We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK stay, a couple of things to consider....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The West End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The West End Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Anchorage
Level Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“OK stay, a couple of things to consider....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is located in a really nice spot -- ocean views are decent and it is right at the entrance of the "tourist" hub of Fort William, if that is your thing. A couple of observations:

1. If you are oversized, plan on using the stairs. The lift is smaller than my dog carrier.
2. You may want to consider bringing your own pillow - the bedding, as well as the fixtures (and TV's) are...vintage.
3. You might want to question the desk clerk if he offers you room 45. It shares a common wall with the elevator we were told we couldn't hear -- but we did. Also, Room 45 is a non-smoking room, save for the fact it is right above the outside smoking areas so that when you open the window the room fills with smoke.

On a good note, the best pricing we saw on Trip Advisor for the property was 143 pounds and we got it for 70 pounds when on-site. Breakfast was so-so.

Aside from the issues of Room 45 I expect this would have been an average experience at a slightly better than average price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    129
    64
    28
    14
See reviews for
47
117
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed for two nights with a friend and we were both extremely happy with the warm and helpful service we received. Rooms are basic which was all we required anyway. Very clean room and comfy beds. The breakfast options were plentiful and the cooked breakfast we chose was excellent. Without a doubt, would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a front facing room for spectacular views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here as part of a four day getaway. It's only a 15 min walk from the central bus and train station and located nest to High Street where all the shops, bars, pubs and restaurants are.Upon arrival the staff was very friendly and even recommended some places to visit and dine as we do not drive and needed some advice on the walking distance of the local attractions. Breakfast was included in our room price which amounted to a selection from a set menu (quite British) but more than sufficient to start the day off with. Overall very nice, clean, friendly staff and in a great location with a lovely view of the Loch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the Loch as it in incredible in the morning. Also, ask for a room away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

could not fault this hotel .the staff and owner are more than perfect from check in to check out was absolute perfection ,would stay here 365 days a year if i could and will def be back in the morning the car would not start and when i asked for help i received an abundance of very helpful members of staff and even the owner who was an absolute gem and lent me tools and also ran me to the garage to buy parts ,,,,this is why i call this review over and above the call of duty ,this team of people from the top down would not be beaten on service and attention to your needs ..and to finish i salute you on the great hotel you run here ,i have stayed in top hotels all over the world ,fort william west end hotel is my top stay so far and will be very hard to beat ..lots of love to all you guys and hope to see you very soon all the best john colville

Room Tip: there are nicer views to yhe front but all th rooms have piece and and quiet and sorry they dont hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Good value for money hotel. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here.
Staff were very welcoming and friendly.
The hotel itself is rather dated and a little frayed at the edges but the room was very comfortable, everything works and where it should be.
We had spent the evening in the bar after a grueling 5 days camping and walking. It was very busy with evening meals although we never had an evening meal the looked amazing as they passed us.
The breakfast experience was pleasant and the breakfast was delicious.
I would definitely use this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for one night and hadn't pre-booked so there was only one room available which was Room 3 - the gentleman on reception was extremely friendly and pleasant and forewarned us that the room was small but it was the only one they had available and offered us to view the room prior to accepting it. At a quick glance it was small but it seemed perfectly clean and fine for an overnight stay.

However, we later discovered that one of the legs on the bed was broken so we had to prop it up which wasn't ideall, the light switch to the bathroom was loose which was a little unerving and there was what appared to be repairs to a large area of the bathroom ceiling which hadn't been completed which was offputting.

The evening meal and breakfast was good and the staff were really friendly.

Private parking was also good and the hotel was clean and seemed very popular but on this occasion the room really let the hotel down.

Room Tip: Avoid room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel was clean and tidy but not worth £100 for a twin room. The room was small and it was impossible to get a temperature you could actually shower in. We had stayed in cheaper hotels in the North of Scotland the previous two days and the hotels were similar if not better to the West End but priced £30 cheaper, which was a realistic price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camarad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.9 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West End Hotel

Property: The West End Hotel
Address: Achintore Rd, Fort William PH33, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Fort William
West End Hotel Fort William
The West End Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing