We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent lochs and glens holiday”
Review of Highland Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Just returned from an excellent week away with lochs and glens, our driver peter was brilliant, when we arrived at the hotel we was greeted by a member of staff, who explained what time dinner and breakfast was, this was a nice touch, our keys were in the door and our luggage arrived 2 minutes after we got to the room, The food was excellent, they couldn't do enough for us, even with fussy customers it was no problem for them to change the meal.
The room was clean and comfortable, just what you would expect. Excellent views, we had a side room but still had great views of the loch and surrounding area. Friendly, professional staff, excellent service and great bar prices. looking forward to booking another holiday with them for next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vikkisteve2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

Just returned from a Lochs & Glens 4 day break.
Picked up from Ayr by a contract coach. We had book a lochs & Glen Holiday and expected a nice coach from the same company. Disappointed ... although Karin our driver was excellent both in driving and entertainment. Jokes, Music & singalongs all made the journey to Fort William more pleasant.
The Hotel stood overlooking the loch. Impressed with the look and ambience of the hotel. We received a warm welcome by Stephan and our luggage was off loaded and delivered to our room.
The room was of a reasonable size and in good repair. Clean sheets and comfy bed although small for two people of 12 & 18 stone. Could have done with a kingsize or twin beds. Bathroom was large and well fitted. My only gripe was the bathe towels were very small, ok if you are 6 stone dripping wet.
Food was hot, varied and plentiful. Service was very quick and pleasant.
There was a large downstairs lounge spreading either side of the front door with log fires either end. Lovely and warm until smokers kept coming in & out all night letting in a gush of cold air. It was -6 on one evening and just as you were getting warm the door opened again.
Also we were INSTRUCTED not to put and logs on the fire after 9pm, ridiculous as we only finished dinner at 8:30 one night and was looking forward to a nice cosey sit by the fire.
Entertainment was the usual singer/ keyboard night some good some ok.

Al in all a lovely holiday in a great location. Really nice hotel spoilt by petty rules (fire) and blasts of cold Scottish air every few minutes. Staff were generally very good and friendly.

Room Tip: ask for a loch view room.
See more room tips

Room Tip: ask for a loch view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fuzzyducktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Just had a lovely 4 night break at this wonderful hotel.The hotel itself is very grand with a lot of character,it sits high up on a hill overlooking loch lihne.The meals were very good and gave a good choice for each night we were there.The staff were very attentive to everyones needs and were always pleased to help out.The rooms were very clean and tidy and we had room 211 which was a family room with lovely views and was very large.Drink prices were very reasonable with 2 vodka/cokes costing £4.90. We will definitely be going back asap.

Room Tip: family rooms are classed as twin rooms and are much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We visited here in March 2012 as we had seen it when L&G had just bought it when we were on a previous day trip from another of their hotels.

We had a wonderful stay here and the position of the hotel was amazing, with views all over the loch. Very high up on a hill commanding superb views. The hotel was just magical inside and the staircase was a sight to behold.

As ever from being picked up by a pleasent driver to arriving we had a great journey and were greeted so well on arrival. Our room was very well furnished and the beds were comfortable and clean.

This is the only company who's staff all line up and greet everyne at meal times, it is a lovely touch and makes the guests feel so special.

The menu at meal times is so very good with a great choice of superbly cooked food. We are always offered more by the staff, but the portion we get is enough. The tables are all beautifully laid and the cutlery etc is gleaming. The staff are all so delightful and seem so happy in their work. Plus they are very well trained.

The trips out are very good and the visits to another hotel for a lunch snack is a great idea. You buy the lunch which is a good price and the sandwiches are first class.

The entertainment and Bingo etc are varied and well worth staying in to see.

This company have got everything down to a fine art and in my opinion, nobody does it better.

Room Tip: Ask before you try to sleep for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jodrydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My first trip to Scotland and how lucky to find this brilliant company that quite literally just pick you up and take you there. The coach and driver were excellent - the trips well organised and entertaining. The hotel was extremely well presented and staffed - food and accommodation very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shysheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

I have to start by mentioning how beautiful the actual hotel is grand and glorious looking down onto loch lihne and fort William.

From the start I felt welcomed and looked after. The food for dinner and breakfast was perfectly suitable and if you needed anything extra all you had to do was ask and the dining room staff would be on it quick.

Staff to mention Stephan who was a funny and enjoyable host and Rhianydd from the dining room was just brilliant at her job, she certainly showed off the level of staff quality.

Anyone who is considering staying here please.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lewis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I have always wanted to go, and always said that one day I will go to Scotland. Well, I made it last week, and I can honestly say that the Highlands was one of the most beautiful places that I have ever seen. I have travelled quite widely through most countries in Europe, also, Turkey, Thailand, Russia, and lived for some time in China, but few of the places have been as wonderful, and awe inspiring to look at as the Lochs and Glens in the Highlands of Scotland.
A friend and I stayed at the Highland hotel in Fort William. The hotel was basic but very clean and the food couldn't be complained about other than they didn't give you enough at dinner time. My friend and I were given 3 small potato's between us, we had to ask for some more. We were given one small piece of french stick with the soup, we had to ask for some more. It just went on like this throughout our stay. Even the teapot only held one cup of tea each, we had to ask for more, a small jug of milk was given every morning for two bowls of cornflakes, guess what, we didn't have enough milk in the jug, we had to ask for more. We just felt we were constantly, every day being a nuisance having to ask for more of almost everything. In the end there were certain things that we just stopped asking for, for example, a bit more french stick with the soup, we just did without.
I must say that most of the staff were brilliant, and couldn't do enough for you all apart from one member of staff who wasn't nice at all. Everyone in the hotel was wearing their name on their uniform, all except this one person who was rude. My advice to the hotel would be that every member of staff should have to wear their name on their uniform no matter who they are if they are employed there.
Apart from this one person, don't let this put you off going to visit the Highlands Hotel whatever you do. Overall, a wonderful fascinating place to visit and some really lovely staff at the hotel who will go out of their way to help you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodie145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
740 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Hotel

Address: Union Road, Fort William PH33 6QY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing