We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lochs and Glens do it again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lochs and Glens do it again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our sixth holiday with Lochs and Glens lived up to our hopes.
The hotel was up to their usual high standards, our room was recently refurbished, large and airy with views of the Loch.
The entertainment was highlighted by Paula Macaskill's very polished sets.
The trips were very good, we even managed a trip up Ben Nevis. We had 2 wet days, but were compensated by fast flowing rivers and tremendous waterfalls!
Thanks to all at The Highland and to John, our safe, considerate driver.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    98
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
53
231
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have just returned from a superb Lochs and Glens holiday, staying for 3 nights at the Highland Hotel. The staff were very friendly and my wife and I must thank them for staying on very late on Friday evening to serve us dinner when our coach was delayed due to circumstances outwith everyone's control. The food was excellent and the accomodation clean and well presented. Our coach driver was Carol and she looked after us very well. This was our second Lochs and Glens tour and I would thoroughly recommend the company to anyone wishing a short and relaxing break in the Highlands.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex and were very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

just come back from stay at the highland hotel fort william and am very impressed by this hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful, food very good and the place is very clean and warm, considering how cold it was, and it is beautifully decorated throughout. Overhaul I am very impressed.

Room Tip: twin rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed for 3 nights/4 days from 26th February to !st March on a Lochs & Glens Coach Holiday. The hotel is accessed up a very narrow road in Fort William, but the coach successfully negotiated past parked cars etc thanks to the excellence of our driver, Carol, who was quite a character. The Hotel is like a large Victorian Coutry House, but the reception area, bedrooms & dining rooms were very well appointed, with a nice bar/entertainment area, which had plenty of seating for the 3 coachloads of holidaymakers. On Friday 28th there was fatal road accident which closed the A82 into Fort William from mid-afternoon for 7 hours, and all 3 coaches which were out for the day were parked up at Spean Bridge 15 mins from the Hotel for four & a half hours. However, the hotel staff did a magnificent job in having 3 course meals ready for all 3 coachloads on our eventaul return at 10:15pm Thanks and congratulations to all, especially the young waitress who was in bed at 9pm, but came in to work after getting a call from the hotel.

Room Tip: Access to the centre of Fort William is down several sets of steep steps...so go by taxi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roryomohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Just back from another smashing break at the Highland Hotel. Anyone not sure about coach holidays should try this company. Lochs and Glens look after you from pick up to drop off back home. The hotel, staff, food, rooms, coaches and drivers are excellent value for money. In fact if you travel from the south of England or the south of Scotland the trips are the same price.

Room Tip: request a room in the main building. The annexe has no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emlh-35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here for a week in July 2013. It was part of Lochs and Glens but we were self-drive rather than coach. They do seem to gear the package towards the coach trips which is fair enough really as the self-drives just fill up the excess places... it's why it's so cheap!

The hotel itself has been done out recently and although the decor is of a type, it was clean and pleasant. The staff are lovely but some do have a little difficulty understanding English which was a little tricky at times. Breakfasts and dinners are massively regimented (you have a set time to be there and rarely get a choice as coach trips take priority) but for what you pay it's worth even skipping some/all of the meals and just making your own arrangements, there are plenty of places to eat in Fort William.

The town is a short walk away, down the hill and there are plenty of things to see, do and eat. We ate in several of the restaurants in the town which were all lovely. There's a Wetherspoons there too for a cheaper option. There is also a little gem of a second-hand book shop at the bottom of the steps down from the hotel run by a lovely guy who has a great knowledge of the area.

Some great things to try are the boat cruise out onto the loch, the cable car up the mountain and the Jacobite steam train (I'd save your money and take the Sprinter though... same trip and you pay about half the price). If you get an open ticket, stop off in Glenfinnan on the way... well worth a visit and the food in the little train car cafe is superb.

We would definitely stay in this hotel again (and in fact are a bit later in the year), for the price you couldn't get anywhere else with your meals included and in such a grand old building.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was our first ever coach holiday and we could not have chosen better
Lochs and Glens had everything running like clockwork from start to finish.
It was a long trip but we had plenty of stops for refreshments, our driver
Morag was brilliant at keeping us entertained, she was very knowlegable about Scotland and its wildlife. The Highland Hotel was excellent, we were greeted on arrival and our luggage taken to our very clean warm and comfortable room, the food was very good and the staff very attentive..
Our daily excursions out were great, but not compulsory.
We will definitely book again we could not find one fault about our holiday.
Thank you Lochs and Glens.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HowardP37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
3.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Hotel

Property: Highland Hotel
Address: Union Road, Fort William PH33 6QY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
#3 Family Hotel in Fort William
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing