We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our unscheduled stop at glenlochy guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glenlochy Nevis Bridge Apartments
Reviewed 26 October 2006

I and my firend stopped here in Septemeber 2006 as part of a driving tour of the highlands. We wanted to climb Ben nevis and as the weather was poor the morning we arrived we decided to wait for clearer weather the next day(at the advice of the chap at the Glen Nevis visitor centre glad we heeded!)

So we set about finding a guest house for the night, we found Glenlochy pretty quickly as it is right by the River Nevis and after bieng shown the room by a friendly female meber of staff we were impressed with the price for what we were getting as breakfast was included.

After a night out in Fort William (lots of friendly people in the pubs) we came back and sat out in the gardens right by the rushing river nevis under the stars it was very nice indeed

All I can say is the room we stopped in was large, clean, warm and comfortable, the beds were very very comfy, We both slept very very well, and best of all the breakfast was spot on not pretentious or anything just good hearty grub and very nice too!
had more than one helping! (having stopped at some overpriced arty farty places this was just the ticket before a mountain hike!!)

as it happened we both wished we had stopped another night before our next leg over to edinburgh as we were both shattered after our climb of the Ben however I would recommend it to anyone just pick your day and start early in the morning! saw a lot of people starting up the mountain on our way down in the early evening!

All I can say is I would definately stop here again

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Furbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2006

A little disappointed with our stay here. The main problem we had was the poor soundproofing between the rooms. You could hear people talking next door although you couldn't quite make out the words.
Rooms are small; by the time you open your case and take a few things out there is nowhere to stand! However, they are clean.
Breakfast was reasonable.
Overall, it was a mediocre stay we had here and we are not going back.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aneesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Perth, Western Australia
14
Reviewed 3 May 2004

The best hotel we stayed in during our six week trip around the UK. Great location and great value for money. A relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Clean and comfortable rooms and fabulous breakfast.

We will definately be recommending Glenlochy Guest House to all our family and friends.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver, Canada
14
Reviewed 16 April 2004

We stayed in this guest house for two days in August of 2003. We stayed in one room the first night and another the second night. The first room we stayed in was too hot to sleep in. (It was a very hot week.) The bed was uncomfortable. The second room was damp and smelled moldy.
The bed sheets made me itch The bathrooms were extremely small and we could not get warm water to run in either shower -only full strength hot and full cold.On the plus side, breakfast was good and it was close enough to town to walk.We would not go there again because of the unpleasant rooms. It was also expensive for us: cost translated to $150 Canadian per night for two of us to stay.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Inverness, Scotland
11
Reviewed 6 January 2004

Great place to stay,friendly staff and great breakfast, will definitely stay again. Real value for money in clean accommodation

  • Stayed: January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cdbm1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sibylle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
618 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
591 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlochy Nevis Bridge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlochy Nevis Bridge Apartments

Address: Glenlochy Guest House Inverness Road, Fort William PH33 6LP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Fort William
Price Range: £68 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenlochy - Nevis Bridge Apartments – Fort William. Situated in its own extensive grounds on the banks of the River Nevis. Glenlochy - Nevis Bridge Apartments (formerly Glenlochy Guest House) are ideally situated at the end of the West Highland Way and Glen Nevis yet still only a 10 minute walk from the bustling town centre and the railway station. Very attractive self-catering apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glenlochy Nevis Bridge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlochy Nevis Bridge Apartments Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing