We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
Review of The Lime Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lime Tree
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We recently stayed in the family room at the Lime Tree. Very spacious, super clean and great bath facilities. It is very convenient to the train station and we were able to walk to restaurants and shops. The setting on the loch is beautiful. Breakfast was wonderful and the staff very friendly and helpful in giving us directions and advise on sightseeing. All this and great value too. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NashMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    125
    48
    41
    18
See reviews for
63
281
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed here while walking the West Highland Way. This was obviously our last stop and it was a real treat to end in such style. Wonderfully appointed room with an amazing en suit bathroom. We absolutely loved it!

(We booked this as part of a package deal for the entire walk, so can't really comment on value of the room.)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojofc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Would definitely recommend and return to this delightful hotel. We stayed in spacious modern rooms-- rooms 6 to 9 are in new wing-- and had lovely spacious modern bathroom. Both small lounges downstairs are charming with welcoming open fires and open views to Fort William's sea loch. Lovely modern dining room with excellent cuisine at fair prices is next to another small sitting room next to the art gallery. Very central location for walking to town centre and sea loch front.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 to 9 recommended but rooms in old manse house will have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShonaWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My husband & I stayed one night of our honeymoon trip here. We had a lovely view of the Loch from our room. The room & bathroom was big and spacious. The decor was just right. The staff was very helpful & friendly in the morning during breakfast. You had a choice of cooked breakfast in addition to the continental buffet .

The Lime Tree is a 5-10 minute walk to downtown Fort William.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jckinlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed one night as a treat after a week in a nearby cottage, climbing Munros. On the plus side, the staff were friendly and helpful, the bed very comfortable, the view over the loch stunning and the food of a generally high standard. However, if you are sensitive to traffic noise, then avoid a room at the front, as the hotel is just off a roundabout on the A82, so suffers from the constant noise of lorries, buses and cars acc/decelerating. Our room was a little worn at the edges, suggesting that more attention needs to be paid to upkeep. Whilst the food is well prepared and presented, as you would expect given the chef's credentials, the menu is rather limited and somewhat unexciting and appeared to be largely the same as the 'sample' menu in the bedroom, suggesting that it is not refreshed as often as it should be. The staff seemed a little uncoordinated and the restaurant lacked a Maitre D to make things happen. The wine list was also somewhat limited, especially for those who only want a glass - a wider range and an expert to guide would help. At the price, too many corners were cut at breakfast, such as offering concentrated OJ and only one egg. And where was the homemade sourdough bread that much is made of at dinner? The gallery is an interesting addition, but one wonders whether this is somewhat of a distraction, leading the proprietor to take his eye off the core business of a hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preludeandfugue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at The Lime Tree for two nights at the end of July, 2011 with another couple. The rooms we were given, in a previous century, would have served as the attic. There is no lift, and one could not walk up the stairs easily with luggage owing to the need for genuflection to navigate the reduced head room in the staircase. The beds are not comfortable. The water pipes behave as if they are bagpipes when the faucets are opened. The breakfast was disappointing, causing us to cancel our dinner reservation at the hotel. We didn't think the "abuse bouche" of the morning would successfully change into the advertised "amuse bouche" for the evening. The rooms have a musty smell, and there is an overall dour feel to the place. It is, however, nicely located for access to other restaurants and hotels.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DJRElevenEleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ealdhain, Owner at The Lime Tree, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay, and sorry we didn't have the opportunity to put things right for you. The rooms at the top floor of the Victorian manse, the main building at The Lime Tree are very popular with guests - enjoying great views. The curving staircase is an orginal feature on which many guests comment favourably! There are many photographs on trip advisor and the our own website, so hopefully readers can see all about The Lime Tree. And we are very proud that we have been featured in the The Good Food Guide 2012, so we are naturally disappointed to hear that you didn't take dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed in The Lime Tree taking 2 rooms for 2 nights (family of 5) and walked up Ben Nevis on the 2nd day. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and cannot understand some of the previous negative comments. Location is good as it is just on the edge of town so is easy to walk to the shops. Rooms well appointed, not top notch luxury but everything worked ... including hot water (see earlier comment). The lounge areas downstairs and the art gallery are a real plus for a hotel of this size. The full Scottish breakfast was well cooked and presented as were all the other breakfast options that we chose between us! Lovely touches such as home made jams for breakfast. One minor point maybe just try fresh orange juice rather than cartoned.
We also eat in the restaurant and had to ask for our table to be delayed by an hour due to taking longer to come down the mountain, but the staff were very accommodating and it casued no problem. The food was great, locally sourced (I had salmon from Loch Linney just outside the window!), well cooked and presented. The starters and mains were exceptional, however my banoffee desert was a bit too creamy for me.
Would definitely recommend, David and his team made us very welcome and it's nice to get the owner serving breakfast who can also advise on walking the mountains.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.9 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
3.1 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lime Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lime Tree

Property: The Lime Tree
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fort William
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lime Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lime Tree in the 1850 former Church Manse, is a 3 star Small Hotel, a fantastic Art Gallery and arts studio and an award winning fresh food Restaurant AA Two Rosette and Silver Eat Scotland Award overlooking Loch Linnhe in the centre of Fort William - the 'Outdoor Capital of the UK.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Lime Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lime Tree Hotel Fort William
Lime Tree Fort William
Lime Tree Hotel Fort William
The Lime Tree Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing