We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short stay”
Review of Bank Street Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bank Street Lodge
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 1 June 2014

In reality this is a 3 star hostel rather than a hotel. The difference is reflected in the rooms and facilities. They also have backpacker facilities.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but have good quality furniture. You have to go down to the lounge to use the free wifi and the kitchen principally provided for the backpackers is also available. Under the hotel is a restaurant of reasonable quality, but breakfast only during the summer.

There are some very nice filtered views over the loch from the front rooms. The location is very quiet, away from the through road traffic but still only 200 metres from the high street. Some fellow guest can at times be noisy, particularly late at night.

This is very much a "budget" standard establishment.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LesS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

....but that depends on what I was expecting. We were booked into the Bank Street Lodge for a night's accommodation before climbing Ben Nevis. I'd had a look into what the place had to offer, so to be honest I wasn't sure of what we'd find. That's not to say the reviews were that bad but it just wasn't something I'd been used to or would consider for accommodation. So that's the intro.
What we found was average/good, but adequate rooms, and considering that you're not there for a holiday they were simply that, adequate. The rooms we were to try out were clean, well prepared and the beds were comfortable. I say rooms we tried as we were initially put into a 'family' room, double bed and a bunk bed, with en-suite. The shower facilities were good, the water hot and the towels clean & soft. We were not to stay in this room though as it was already ear-marked for our event crew. So we were turfed out, and we ended up downstairs in one of the group bunk rooms, 2 bunk beds, no en-suite. Oh the shame of it. It was okay though, slightly cramped but again the beds were comfortable. The shared shower and toilet facilities were okay, clean and well presented. The small kitchenette could maybe do with a bit of a facelift but again it served its purpose. The small guests lounge also served to do what was intended. Free Wi-Fi, TV and various local info all provided. You'll book this accommodation because you'll not be wanting much, and it'll serve as a base for climbing or similar pursuits. You'll stay in this accommodation because it will be booked for you as part of a party doing a challenge and you'll be fine, but you won't be wowed by it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with en-suite which we found were all upstairs. The rates weren't dear and it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sm4llb1ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here at the end of our West Highland Way walk, very pleased with everything, cleanliness, helpful staff, value for money, central location, 5 mins to train station and good rooms - would recommend booking early though. For a hostel it is excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

staff were nice and friendly. but not very clean. the bed sheets never looked like they had been washed as had stains on the sheets and had a dirty smell. the showers were hot and strong but the shower block was not clean and the toilet kept blocking and most of the time didn't flush. the kitchen and dinning area was fine but not very big not much room to move around

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em92travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights when taking my son on a long weekend of mountain biking and walking in the mountains. Stayed in a twin room with shower room. All very clean and had everything we needed. Shared kitchen facilities were fine, with a decent lounge area to eat and meet other guests - mainly seemed to be people finishing the West Highland Way. Lovely welcome from Cathie and the other management team and we felt well looked after. We were able to leave our bags on the last day after we had checked out, while we went off for the day to explore the Nevis Range resort and gondola. Did the job.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The location is ideal as it's in the small centre part of Fort William. Easy access routes to Ben Nevis, Glen Nevis, the motorways etc

The staff were very friendly and helpful and as locals themselves had ample knowledge of places to see etc

I stayed two nights in a single ensuite room which was really great value for money, very clean and had perfectly adequate facilities. No hair dryer but that didn't bother me

They don't serve breakfast, which might be preferable, but there are places to eat minutes away and they also have a fully equipped kitchen with all the gadgets and pots and pans etc if you want to cook your own meals. There are a Tesco's and a Morrisons a few minutes away, so very easy to buy your own food.

All in all, a very pleasant stay, if I come to Fort William again, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ibeshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

very nice place to saty and cheap. the staf that i encountered while staying there were really friendly.
kitchen area is very well equiped with all the things you would need to make a meal or even just a sandwich.the bedroom i stayed in was the hostel type room with 3 beds. the room was warm and the bed was really comfy (didnt expect the bed to be as comfy for the price)
there is a large dinig room with tv and radio with a big selection of dvds and even videos.
There is also a free wifi service which i had no problem getting signal in the bedroom.

WOULD CERTAINLY BE STAYING HERE WHEN I RETURN
AND I HIGHLY RECOMMEND STAYING HERE FOR £17.00 PER NIGHT YOU CANT GO WRONG.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocacola186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
997 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
752 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank Street Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank Street Lodge

Address: Bank Street, Fort William PH33 6AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: £33 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bank Street Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Bank Street Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Street Hotel Fort William
Bank Street Lodge Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing