We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The West End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The West End Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Canvey Island
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed in Fort William for three nights, but not at the West End Hotel. We simply found this as a good place to eat at night. We thought that the food was very good and the service was prompt and efficient. Most importantly the food was served hot and the portions were large.
The staff were friendly and attentive and we would return again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    123
    63
    28
    13
See reviews for
47
114
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Great location near the centre of Fort William. The room was a little dated and coiuld do with refurbishment but it was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent as was the service. The lady in charge of the dining room was very capable and a real people person.
At night we were too tired to go out so ate in the hotel. It was great value for money with pplenty of choice. Our group enjoyed everything we ordered with no complaints. The overall experience was good and it was great value for money.

Room Tip: Pick one overlooking the loch for fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

After an unfortunate start to our visit to Fort William, when we discovered that our guest house room was not really satisfactory for two people, we faced a quandary.In the event, we decided to stay in separate places, with my friend staying in the other guest house, while I was fortunate enough to stay at the West End Hotel. The room was quite large,,with two chairs and a wardrobe and comfy beds(there was a stain on the sheets but I had another bed to sleep in). The only fly in the ointment was the noise: thin walls meant I could hear lots of doors banging, assorted bangs and thuds and conversation from across the corridor!This, however, is a common enough problem in many hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I recently stayed at the Westend Hotel, Fort William and it was a pleasure.

At the end of the day, the decor was traditional, the room was clean and my stay was throughly enjoyable.

There was a slight problem in that my shower wasn't producing hot water, but this was no problem for the hotel staff, They simply produced a key to an overflow bathroom which I kept until check out time.

No matter what my request, the answer was always the same, "Och, nee bother...".

Special dietary requests were catered for and everyone was friendly and helpful.

If, (like me), you are a walking problem area and you need friendly and helpful staff, don't hesitate to book here for a relaxing and recharging stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baref00tdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Room was reasonably priced and clean. Food not amazing but by no means awful. Service was fantastic - the staff were friendly and accommodating and couldn't have done more to help. Nothing was too much trouble. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed here in a group of approx 12 for 1 night before embarking on the 3 Peaks Challenge. The service was outstanding, they really could not have done enough for us and were so helpful with allowing us to park minibuses and providing hot water while the hikers were hiking. True the decor is dated and looking a little tired but the location is great, the breakfast wasn't a buffet and the meals were reasonably priced and generous portions. Overall a good hotel experience made very good by the friendly welcoming staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamandSuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

A very warm welcome when we were looking for a room last minute. They only had one left for a higher price than what we had foreseen and the receptionist proposed right away that we take a look at the room and only take it if we like it, which was a very nice gesture.
I normally wouldn't pay 100 GBP for a double room with such a...khm, how to put it nicely...outdated design, and furnished with a particularly bad taste, but I have to admit that everything was neat and clean and perfectly functional.
We had a not outstanding but good breakfast and in general a very pleasant stay at the hotel. Not recommended if you are sensitive to cheesy decoration, otherwise nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: We had the room above the entrance with full view through huge windows over the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.7 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#14 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West End Hotel

Property: The West End Hotel
Address: Achintore Rd, Fort William PH33, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Fort William
West End Hotel Fort William
The West End Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing