We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”
Review of Bank Street Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bank Street Lodge
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here at the end of our West Highland Way walk, very pleased with everything, cleanliness, helpful staff, value for money, central location, 5 mins to train station and good rooms - would recommend booking early though. For a hostel it is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    99
    70
    19
    7
See reviews for
21
51
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

staff were nice and friendly. but not very clean. the bed sheets never looked like they had been washed as had stains on the sheets and had a dirty smell. the showers were hot and strong but the shower block was not clean and the toilet kept blocking and most of the time didn't flush. the kitchen and dinning area was fine but not very big not much room to move around

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em92travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights when taking my son on a long weekend of mountain biking and walking in the mountains. Stayed in a twin room with shower room. All very clean and had everything we needed. Shared kitchen facilities were fine, with a decent lounge area to eat and meet other guests - mainly seemed to be people finishing the West Highland Way. Lovely welcome from Cathie and the other management team and we felt well looked after. We were able to leave our bags on the last day after we had checked out, while we went off for the day to explore the Nevis Range resort and gondola. Did the job.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The location is ideal as it's in the small centre part of Fort William. Easy access routes to Ben Nevis, Glen Nevis, the motorways etc

The staff were very friendly and helpful and as locals themselves had ample knowledge of places to see etc

I stayed two nights in a single ensuite room which was really great value for money, very clean and had perfectly adequate facilities. No hair dryer but that didn't bother me

They don't serve breakfast, which might be preferable, but there are places to eat minutes away and they also have a fully equipped kitchen with all the gadgets and pots and pans etc if you want to cook your own meals. There are a Tesco's and a Morrisons a few minutes away, so very easy to buy your own food.

All in all, a very pleasant stay, if I come to Fort William again, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibeshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

very nice place to saty and cheap. the staf that i encountered while staying there were really friendly.
kitchen area is very well equiped with all the things you would need to make a meal or even just a sandwich.the bedroom i stayed in was the hostel type room with 3 beds. the room was warm and the bed was really comfy (didnt expect the bed to be as comfy for the price)
there is a large dinig room with tv and radio with a big selection of dvds and even videos.
There is also a free wifi service which i had no problem getting signal in the bedroom.

WOULD CERTAINLY BE STAYING HERE WHEN I RETURN
AND I HIGHLY RECOMMEND STAYING HERE FOR £17.00 PER NIGHT YOU CANT GO WRONG.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocacola186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Whenever we're around Fort William for skiing or hiking, etc, we always check in at Bank Street. It has warm, comfy rooms at a great price. It has a big drying room and a friendly shared area, including kitchen. Rooms have tea and coffee. Showers are great. It is 5 minutes into town for the pub. And their reception is 24hr so last-minute checkins are no problem at all.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sifriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed for one night only, in a double room. Everything was nice, the bathroom had plenty of hot water, the temperature was fine although it was cold outside, there were towels and soap and everything, even tea and coffee making set.
The reception has a notice board with weather forecasts and other information.
Everything went very smoothly.
The charge a small surcharge for card payments.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rur_ptakopysk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
957 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank Street Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank Street Lodge

Property: Bank Street Lodge
Address: Bank Street, Fort William PH33 6AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bank Street Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Bank Street Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Street Hotel Fort William
Bank Street Lodge Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing