We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of The Lime Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lime Tree
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We stayed at the Lime Tree after hiking the West Highland Way. Great way to end the walk. Warm and relaxing atmosphere. Great service, newly finished rooms with old character. Love this place! Would recommend and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MtnFlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2010

Only stayed for one night passing through, but they were very helpful in arranging my late night arrival and the room and bathroom especially were very good as was breakfast. Not the very best I've had and not cheap, but very good all round.

I know the Scottish are careful with their money but I still think they could have put the heating on in my room, it was freezing! Bed and blanket warm though.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justplainoldmeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

As soon as I walked in to The Lime Tree, I knew it was my kind of place. Warm colours, comfy sofas, lots of good art on the walls(even an art gallery) and a great menu. Our basic room was quite expensive compared to others in Scotland but it was spacious and comfortable. We had a great view over the loch which we could enjoy from the window seat.My only gripe was that the shower started off like a water canon then finished up a dribble.
Great dinner and breakfast from a restaurant run by an excellent chef.The atmosphere was friendly and the small lounges encouraged pre and post dinner conversation with fellow guests.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurofoodieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

After walking the West Highland Way this stay was the perfect reward. The rooms spacious but cosy and very comfortable. The staff were very cheerful and helpful but the exceptional part of our stay were the meals particularly our dinner which was of a very high standard. The art gallery was a nice funky touch and the location was ideal right at the end of High Street - the official end of the West Highland Way. I would highly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strawz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Arrived and stayed one night in driving rain - not doing the hotel any favours. Staff friendly, nice gallery, bedroom, not quite the boutique hotel we expected from the website, lots of orange stained pine, bathroom, clean but a little tired.
Over all, a good hotel but a little pricy and not what we had expected from the website.
Restaurant - ok but overpriced, the food was nice enough - apart from the canapes
had we not expected so much would not have been disapointed.
Nice lounge with fire - very cosy

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Lime Tree earlier this year just for five days but we will definitely go again and stay for longer. The accommodation is more than adequate - lovely comfortable beds and en suite bathrooms. The restaurant serves excellent food and their "One Eyed Breakfast" sets you up for the day! David's gallery is very interesting and has some unusual exhibits. Their cosy lounges with real coal fires are great to come back to after a day's walking. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antibesforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

I stayed at the Lime Tree with my boyfriend and my parents. The rooms are really cosy and ours had great views. The staff were welcoming and really friendly/helpful. We ate in the restaurant and it was a real treat, amazing food! The breakfast was delicious, loads of choice. It was a great start to our Scottish holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stella412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.9 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
624 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
750 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
635 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lime Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lime Tree

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort William
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: £79 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lime Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lime Tree in the 1850 former Church Manse, is a 3 star Small Hotel, a fantastic Art Gallery and arts studio and an award winning fresh food Restaurant AA Two Rosette and Silver Eat Scotland Award overlooking Loch Linnhe in the centre of Fort William - the 'Outdoor Capital of the UK.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lime Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lime Tree Hotel Fort William
Lime Tree Fort William
Lime Tree Hotel Fort William
The Lime Tree Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing