We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lime Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lime Tree
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed here after finishing the WHW. Room was at the top of the hotel and was very nice, though some small criticisms. The bathroom mirror was only suitable for very short people and one of the lights in the room was wired to the communal lights in the hall, which caused a bit of a fright when it was switched on at midnight!
We ate in the restaurant which was very, very nice. Breakfast in the morning was also good, with an excellent choice, though they had no bread when we stayed!
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    121
    47
    41
    18
See reviews for
63
271
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
240 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

I suggested The Lime Tree to a family of 12 American visitors. I was the tour guide and organiser of their Scottish vacation. They could not praise the place enough, the ambiance, staff, location and the best breakfasts and dinner they had during their week long stay in Scotland.Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackfaceewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We were on a short trip to see the western Isles as Fort William is an ideal base to explore the Highlands. We were pleased the owner was so knowledgeable about the area and he really helped us get the most out our short stay.
We were so pleased we had not checked reviews on trip advisor before the visit as we might have been put off by some negative reviews.We regularly eat out at Michelin starred restaurants and found the meal outstanding. It really showcased Scottish fine food and drink- locally sourced. !It was wonderful right through from the start from the amuse-bouche- delicious!............to the starter of lavender smoked trout to the main course to gorgeous desserts with home made ice cream..Even the vegetarian in our group was thoroughly satisfied by her chicken in the wood(wild mushrooms in filo basket) We had to find room for the local cheeses and dessert wine and island whiskeys-too good to miss out . We really appreciated the total experience in the old Manse with well picked art - not the usual bland scenery type paintings . Im going to buy some from the website,and we would love to return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the views over the Loch. Do ask the owner or staff about things to do and se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jedyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Stayed in room 4 £120 per night, had dinner on the first night which was excellent with really good staff. The room itself was ok however the bathroom had some major issues. The plug in the sink was broken and someone had a tied some cotton through the top instead of replacing, the toilet brush is the worse I have ever sen,e there was black mold round the shower door..... When I complained I was told a previous guest had said the same. Whilst the view was stunning I would never return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsC011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limetree0, Owner at The Lime Tree, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
Thank you for your comments. Attention to detail is important to us, and we have reviewed the points made with our excellent housekeeping team to ensure we retain the highest standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

We had a wonderful, relaxing time in Ft. William after several days of very busy sightseeing in Edinburgh, driving to Invergarry, Isle of Skye and back. Knowing we would be tired and not wanting to drive or walk anywhere for dinner (weather turned out to be quite chilly and rainy) , we chose the Lime Tree due to the good reviews of the on-site restaurant. Upon arrival the front desk was very helpful and accommodating as we asked to see the rooms first. Our King Bed room was spacious and the bathroom large with great shower. I would suggest more lighting in there though. The owner, David, was very helpful in suggesting hikes, and the inroom suggestions as to things to do & restaurants was very helpful also. The Lime Tree Restaurant was wonderful, very charming, with helpful wait people, and very fresh food.. The bar selections were adequate although the bar didn't seem to have much selection as to mixed drinks. We absolutely loved the two front rooms with the fireplaces, a great way to relax with an afternoon glass of wine and/or a good book. Even though we had to leave earlier than breakfast to catch the train in Edinburgh, David made arrangements to see that we were fed before leaving. We would love to do more hiking in the area and would stay again at the Lime Tree, which we found to be delightful and a good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarlandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Stayed at this hotel to walk Ben Nevis with a couple of friends. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel owner had a fantastic knowledge of local area. After a long day walking it was lovely to come back to an open fire and a cocktail. We ate in the restaurant where the food was of a very high standard. Had to leave early next day so cant comment on breakfast but hotel did provide very good takeaway bacon rolls. Good base for walking in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reedfamilyboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Inital feeling was great, but had to ask for towels. A closer look suggested the room needed a good dusting and the holes in the wall where the tv shelf had been moved filled. Six bulbs in the vanity might have shown too many wrinkles but alas only one worked. Banging doors and wooden floors and guests leaving early meant sleep after six was impossible. BUT the breakfast was exceptional, food alsolutely superb and surrounded by orginal paintings from the onsite art gallery.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.9 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
3.1 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lime Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lime Tree

Property: The Lime Tree
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fort William
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lime Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lime Tree in the 1850 former Church Manse, is a 3 star Small Hotel, a fantastic Art Gallery and arts studio and an award winning fresh food Restaurant AA Two Rosette and Silver Eat Scotland Award overlooking Loch Linnhe in the centre of Fort William - the 'Outdoor Capital of the UK.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lime Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lime Tree Hotel Fort William
Lime Tree Fort William
Lime Tree Hotel Fort William
The Lime Tree Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing