at the hotel was excellent it is not in the centre of fort William but it can be walked in about 40-50 minutes but you will be walking along the edge of the loch so the walk is interesting,the hotel staff are very helpful and polite the food served at meals was both varied and served very promptly,the hotel does not have a lift to any of the floors but the cases
are taken up to your room when you arrive and taken back down to your coach when you leave
the views from the loch facing rooms are stunning,the hotel has a small terrace at the front where you can sit and have a drink from the bar and take in the awesome view,
I would not hesitate staying at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: ask when booking for a loch facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a lovely 4 night self drive stay at this hotel. Staff all friendly and food as expected at a Leisureplex Hotel. Ample carparking. Room was lovely with a fantastic view of the loch. Definitely worth paying the extra for. Rooms at the back have no view to speak of. We were aware that there is no lift but a few stairs are no problem for us and it is 3 miles into town which would be a very lovely walk but we had our car anyway.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view. If you don't do stairs get a ground floor room as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank theoloyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.3 mi away
Bay Caledonian Hotel
Bay Caledonian Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
614 reviews
3 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
616 reviews
5.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,085 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,034 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croit Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croit Anna Hotel

Address: Achintore Road | Drimarben, Fort William PH33 6RR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: £49 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Croit Anna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Croit Anna Hotel - Fort William [3 Alpha & AA Three Star] Situated on the shores of Loche Linnhe, three miles from the centre of Fort William, with spectacular views across the loch from all of the public rooms and most of the bedrooms, the Croit Anna offers a comfortable and friendly base in which to relax. 92 bedrooms with central heating and/or individual electric heating, bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. There is a panoramic lounge, two bars, terrace and entertainment most evenings. No lift but ground floor rooms available on request. Extensive car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Croit Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croit Anna Fort William
Anna Croit Hotel
Hotel Croit Anna
Croit Anna Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing