We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an awesome place to stay in Fort Bill.”
Review of The Lime Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lime Tree
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is an awesome place to stay in Fort Bill.”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Great mix of style, art, great food and comfort. We arrived in Fort William late in the day and luckily stumbled on the Lime Tree. It's a really interesting building and out stay was great. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therannoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    127
    48
    41
    18
See reviews for
63
286
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A very trendy and nice bed and breakfast. The rooms were cosy and very comfortable. The owner has mixed hospitality with art and we ended up buying one of his paintings. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is located just at the centre of town which is perfect if u like to take walks. The waterside is just in front. The only improvement oppurtunity would be to put a proper blackout blind for the roof window on top of the bed. I woke up at 6am because of the light...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband booked this hotel because he was intrigued that they had an art gallery in the lobby. There is also an award winning restaurant where we ate the night we checked in. The food, ambiance and service was great. I loved the Carrot & Coriander soup (that was part of the amuse bouche) so much that I asked for the recipe. When we checked out the next day, they gave it to us, nicely printed on their letterhead.

The room was comfortable, bathroom was nice and clean and the location was beautiful, just up from the Loch and right down from the pedestrian street where there is lots of shopping and pubs. If you're going to, or through, Ft. William, this is definitely worth checking out.

Room Tip: Eat dinner at their restaurant, but make reservations. It's great food at an incredible price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraGhigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Room 9 - 2 large, very, very comfortable double beds and a huge bathroom with brilliant large headed shower. If you were looking for a quibble, the room is a bit narrow, there are some strangely placed beams and there's no view to talk of. But if you want views, go outside. In summary, the room is really nicely done out. The hotel was full and while we heard people in the corridor going to their room, there was no noise from adjacent rooms while we were there.

We had dinner in the restaurant, where their stated aim is to use fresh, local ingredients, well cooked at a reasonable price. Achieved by the bucket load. The menu featured interesting combinations (but nothing outlandish) and the food was beautifully cooked and presented. Halibut went down particularly well. priced at £30 for 3 courses there's no quibbles re the value. The evening restaurant staff were friendly and nicely attentive.

Breakfast is also cooked to order, with a much more interesting breakfast menu that the usual full Scottish. The young girl doing breakfast service was less engaging that the evening staff - seemed a little unsure of what she was doing and had to double up and do our check out too.

It would be great if there was wifi available throughout the hotel to check weather forecasts etc but overall I think this is great little hotel (and after my 3rd visit, I'm surprised by some of the more negative reviews. We have stayed in the older part of the hotel and room was much smaller but really charming).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

What a lovely, lovely Inn. Staff were friendly and informative and we were quickly checked in and shown to our 3rd floor room. The bed was VERY comfortable and the room was spacious and when we woke for our very first Scottish rainy day, we clearly wanted to snuggle in, but we had a train to catch. Breakfast was delicious and again, our waitstaff was lovely. We actually wish we had booked dinner at the Inn, as the menu looked lovely, but chose to make the most of our night by walking around town (and we also ended up with a crappy dinner too), should have listened! When we had come in from our walk the night before, I went to the restaurant to see if we could get dessert and coffee in one of the beautiful front rooms in the Inn and they happily obliged. This Inn has 2 beautiful common rooms for lounging. I would HIGHLY recommend the Lime Tree, its a great location (be sure to walk along Lock Eil) and we wish we had more time to spend here so we could have enjoyed their dining establishment, next time we will!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Excellent location near the town centre, but far enough out to avoid any noisy comings and goings. Our room, No.4, was large and had great views over the loch, the bed was comfy and the bathroom spacious. Good shower!
We dined in the restaurant and had excellent food. I think maybe some of the waiting staff were in training but they were charming and the food itself was imaginative and beautifully presented. Barley risotto - in Fort William!! When I ordered that the waitress asked if I was vegetarian and I got a special vegetarian amuse bouche, which was a nice touch.
The hotel is not cheap but you get what you pay for and this was very good value for money. This is the standard I'd expect in Edinburgh or Glasgow.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We booked the Lime Tree following TA reviews so feel we should highlight our experience.

Firstly our welcome was totally underwhelming from the young lady at reception, no real interaction. She asked whether we wanted dinner that evening, I informed her that we had already made a reservation and she assured us that we had not.

The location of the hotel is great for walking into town. The room was clean and quite spacious as was the bathroom ( the towels are very small ). Dinner was superb but once agin no real Interaction from the young waiting staff.

We didn't sleep well as the room does not appear to have any soundproofing. We arrived at breakfast with 30 minutes to spare but had to request items that had had not been replenished at the buffet.

We checked out after our second night after going on line and finding a lovely friendly B&B. On check out a different young girl asked if everything was okay, I replied "not really" and she didn't respond to my answer but instead asked whether I would like to include a gratuity to my bill.

I have to point out that the ladies who make up the rooms were lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RPartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.9 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
3.1 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
521 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lime Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lime Tree

Property: The Lime Tree
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fort William
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lime Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lime Tree in the 1850 former Church Manse, is a 3 star Small Hotel, a fantastic Art Gallery and arts studio and an award winning fresh food Restaurant AA Two Rosette and Silver Eat Scotland Award overlooking Loch Linnhe in the centre of Fort William - the 'Outdoor Capital of the UK.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Lime Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lime Tree Hotel Fort William
Lime Tree Fort William
Lime Tree Hotel Fort William
The Lime Tree Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing