We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical Highlander Hotel”
Review of Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Magical Highlander Hotel”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We visited here in March 2012 as we had seen it when L&G had just bought it when we were on a previous day trip from another of their hotels.

We had a wonderful stay here and the position of the hotel was amazing, with views all over the loch. Very high up on a hill commanding superb views. The hotel was just magical inside and the staircase was a sight to behold.

As ever from being picked up by a pleasent driver to arriving we had a great journey and were greeted so well on arrival. Our room was very well furnished and the beds were comfortable and clean.

This is the only company who's staff all line up and greet everyne at meal times, it is a lovely touch and makes the guests feel so special.

The menu at meal times is so very good with a great choice of superbly cooked food. We are always offered more by the staff, but the portion we get is enough. The tables are all beautifully laid and the cutlery etc is gleaming. The staff are all so delightful and seem so happy in their work. Plus they are very well trained.

The trips out are very good and the visits to another hotel for a lunch snack is a great idea. You buy the lunch which is a good price and the sandwiches are first class.

The entertainment and Bingo etc are varied and well worth staying in to see.

This company have got everything down to a fine art and in my opinion, nobody does it better.

Room Tip: Ask before you try to sleep for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jodrydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    99
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
53
234
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My first trip to Scotland and how lucky to find this brilliant company that quite literally just pick you up and take you there. The coach and driver were excellent - the trips well organised and entertaining. The hotel was extremely well presented and staffed - food and accommodation very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shysheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

I have to start by mentioning how beautiful the actual hotel is grand and glorious looking down onto loch lihne and fort William.

From the start I felt welcomed and looked after. The food for dinner and breakfast was perfectly suitable and if you needed anything extra all you had to do was ask and the dining room staff would be on it quick.

Staff to mention Stephan who was a funny and enjoyable host and Rhianydd from the dining room was just brilliant at her job, she certainly showed off the level of staff quality.

Anyone who is considering staying here please.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lewis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I have always wanted to go, and always said that one day I will go to Scotland. Well, I made it last week, and I can honestly say that the Highlands was one of the most beautiful places that I have ever seen. I have travelled quite widely through most countries in Europe, also, Turkey, Thailand, Russia, and lived for some time in China, but few of the places have been as wonderful, and awe inspiring to look at as the Lochs and Glens in the Highlands of Scotland.
A friend and I stayed at the Highland hotel in Fort William. The hotel was basic but very clean and the food couldn't be complained about other than they didn't give you enough at dinner time. My friend and I were given 3 small potato's between us, we had to ask for some more. We were given one small piece of french stick with the soup, we had to ask for some more. It just went on like this throughout our stay. Even the teapot only held one cup of tea each, we had to ask for more, a small jug of milk was given every morning for two bowls of cornflakes, guess what, we didn't have enough milk in the jug, we had to ask for more. We just felt we were constantly, every day being a nuisance having to ask for more of almost everything. In the end there were certain things that we just stopped asking for, for example, a bit more french stick with the soup, we just did without.
I must say that most of the staff were brilliant, and couldn't do enough for you all apart from one member of staff who wasn't nice at all. Everyone in the hotel was wearing their name on their uniform, all except this one person who was rude. My advice to the hotel would be that every member of staff should have to wear their name on their uniform no matter who they are if they are employed there.
Apart from this one person, don't let this put you off going to visit the Highlands Hotel whatever you do. Overall, a wonderful fascinating place to visit and some really lovely staff at the hotel who will go out of their way to help you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ludlow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

we have just spent a week in fort william with lochs and glens the hotel is lovely clean comfortable and warm the room looked over the loch the food was ok maybe they need to be a little bigger portion wise the entertainment was average the 1st night was an old guy on a accordian not very good the others ok the best was the girl on the last night she was very good the bar was fine and reasonably priced and lyndsey the bar man was always good for a laugh and a joke with us all in all a good break the waitresses i think need to do so mnany tables each as some nighs we had 3 taking same order

Room Tip: 66 overlooking loch but no lift to it 8-10 steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

just returned from highland hotel after 5 days with loch and glens coach holiday.lovely clean hotel staff are very helpful and friendly rooms are good with comfy beds and loads of hot water in bathroom.it is only 5 mins walk into the town centre were there is a variety of shops.
the hotel has lovely views of the loch and mountains.
the dining room staff were lovely nothing was to much trouble they went out of there way to please people also lots of choices on the menu every day something for everyone to eat.
we would recommend this hotel lovely clean and friendly

Room Tip: ask for a loch view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egghead10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I have to say, a lovely hotel, magnificent building, a real wow factor when you walk in.
I did wonder when the receptionist told us what time we were having diner.
I was then a little surprised when we were told what time we were have breakfast.
What I did not realise was that the hotel caters mostly for their own Lochs & Glens coaching holidays.
So when three coaches pulled into the car park I then understood that meals were in sittings.
One chap turned up before his allotted time for breakfast and was told to come back in ten minutes.
The food is mass produced on a school diners scale and what should have been a lovely starter, haggis neeps and tatties in whiskey sauce really did need 30 seconds in the microwave.
To be fair, I have just looked at the web site and there is no hiding the coach parties and tours and the hotel is quite splendid. Clean, large rooms, comfortable beds and the staff are delightful. Ok, so my score has gone from average to very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
3.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Hotel

Property: Highland Hotel
Address: Union Road, Fort William PH33 6QY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
#3 Family Hotel in Fort William
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing