We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5/5”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MacLean Guest House
Ranked #13 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5/5”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Excellent place to stay, absolutely wonderful, High class! Me and my lovely wife stayed there just for one night but enough to be amazed. Most definitely we will go back there on our very next Scotland Visit :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacek_S1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
91
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here two nights in September. Central location. Wonderful, helpful owners. Very clean and modern, and yes free WIFI right in the room. Breakfast was very good with great service. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill_traveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had an excellent overnight here after finishing the Great Glen walk. The accommodation has been equipped to a 5 star level with comfortable beds and a large bathroom with bath (much appreciated after 5 days of walking!) Everything was provided including hairdryer and extra pillows and the toiletries provided were superb quality. Only slight criticism was room noise - probably quieter at the back of the property but then perhaps no bath? Breakfast had an "American Diner" feel with the pictures on the menu but proved to be a hearty Scottish start to our long day of travel back south of the border. Mark and Brandi were so friendly and helpful and we were allowed to leave our bags in the hall until we were due to go to the bus station. If you visit Fort William then you should not hesitate to stay here - it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newlyretired644363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Excellent location - close to main high street, train station and Morrisons. Owners, Mark and Brandi, really friendly and very helpful - supplied a high chair for our baby and when we left our phone charger in our room were kind enough to post it first class to our home. Room spotlessly clean and well maintained. Bathrooms modern and excellent water pressure for shower. Breakfast tasty. What more could you want!?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKC101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
740 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 536 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The history of this B&B is interesting in itself; a native of Fort William returned to Scotland from Canada (bringing a charming Canadian wife with him) and built a brand new B&B next door to his parents' B&B. The owners have set themselves high standards, and have certainly achieved them. My room was well-equipped, with an excellent mattress, although slightly noisy as it was over-looking the main road. I had to catch an early train (the station is only about a 5 minute walk) and there was no difficulty in my having breakfast before the 'official' breakfast time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarum_Castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We booked this guest house at short notice, for a couple of days in order to climb Ben Nevis. The owners were very friendly and helpful.
The guest house was exceptionally clean and well cared for. The rooms were welcoming and had the feeling of home from home.
The breakfast each morning was gorgeous, having sampled the full English, the fruit and yoghurt and the smoked salmon and scrambled egg.
The guest house was within easy walking distance of the town centre, (about 4/5 minute walk).
Would highly recommend this guest house and would be more than happy to stay here again on a return trip to see more of the highlands.

Room Tip: Opt for a room at the rear of the guest house if possible, as this is quieter than the front locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobb1ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This B & B was amazing! I wish we could have had a room of this caliber our whole trip. Brandy has thought of everything. Our stay was very enjoyable and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Its all the little things that make a difference and this place was amazing! Great location in Fort William, super clean, beautifully decorated, large space, and fantastic breakfast. Brandy was very friendly and helpful and it was great to hear a North American accent up in Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#17 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#9 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacLean Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacLean Guest House

Property: MacLean Guest House
Address: Maclean House Belford Road, Fort William PH33 6BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located on Belford Road, the main street of Fort William, which makes walking to the city centre, train station, or Belford Hospital take only a mere five minutes. Whether you are looking for a cozy retreat with superior accommodations or simply a place to stay while passing through the area, our ultramodern rooms and complimentary hearty breakfast choices will provide you with the feeling that our guest house truly is our pride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your MacLean Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MacLean Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing