We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Great Holiday”
Review of Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We stayed at this hotel on a holiday with Lochs and Glens.The hotel is situated in a wonderful position above the town of Fort William overlooking the loch.The hotel rooms are very clean spacious and modern the food was good, staff were friendly and very helpful. The bar area was spacious and drinks were resonably priced.The trips organised by Lochs and Glens were very good but we were very lucky with the weather clear blue skies every day.A very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
There are newer reviews for Highland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2009

I had the pleasure to stay 4 nights at the hotel, as part of a lochs and glens package. The warmth and friendliness of the staff is something to die for, and the quality of the food is wonderful. The evening entertainment was enjoyable, and a comfortable sleep in a warm, clean room afterwards just finished every day. Would especially recommend the accordionist and the dancer who played on Saturday 20th.June. A most enjoyable evening.
Sam Quigg

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blakbuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Wow what a find, Excellent service, Friendly and happy staff, Good food, excellent location and a wonderful atmosphere,
The hotel over looks a Loch with views to die for and has been recently refurbished the cleanliness is good, Only downfall here is the creaky floorboard you can hear every movement above you, espically at 4am.
The food was always hot and very tasty, and service was fun and professional. Evening Entertainment was enjoyable.
Trips out each day were breath taking, 400 photo's to prove it !!
Overall a great 5 days, Thank you Lochs and Glen and Thanks to The Highland Hotel
We will return

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunloverhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We were on the Lochs and Glens tours. The breakfast and dinners were great. We sat at assigned tables with tablemates whom we really enjoyed. The wines were reasonably priced. The nightly entertainers were great fun. This was our first trip to Scotland and although we missed the cities we had a wonderful vacation. We saw new things everyday without having to pack up and move to a different hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elliott11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2009

Stayed 5 nights at at the Highland Hotel on a self drive, This being our 3rd lochs & glens
self drive all have been excellent value for money breaks ,good food ,friendly staff and
lovely rooms. We go for the walking and were out every day only wearing our wet gear on one morning.
One tip,If like us you are not into Quizzes Bingo and assorted entertainers,Chose an hotel in a town or village with a pub or other hotels!
A visit to the Calidonian Canal that begins at Fort William with Neptunes Ladder! a series of 9 lochs

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2008

My stay was most enjoyable.The staff were eager to help .Food was varied and certainly enjoyable.Drinkwise,the prices were a very pleasant surprise,especially having to buy for a group of ten at times!No complaints about the accomodation. My room was in the refurbished area . It appeared that a lot of thought had gone into the layout. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blfSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

The holiday was a self drive two for the price of one and cost a total of £199 for 4 nights dinner bed and breakfast.
The staff were always friendly and welcoming.
The bedroom and bathroom was kept immaculate and cleaned every day.
The meals were varied with a choice for vegetarians and were always hot and well presented.
location of the hotel is a few minutes walk down hill or down steps and I noted some older people using a taxi for their return journey.
can certainly recommend this Hotel and its location and service.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank RobertBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
3.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
600 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
984 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Hotel

Address: Union Road, Fort William PH33 6QY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
#3 Family Hotel in Fort William
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing