We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wish we had more time here!”
Review of The Lime Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lime Tree
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

What a lovely, lovely Inn. Staff were friendly and informative and we were quickly checked in and shown to our 3rd floor room. The bed was VERY comfortable and the room was spacious and when we woke for our very first Scottish rainy day, we clearly wanted to snuggle in, but we had a train to catch. Breakfast was delicious and again, our waitstaff was lovely. We actually wish we had booked dinner at the Inn, as the menu looked lovely, but chose to make the most of our night by walking around town (and we also ended up with a crappy dinner too), should have listened! When we had come in from our walk the night before, I went to the restaurant to see if we could get dessert and coffee in one of the beautiful front rooms in the Inn and they happily obliged. This Inn has 2 beautiful common rooms for lounging. I would HIGHLY recommend the Lime Tree, its a great location (be sure to walk along Lock Eil) and we wish we had more time to spend here so we could have enjoyed their dining establishment, next time we will!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridgton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Excellent location near the town centre, but far enough out to avoid any noisy comings and goings. Our room, No.4, was large and had great views over the loch, the bed was comfy and the bathroom spacious. Good shower!
We dined in the restaurant and had excellent food. I think maybe some of the waiting staff were in training but they were charming and the food itself was imaginative and beautifully presented. Barley risotto - in Fort William!! When I ordered that the waitress asked if I was vegetarian and I got a special vegetarian amuse bouche, which was a nice touch.
The hotel is not cheap but you get what you pay for and this was very good value for money. This is the standard I'd expect in Edinburgh or Glasgow.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We booked the Lime Tree following TA reviews so feel we should highlight our experience.

Firstly our welcome was totally underwhelming from the young lady at reception, no real interaction. She asked whether we wanted dinner that evening, I informed her that we had already made a reservation and she assured us that we had not.

The location of the hotel is great for walking into town. The room was clean and quite spacious as was the bathroom ( the towels are very small ). Dinner was superb but once agin no real Interaction from the young waiting staff.

We didn't sleep well as the room does not appear to have any soundproofing. We arrived at breakfast with 30 minutes to spare but had to request items that had had not been replenished at the buffet.

We checked out after our second night after going on line and finding a lovely friendly B&B. On check out a different young girl asked if everything was okay, I replied "not really" and she didn't respond to my answer but instead asked whether I would like to include a gratuity to my bill.

I have to point out that the ladies who make up the rooms were lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RPartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The room had low ceilings and a soft bed. The bathroom had a tiny basin with tiny mirror at stomach height. The bath/shower had intermittent hot water in the morning which made it quite unpleasant. Dinner was really nice but breakfast average at best.
Wireless connection working in some parts of the hotel only.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Granduelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We have eaten here 3 times now, and the food gets better! Initially the restaurant seemed to have on one member of staff working and the receptionist was helping out. This did not retract from the service we received it meant that we had a slightly longer wait to give our order. For us, that meant time to chat and to relax (just travelled for 8 and a half hours!). The amuse bouche was superb and Chef catered for my dietary needs beautifully. The wine was nicely chilled and the meal tasted delightful. YES we will be returning next year! Good food, good ambiance and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Clowny45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed @ The Lime Tree for 3 nights - Twin room with Mum.
Lovely room :-) / great breakfast / lovely lounge for relaxing in evening.
Staff great and breakfast serivce very efficient.
Would recommend for a romantic break.
Very close to the town - 15mins walk to bus station.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornhollio_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Room was light, airy and had views to the loch.
The hotel which is also an art gallery is lovely with staff very accommodating.
The food is good. Scallops were delicious, lobster also good, but a very small one!
Would recommend the hotel although expensive per night. Perhaps it's the supply and demand that causes the cost, although fabulous hotels in both NY & London cost similar prices!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiltshireLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.9 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
587 reviews
3.1 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
565 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lime Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lime Tree

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fort William
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: £79 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lime Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lime Tree in the 1850 former Church Manse, is a 3 star Small Hotel, a fantastic Art Gallery and arts studio and an award winning fresh food Restaurant AA Two Rosette and Silver Eat Scotland Award overlooking Loch Linnhe in the centre of Fort William - the 'Outdoor Capital of the UK.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lime Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lime Tree Hotel Fort William
Lime Tree Fort William
Lime Tree Hotel Fort William
The Lime Tree Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing