We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best!”
Review of Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2010

We stayed at the Highland Hotel last week on a Lochs and Glens holiday and had a wonderful time. The hotel has been refurbished to a very high standard and we had a room that has to be one of the best we've ever had anywhere (Room no.211) with the most wonderful views from all windows, very spacious, very comfortable beds, the room was always nice and warm (important in January!), etc, etc. The staff are always so helpful and happy (we loved seeing some of the waitresses from the Far East joining in the dancing some evenings learning our dances). The food was good as was the service, nothing was too much trouble and if you asked for something a little out of the ordinary they would always remember just how you liked it. Last but by no means least a huge thank-you to our driver Clive who made the 14 hours journey pass so easily and took us out on lots of very interesting trips; he certainly knows his job well and passes on his knowledge and love of the Scottish Highlands.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eyepye-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
There are newer reviews for Highland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2010

We went with Lochs & Glens on this holiday. Really good value for money and so nice to have a break in the winter. The hotel was excellent, we couldn't fault it. Food was good. The holiday was so well organised and you didn't have to think about anything just be on time for meals and tours. The staff were really helpful and cheerful. We had a lovely room overlooking the Loch.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

I've stayed in quite a few hotels in Fort William and this has to be one of the best! Excellent staff (management team were super - magaret was a star!) Great service all day and night! Excelent decor and a good quality refurbishment has taken place.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iQuestScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

iwe stayed here on a 5 day trip with lochs and glens ,it was a mountains & mistletoe ,combinde with my birthday,we had a great time ,made new friends, and are now thinking about doing a six day trip in march ,i would recomend this trips to anyone .

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toshsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

this hotel has been refurbished to a high standard retaining many original features,the rooms are of a good size and very clean, and well kitted out, LCD tv, plenty of tea & coffee.
bathroom was all new and modern.the food was very good and the service was excellent .
we enjoyed our stay and would be returning very shortly. the staff are cheerful and very helpful and nothing was a problem for them.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

This hotel is absolutely great.Our five day break was excellent.The staff were friendly helpful and always cheerful nothing was to much trouble.Food was excellent and was served very well with a good selection .Entertainment was of a good standard and the bar prices were good , possibly one of the cheapest we found.(we did try a few).
Last but not least a big thankyou to our driver Peter who made a long drive (10 hours) go with ease.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schofield75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Following a recommendation by a work colleague we stayed as part of a 'self drive' holiday. The staff were courteous and helpful. Room very clean and comfortable. Hotel in general was in tip top condition. Food good quality with ample choice. Enjoyable evening entertainment each night. Decent bar prices. Can't really fault it. (weather a little chilly at the time so heating could have been set a bit higher). Don't know how they do it for the price and would definitely recommend it. Intend to try out other hotels in the chain now.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MancBoyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
3.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
599 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
980 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Hotel

Address: Union Road, Fort William PH33 6QY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
#3 Family Hotel in Fort William
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing